or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Garden View Hong Kong

1 Macdonnell Road, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel
Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Suite Room Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Suite Room Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Lobby Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - View from Hotel Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Lobby Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Fitness Room Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Fitness Room Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Lobby Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Restaurant Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming Pool Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest Room Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Garden Suite Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Lobby Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Garden Suite Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Garden Suite Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Exterior
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
2198 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (2198)
Sort by:
Nathan N. Couples Indonesia, October 7, 2012
Great room

Large room, good value
7.3
I enjoyed our stay...good size room, great value. Distance from LKF and Shopping district a bit far, but still walkable.
Cynthia F. Couples United States of America, October 6, 2012
Comfortable, basic amenities, good location

Location - easy access to bus and taxi; comfortable, basic, clean, affordable rooms
6
We stayed three nights at the Garden View. We had an upper floor room with view of the zoological garden that offered a nice sense of space in the midst of the dense city. The staff is efficient, although not as welcoming as we have experienced elsewhere. Several of them seemed rather indifferent when we spoke to them at the main desk or tried to exchange pleasantries on the elevator. There was a momentary snag one morning in the restaurant attached to the hotel, which advertised free wifi to its patrons - and then tried to charge us an exorbitant buffet breakfast fee for a cup of coffee. This was eventually resolved, and we settled for a five US dollar java jolt each - and a few minutes of internet - but it was an experience we did not attempt again. Overall, it is a good place to stay in Hong Kong - decent value and location - if you can't find a bargain elsewhere.
Timothy G. Couples United Kingdom, October 5, 2012
Bit far from the centre, archaic Internet policy

Supermarket next door.
4.3
the hotel is clean enough. however it is a few streets away from central etc. so you have to catch a taxi or bus to get there. the staff were friendly enough but the hotel has a terrible internet policy. room access is by broadband cable and this could not be set up after half an hour of trying. they also charge hkd for the priviledge. considering the cost of the room and the fact there are free wifi spots around the city, this is ridiculous. the staff recommended the wifi in reception but you also have to pay 100 hkd for this too. there was no free water in the room either. although these things cost little, it is testament to the hotel's attitude to customers that they would rather charge you for these things than make things more comfortable for their customers by providing them free, as every other hotel in hong kong i have stayed in does.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: You can catch the 12a bus to Pedder Street in Central just past the garage outside the hotel. Only costs 5 dollars.
Lin N. Solo travelers China, October 5, 2012
Nice hotel & worthy staying

Room is big & bright, love the French window
7.7
Location is good enough and quite, near the peak tramways. Room is big and bright, love the French window. Service is ok, bed is comfortable, but I was wondering why the bed was so high and even got the wheels?
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Very close to the peak
David T. Families with young children Ireland, October 2, 2012
Satisfactory

slightky larger than other similarly priced rooms
7
It is not a very convenient location for public transport, but is quite good for the zoo and park. The staff were helpful. A supermarket at the base of the building is very convenient.
Shopping Tip: A supermarket at the base of the building is very convenient
Eilleen G. Couples Australia, September 30, 2012
Basic Room, nice view

Open view, large windows
4.3
This hotel while ok rooms with a nice open view are too far out of the action, eg shopping and restaurants for us. There was negligible customer service from the reception team, and the pool was not very clean with broken tiles etc. Also there are major demolishing and rebuilding works in progress so sitting outside was not any fun at all.
Travel tip: Stay somewhere else!
Marcus T. Solo travelers Singapore, September 29, 2012
Great location and good service time after time

Clean and spacious
7.7
Garden View YWCA has always been my fav and place to stay in HK. Reason being it is close to the famous Tram Park Station and also walking distance to Central. They have a stable flow of taxi and bus ( 12A ) to central , pedder street MTR.
Marek G. Solo travelers Australia, September 29, 2012
Great location but small rooms

24 Hour reception and friendly service
7
Although the selected room was small, it was clean and comfortable. Located above Central it is accessible by taxi but not handy for public transport. Good views across the nearby gardens and Central district.
Seng L. Couples Australia, September 28, 2012
Quiet hotel on a hill

Located close to the bonatical gardens if you like greenery
7.3
We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. The staffs were polite. It is located on top of a hill and so the 15 mins walk to the CBD is ok (downhill) but the walk back up the hill (20 mins) is not so pleasant especially with all the shopping - I would recommend using a cab which is about HK$30-35. The rooms were confy but have room to improve especially with hanging space for your clothes - esp when staying 5 nights. We had some trouble getting our internet to work so had to use the "free" wi-fi at the dining rooms to catch up on news. There are no eating places nearby except the one restaurant attached to the hotel which is a bit inconvenient.
Richard T. Couples United Kingdom, September 28, 2012
Good value, excellent base in HK

central location. rooms a good size, staff very helpful
9.3
I liked the location,in the mid levels.Our deluxe room had an excellent view. The hotel is beautifully clean. It has a good gym and a swimming pool. Staff very helpful.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Garden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Deluxe RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Suite RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Suite RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - View from HotelGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Fitness RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Fitness RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - RestaurantGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming PoolGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Guest RoomGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Garden SuiteGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - LobbyGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Swimming PoolGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Garden SuiteGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Garden SuiteGarden View Hong Kong Hong Kong - Exterior

Customer Reviews - Garden View Hong Kong, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A02