My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gangehi Island Resort

North Ari Atoll, North Ari Atoll / Alifu Alifu Atoll, Maldives Islands, Maldives (Show on map)

Book now!

Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villas Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villas Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villas Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Villas Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Villas Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Deluxe Villas - Exterior Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Deluxe Villas Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Guest Room Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Guest Room Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Club Room Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Club Room
Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Garden Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Garden Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Overwater Deluxe Villas Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Balcony Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Bathroom of Family Garden Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Aerial View Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Aerial View Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Island Map Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach
Hotel Area: North Ari Atoll / Alifu Alifu Atoll Number of Rooms: 45
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.6

based on
146 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
8.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (146)
Sort by:
Julien B. Couples France, April 9, 2014
Relaxing and comfortable stay on a superb island

The best 3 things about the hotel: the beautiful island, the pretty good food, the comfortable and clean rooms.
9
We really appreciated our stay at the resort, for our 5th wedding anniversary (without the kids!). The place is really beautiful, and a typical "paradise island" with amazing colourful views (white sand, green water, blue sky). We booked the cheapest room on Agoda and were very lucky to be upgraded to a garden view bungalow when we checked in! The food was really good, with a decent variety, despite the remote location of the island (everything is imported). If needed, there is wi-fi at the main entrance and the main bar (on the water). We did 3 dives: after the check dive, the 2 other dives were amazing (manta ray, turtle, shark, lobster, etc.). Yoga class and snorkeling are organized once a day (free). DVD player (with screen) was available at the reception desk (no TV in the rooms), but I don't know how many of these they have. Maldives are very expensive and we wanted to "limit the damages" wherever possible, but you don't have a choice once you chose your resort. The seaplane is a great experience, but it costs $420 per person for 30 minutes from Male to the resort (and back), and we had to wait for 3h at Male airport. We would probably chose a resort closer to Male airport for a speedboat transfer (north or south Male atolls) if we come back - but we are very happy to have experienced the seaplane once. The buffet lunch/diner are a bit expensive (30/40 euros each; or 55 euros for both, the same day), but you can order a snack at the bar for lunch (around 10 euros) and a great a la carte dinner (around 20 euros). Maybe it's possible to book full pension on Agoda (?). The dive centre is expensive too, around 75 euros per dive with equipment and insurance (but the dive masters are super friendly and professional, and the dives are great). The corals were reproducing, and there was a strong "sea smell" and a red colour floating here and there on the sea towards the end of the stay (apparently the dives are better, but I'm glad we didn't have it when we arrived).
Szilvia D. Solo travelers Hungary, March 29, 2014
amazing environment

staff,meals,landscape
10
probable i ll go return because everything was marvelous and perfect.
Kalina K. Families with young children Bulgaria, December 30, 2013
relaxing, calm, beautiful, pure nature

clean, comfortable, nicely decorated
8.7
The staff was friendly and helpful. Food was good. The breakfast was poor, the air condition the villa was very noisy, the entertaining was not great but this added to the full relax
Song A. Solo travelers China, December 22, 2013
I got ripped off by the hotel

Nothing
2
The one way sea plane ticket charges 410 US dollars ,nearly doubled the average price ! And bad attitude and service. Strongly NOT recommend this resort !!!
David P. Couples United Kingdom, December 18, 2013
A little piece of paradise

Snorkelling, peace, beauty
9.3
Gangehi was a little piece of paradise on earth. We loved the smallness and exclusivity of the island. We chose Gangehi for the quality of its reef, accommodation and affordability. We delighted in snorkelling twice daily and were mightily impressed. We saw a manta ray, a reef shark, eagle rays, turtles and fish galore. We opted for bed and breakfast, snacked in the afternoon and dined in the Italian restaurant in the evening. The food was lovely and had enough variety for our 5 nights stay. The cost of the dinner buffet in the main restaurant at nearly €50 put us off trying it! We took advantage of the free yoga, stretching, group snorkelling and kayak hire during our stay. Our overall impression of our stay was friendly peace and quiet, lovely comfortable accommodation, and stunning snorkelling. My only negative comment relates to a polite email I sent a few days prior to our arrival, asking if there was any possibility of a free upgrade to an over-water villa. I was disappointed not to receive any reply or acknowledgement of this.
Lai L. Solo travelers Switzerland, December 3, 2013
Exceed expectations

