Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Garden View Hong Kong

1 Macdonnell Road, Hong Kong Central, Hong Kong

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.6

based on 2440 reviews

1464 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (2440)
Sort by:
Too J. Groups Singapore, January 14, 2014
A value hotel

Price, price and price.
7
The hotel was not very conveniently located. About a 15-20 minutes walk from Central MTR. We traveled in a group of 4 so it was definitely cheaper to travel from the Sheung Wan Taxi Station (we took a bus from the Airport as it was cheaper, about 40HKD per head). If you are shopping in Causeway Bay and in a similar sized group, forget about the MTR or Bus and just take the Taxi (if you can get one.) Check-in took 1 hour because there were many people. The hotel has NO FREE WIFI in the room which is a horrible mistake, but there is a wifi connection from the opposite building so you could probably tap on that (the password is beyond obvious.) The sheets are never changed (guess it's a hotel policy) and no free water bottle is given everyday (what?). The room service stops at 10pm so you can't request for food or ice after that (pretty much defeats the purpose of in-room dining). But other than the downside, the hotel is located in a quiet environment, away from the hustle and bustle. For the price we paid (we stayed 6 nights), it was just right. I would probably stay here again if I was staying for such a long duration.
Report this review
Virginia V. Families with young children Philippines, January 10, 2014
Comfortable and generally pleasant

clean, accessible, friendly staff
9.7
Very convenient for our purpose. The room was a bit small but very clean and comfortable. No microwave though. There is a supermarket in the same building, which makes it very convenient. there are also restaurants nearby, but nothing really good. Bathroom has tub instead of just a shower, and kids enjoyed that. easy to get taxi and Central & HK Station are very near.
Report this review
Lucas C. Business travelers Australia, January 9, 2014
Misleading - No Pool / Free WiFi in Rooms

Clean
6
Misleading. Pool - currently being repaired (between Dec 2013 - April 2014) - so not sure why it describes itself as having pool. Reason I chose this hotel is due to wanting to swim every day for fitness. Could have easily taken this out of search criteria. Free Wifi - technically they do have FREE wifi (if you count the lobby). To me and every other traveler, Free Wifi is considered for the room, not lobby. They charge $100HK or $16US a night for internet. Ridiculous. Again, reason YWCA was chosen was the lure of Free in room wifi. Staff were fine, hotel clean, short walk / cab ride into town.
Report this review
Gosta J. Couples Sweden, January 9, 2014
Nostalgic stay since we used to live at MacDonnell

Location, location, location
8.7
It was what we expected, we know the location and surroundings and it was all to our satisfaction.
Report this review
Koon H. Business travelers Malaysia, January 9, 2014
good location, very near my office

good location, nice room
8
very close to my HK office, Will recommend my colleagues for their biz trip
Report this review
Daniel S. Business travelers Germany, January 5, 2014
Nice hotel near Central and Admiralty,a bit remote

near botanical gardens, clean, fair price
7.7
Report this review
Antonio A. Solo travelers Italy, January 5, 2014
Very good hotel for the price you pay in HK

cleaning, location, price for being in Hong Kong
7.3
Report this review
Jiarong P. Solo travelers Singapore, January 5, 2014
Good, Value for Money, Memorable

Clean, Spacious and Quiet
8
onIt's was memorable. One of the hotels that are relatively spacious in the city of hongkong. Although the location is a bit off the central station, about a 15mins walk up to the mid levels. The clean and spacious rooms make the trip worth while and a cab from the central station will cost about HKD 300, so it's relatively cheap to travel by taxi also. All in all, this hotel is value for money and good for travellers who are looking for a cosy and quiet place to end the night.
Report this review
Joe B. Solo travelers Australia, January 4, 2014
Good Location, Comfortable Room

It's right next to the Hong Kong Botanical Gardens, and is a short walk to Food, Nightlife and shops
8
The stay was an enjoyable one and would happily use it as a Hong Kong base again as it was reasonable value for money with comfortable beds and adequate space. Our only gripe is no Free Wifi - the Botanical Gardens offers free wifi next door, and the Restaurant offers wifi with patronage so that wasn't a deal-breaker.
Report this review
Suet L. Couples Hong Kong, January 4, 2014
Centrally located, Large & Clean Room

Centrally located, Large & Clean Room
8.3
Got upgraded to a Suite Room. Large room size with kitchen and big bathroom! New kiosk opened at hotel lobby to facilitate guests in buying amenities.
Report this review
Previous page 291 - 300 of 1464 reviews Next page
Garden View Hong Kong Hong KongGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Suite RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Fitness RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Fitness RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - RestaurantGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming PoolGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming PoolGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Deluxe RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Garden SuiteGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming PoolGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - ViewGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Twin RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Garden SuiteGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Living RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - BedroomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - KitchenetteGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Living RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Living RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Living RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - BathroomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - BathroomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02