Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.7
Based on 295 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 295 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 8.5

Craig H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Gangehi, simply awesome!
The beautiful water, pristine beaches, snorkelling the house reefs are just some of the things we loved about this island. It's not a big island however its natural beauty is beyond words.
My wife and I have travelled to the Maldives 3 times now and visited 5 different islands. This is one of the best. If you like to holiday on a peaceful, quite island with stunning natural beauty then this island should seriously be considered. We will definitely be back. One other thing, if your looking for a pool, there isn't one. We water and beaches like these, who needs one.
Reviewed December 13, 2015

Suad L. from Oman
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Disappointed
Access to the beach. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.
Disappointed with the resort. No complimentary tea and coffee in room. No TV. You feel cut off the world. No Radio in room. Don't understand why it is rated 5 star. No swimming pool, no tennis court or other facilities. It is an isolated island with no entertainment whatsoever. Would require a lot of improvement. We booked for 4 nights and had to leave early after 2 nights
Reviewed December 05, 2015

KRISTIN P. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in November 2015
Fabulous, small, remote island paradise
Small size, quiet, gorgeous
What a place. I was alone on a relaxing R&R and it was perfect. Quiet little beach bungalow to just chill out and recharge. Mostly couples, but everyone is low key and the staff are very very kind and welcoming. Spa is very nice, again quite pricey. 2nd small restaurant on jetty is fabulous for sundowner drinks and fish playing under your feet. Quite expensive, but I got a full board (3 meal) package which was quite good. Doesn't include any water or soft drinks which was disappointing. Went on 3 dives, very disappointing. It's not peak season for whale sharks/hammers/ mantas, but still found the coral bleached and absolutely nothing to see but small fish, a few small reef sharks and 1-2 small morays. Don't come for the do I g, but definitely definitely come for a small, peaceful island experience.
Reviewed December 04, 2015

Pedro R. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in November 2015
An overall good experience
The location, the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the room.
On our first day we didn't manage to have a proper dinner, since the information provided in the hotel book was wrong regarding opening hours. The hotel management was nice to compensate this fact with a free dinner in the a la carte restaurant, even though the service was painfully slow. The buffet had interesting choice of food during dinner, but for breakfast it was quite poor, especially in terms of fruit. The staff is extremely friendly and communicative. The room was cleaned twice a day, but they never changed the bed sheets (we could tell it by a stain we found on day one) . We found the schedules in the buffet to be quite annoying (only 1h30 for breakfast, lunch and dinner), since there was no other place to get food or snacks besides the bar, which also was extremely limited and the kitchen closed at 6:30pm. Nonetheless, we managed to relax, do some nice activities and have a good time. The island is beautiful and properly maintained and clean.
Reviewed November 29, 2015

Siu L. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
It is a great place with beautiful view!
Nice place, nice people, good service with different tour activities!!
Reviewed October 31, 2015

Yen T. from Taiwan
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Wonderful trip
The diets, activitys,room service
It's a beautiful place. It's very worth to visit. All staffs were very kind, had good service, activitys and diets.
Reviewed October 23, 2015

SOTIRIOS A. from Greece
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
An ideal location and hotel for relaxation
Excellent place, wonderful beaches, very good food and friendly staff.
Everything was perfectly organized. The staff was very helpful, food was amazing, the natural environment was wonderful as well. The only negative thing was the cost. Prices were unreasonably high, especially for the spa.
Reviewed October 15, 2015

David B. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 9 nights in October 2015
Could be better.
Location was good. Concept was good. Staff were great.
This was our ninth trip to the Maldives. Our primary reason for visiting is the diving. Albatross Top Diving rescued this stay for us by being top notch. The hotel is ok but it needs as refurb as it's looking dated. The rooms are nice but the bathroom is only adequate. The bed was horrible. We never got used to it and there was no alternative. Front office staff are not very good but the rest were brilliant. Of the nine resorts we've been to this is the second lowest standard.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

Cornelius K. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
Awesome
The people, the cleaniness of the place and the awesome view the villas provide
It was a great 5 nights stay in gangehi. I stayed in over water villa for the first night with full board. It was awesome. The rest of the days we were supposed to stay in a club room and i guessed they just upgraded us to a beach villa with amazing view. Although we are on full board package but it doesn't provide mineral water, tea or coffee in the villa unlike over-water villa. You have to get the 1.5L mineral water from the bar which cost abt 4usd. There isn't tv in the beach villa too but nobody watch tv when you are on holiday#justsaying The foods was all right as I ain't a foodie just to mention that they repeated the varieties of food throughout my stay but there were lots of food there so no complaints. It was good enough for me. The people were friendly in the island. Can approach anyone there. Cheers to paradise:)
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Migle R. from Lithuania
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in September 2015
Shocking standards
Nature
We were absolutely shocked by the standards of the hotel. It is definitely not a 5 star luxury resort, as the hotel claims to be. First of all, the food at the main restaurant (buffet) is extremely bad. Breakfast buffet is extremely poor, stations such as local breakfast available at other hotels were missing. Food was oily and repetitive. Certain options, such as hash browns were replaced on a few occasions by French fries. The food is also leftover from previous day (usually lunch). Very few fruit options (it is a tropical country!), and those are often overripe. Secondly, the room and amenities were rather a three star or lower resort level. No kettle available, no water provided; very few amenities (cotton buds not provided, let alone shower gel); the room is advertised as a double, however, it is in fact two single beds put together, therefore, if you want to sleep closely with your loved one, you will wake up with a pain in your back. Thirdly, throughout my extensive travels, I have never come across such a bad attitude of a general manager. Instead trying to solve the issue, manager in fact fights with the customers. Moreover, it feels like GM is a customer herself - we constantly saw her in bars and restaurants of the resort drinking and having fun (including daytime). All in all, we had a very bad experience in the resort. Definitely would not recommend, and won't be returning.
Reviewed October 09, 2015