Attention to details make this resort a perfect getaway
9
Having visited my share of hotel resorts up and down the island chain, (my 10th dive trip to the Maldives) Gangehi Island Resort is one of a few resorts that I would gladly recommend. Gangehi island Resort stands out in this crowded market, the island is relatively small, bungalows and rooms are Maldivian style with a contemporary design. You can feel the feminine touch in the attention to details that make Gangehi differs, from the hanging plant nursery to the room furnishings, a pleasure for your eyes. Best of all, they have a great Italian chef, which makes every meals a delight. There are two restaurants, one for the buffet and one “à la carte” that is over the water, very romantic. Dive Centre is professionally run, but relax, and the team, mostly Italians, brings the warmth and fun of the peninsula to every dive. This resort is run by an European team and it shows in its professionalism and it’s “dolce vita” atmosphere. There are many island resorts in Maldives and it is never easy to know which one to choose, I definitely would recommend this resort, it is in the mid-range price but has a luxury feel. OK, it has no pool, but then, they have the blue lagoon, the white sandy beach, excellent cuisine and great diving.
Anna C. Couples United Kingdom, December 2, 2013
Relaxing stay for 4 nights

Comfortable room/ easy going atmosphere
8.7
The resort is a whole island. We had a garden room (one of 3) which we enjoyed as it was large with a veranda where you could see birds, bats and lizards. Overwater and beach villas are more numerous. They kindly let us an electric kettle which was not part of the normal set up for this kind of room (fridge is included). We only took breakfasts as that was sufficient as the choice was good and the egg counter was very good with perfect fried eggs. The room was large and the bathroom had 2 sinks and a good shower with complimentary toiletries. Service was always attentive without being intrusive. The sea around the island is shallow for a long way out and so swimming from the beach is somewhat limited except for an area around the harbour. Overall a very enjoyable stay.
Graham W. Couples Australia, November 22, 2013
Exceeded expectations

The over water villla experience was amazing, the resort and island was beautifully maintained and location near outer reef was perfect.
9
Really enjoyed our stay and was sorry it was only one night. Good surprise to have a boutique with several tailors who made memorable custom designed clothing. Very friendly and competent staff who gave a professional vibe to everything.
Guang C. Solo travelers China, November 13, 2013
Perfect for travel

very nice Snorkeling Island
9.3
The friendly staff Quiet island, A wide variety of marine life, Comfortable water villa, Beautiful coral, Delicious Italian restaurant, This is Gangehi Island Resort!
Benjimen O. Couples November 1, 2013
amazing

peaceful, clean, relaxing
9.7
i booked gangehi resort after checking out the pictures in agoda. it turned out to be a really good decision. i tried out the club room and the villa over water. both are good. i would give this resort a grade of ten of ten

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Gangehi Island Resort Maldives IslandsGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach VillasGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach VillasGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach VillasGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water VillasGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water VillasGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Deluxe Villas - ExteriorGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Deluxe VillasGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Guest RoomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Guest RoomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Club RoomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Club Room Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Garden VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Garden VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Overwater Deluxe VillasGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Balcony Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Bathroom of Family Garden VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Aerial ViewGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Aerial ViewGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Island Map Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - BeachGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Island ViewGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Sunset ViewGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Ocean ViewGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - ViewGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Seaplane TransferGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - SurroundingsGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Hotel ExteriorGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Treatment RoomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Orchid GardenGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Snorkeling with marine biologistGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational facilitiesGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Diving Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - DivingGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Scuba Diving Training Class RoomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Yoga LessonsGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Fitness RoomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Fitness RoomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - RestaurantGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - RestaurantGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - BuffetGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - RestaurantGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Thari Restaurant - ExteriorGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Thari RestaurantGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Thari Restaurant - InteriorGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Thari Restaurant - InteriorGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Bar - ExteriorGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - BarGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Thari Restaurant Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Veli Bar and RestaurantGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Veli Bar and RestaurantGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Veli Restaurant and Kandu BarGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - LoungeGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Coffee ShopGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Games at BarGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Kandu BarGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - BathroomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Family Garden VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - BathroomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach VillasGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Deluxe Villa BathroomGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Villas ExteriorGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Deluxe VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Deluxe VillaGangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Beach Villa Gangehi Island Resort Maldives Islands - Over Water Deluxe Villa


AS-AGWEB-3C02