arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 763 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 763 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 6.8

10 Aimy P.
Vietnam
June 04, 2013
Great boutique hotel
Location , Staff , 5 star hotel services quanlity
Great hotel in centrally location .Room is nice and very clean . Good breakfast . Staffs are more than friendly and helpul . Their Airport transfer service is really good and safe . Halong Bay tour recommened by hotel is really good and is a must try , good price also

7.7 Brian L.
United States
June 03, 2013
Great staff and value!!!!
clean rooms and great value

7.7 Brian L.
United States
June 03, 2013
Clean rooms great staff!!!!!
Good value for the money!!!!

10 Aimy P.
Vietnam
June 03, 2013
Great location
Centrally location , clean and neat room , perfect breakfast
sWe had a pleasant stay as always - the best hotel in Vietnam ! Can't beat it great location within a few step to lake, Old Quarter and Night Markets . Many local food shops, shops and hotels are around . Staffs are more than helpful and friendly - they happy with any of our question . There are many choices for breakfast . Room are very clean and in good condition and having nice decor .Highly recommended

8.7 Erwan C.
France
June 02, 2013
Excellent stay thanks to a convenient hotel
Ideally located, very comfortable, friendly staff

7.3 Tse H.
Hong Kong
May 31, 2013
competitive price and close to city
large room, good for short stay

5.3 Rachel P.
United Kingdom
May 31, 2013
Disappointing
Central location

5.7 Rachel P.
United Kingdom
May 31, 2013
Disappointing stay for a hotel with such potential
Great location
Sadly our stay at the Gia Bao Grand was a disappointment.Upon arrival we were told that from 12am until 6pm the next day there would be no electricity in the hotel.They gave us two options.1.Stay at the Gia Bao Grand & they would provide us with a fan as there would be limited electricity from a generator.2.They would move us to their sister hotel the Gia Bao Palace.If we stayed they promised to upgrade us.Having read reviews which warned us about being moved to the lesser Gia Bao Palace we chose option 1. We were a group of 5, across 2 rooms so we were also promised 2 fans for the room of 3.On returning to the hotel around 11pm there were were no fans, one for each room eventually turned up but they refused to give us a 2nd.After much debate they miraculously found a second fan.We were happy with our decision until midnight until we discovered the generators did not work for the first 2 floors, where the room of 3 were staying.Noticing this at 2am we decided not to traipse downstairs in the pitch black to complain (the phone wasn’t working so we couldn’t contact reception).After a very uncomfortable 1st night we were much happier at this hotel when the electricity returned.Note the rooms were not upgrades.We then left Hanoi to return 2 days later.Again we were met with disappointment.We were informed that there would be no air conditioning due to maintenance work but again we could have a fan or move.We chose to move.This was also a disappointment.Arriving at the Gia Bao Palace (the staff spoke much better English) we expressed our disappointment with the service & they didn’t care & refused to call the hotel manager.They’d booked us into the lowest standard twin rooms, not doubles as per our booking.We refused them & eventually they conceded, providing us with 2 doubles & an extra room for our fifth member.From this point on the staff were very friendly & helpful.Despite our start at the Gia Bao Palace,if one was looking for a budget hotel I would recommend it.

3.7 kent W.
United States
May 31, 2013
below expectations and below normal standards
location to some sites
Having stayed over 3,000 nights in hotel in 50 countries, this was one of the least enjoyable rooms ever. Advertisement said hotel build in 2010-don't think so

9.3 Joe L.
Ireland
May 30, 2013
Great staff and central location
Upgraded to a suite on the 10th floor, friendly staff and great location
I had a great time at this hotel. It is ideally located, just a short walk from the northern end of Hoan Kiem Lake. I was upgraded from a superior room (which I believe is the standard room) to a suite which was great. The staff were very friendly.