Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gia Bao Grand Hotel

23 Lo Su street, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District , Hoan Kiem District - Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi, Vietnam 084 (Show on map)

Book now!

Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Reception Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Bedroom in President Suite Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Lift Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Royal Suite room with city view Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Royal Suite room with city view Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - President Room Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Lobby Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant & Bar Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Buffet breakfast Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Royal Deluxe Twin / Double Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Presidential Suite Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Superior FOC upgrade to Royal Deluxe
Area: Hoan Kiem District - Hoan Kiem Lake Number of Rooms: 45
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
700 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (700)
Sort by:
Stuart S. Couples Australia, January 15, 2013
Friendly staff and good location

Friendly staff, good location
8.3
Good location on edge of old district (so not cramped in but narrow streets and backpackers), but once you have your bearings it's easy to walk around. Nice foyer and hotel presents well. Room (superior) advertised as city view - but a bit dubious description. Room was compact and clean. Not a very good buffet breakfast selection.
Stuart S. Couples Australia, January 12, 2013
Friendly staff and good location

Friendly staff, good location
9
Good location on edge of old district (so not cramped in but narrow streets and backpackers), but once you have your bearings it's easy to walk around. Nice foyer and hotel presents well. Room (superior) advertised as city view - but a bit dubious description. Room was compact and clean. But we were on the 3rd floor which is where the housekeepers decide is a good place to park linen trolley in the open, good if you need a spare towel, but means a) you have to navigate past it when you get out of lift or stairwell b) housekeepers congregate in the morning to discuss their daily tasks (so no sleeping in). Not a very good buffet breakfast selection.
Phillip L. Families with young children United States of America, January 12, 2013
Excellent hotel in Old Quarter of Hanoi

Outstanding service, wonderful staff
10
Our stay at Gia Bao Grand Hotel was excellent. Prime location in Old Quarter of Hanoi and excellent buffet breakfast. Our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The staff at hotel are wonderful and treated our 5 year old son like family. Will definitely stay at this hotel gain when we next visit Hanoi.
Margaret B. Couples Australia, January 7, 2013
Small but adequate

Reception very helpful
5.3
Concerned re food standards in the kitchen. Eg. Breakfast juice left out till next say
Restaurant Tip: Don't use the breakfast option Only time on my trip I took I'll and still recovering a week later
Severino I. Families with young children Philippines, January 6, 2013
Good location but service made me cringe at times

Location, inexpensive
6.3
Stayed early January 2013. Generally ok. Room was small but doesn't make you feel claustrophobic but rather cozy. Strong water pressure with hot water always available. Breakfast buffet choices were rather limited but was satisfying, though dining area was a bit small. Staff helped us book a tour to Halong Bay. Very close (5 min) walk to Hoan Kiem (sp?) lake. Funny thing was at the floor we stayed at, as soon as the lift opens the smell of dim sum would hit you...like the whole floor smelled of it (though thankfully not inside the room) Things that made us cringe: - we asked for bath towels and after repeated calls they delivered...floor towels - we wanted to get laundry picked up at around 9pm, was told they'd do it at 7am the next day. Waited at 7am, called twice, no one came. Went to the reception area, waited for housekeeping to get it then we had breakfast. After breakfast, we started going back to our room. As the lift opens, we see a bag on the floor of the lift. We open it and, lo and behold, it's our laundry!!!!!!! - booked a taxi to bring us to the airport. Told front desk we would leave at 5:30am. We go down at around 5:15am and told them that we were there for our pick up but that there was no rush since we agreed 5:30am. We were told it would be a private car with a hotel driver. So we wait & wait until 6am rolls in and we end up riding a taxi!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Didn't know Hanoi could get that cold (10 degrees Celsius, first week of January)! If you need a jacket then don't fret as there are stores in the area selling inexpensive ones. Extra restaurant tip: there's a wonderful Indian restaurant, Namaste Hanoi very close to the hotel. When you exit the lobby, turn left and its about 2 mins away. Great food but expect to smell like the food after...but it was worth it when you get tired of going native. Extra sightseeing tip: the real water puppet theater is near the hotel as well (it's attached to a cafe whose name I can't remember), right along the lake
Jennifer U. Couples United States of America, January 6, 2013
Nice place

Friendly and helpful staff
6.7
Staff was very friendly, but the room had mold in it
Diana R. Families with older children Australia, January 4, 2013
Great Hanoi Hotel

Stylish rooms,great breakfasts, smiling staff.
9.7
we stayed in two rooms for a week,and really enjoyed this place. the rooms (vip)were large and stylish (love the washbasin bowls), with windows over the rooftops of hanoi (7th floor front). the staff were allways smiling and attentive. very helpful. it is located about three blocks from the lake and the main old-city area, which we liked because it was quieter but not far to the action.
Hotel Feature Tip: Suspect the better rooms to have, from reading other reviews, are the front rooms on the upper floors.
Chien P. Couples Vietnam, January 2, 2013
Great location ,helpful staff , clean & neat hotel

The best hotel in Viet Nam , both for its price and quality of service
10
Its brilliant location of the hotel and the best quality of service make us decide to stay again and again at this hotel . A few step to Hoan Kiem lake and go around Old Quarter. Many local eating shops and restaurants in the street . We recommend this hotel to both travel and business one
Michelle B. Families with older children Australia, January 2, 2013
an ok hotel

great location
9
a nice hotel some confusion with staff due to lack of english speaking staff. but rooms very clean and nice rooms.
Chien P. Couples Vietnam, December 30, 2012
Great 3 star hotel with 5 star quality

Really nice and clean boutique hotel in brilliant location of Old Quarter and the lake
10
I and my husband pick this hotel for our stay in Hanoi again and again. You get what you paid for , really . Our room was clean , nice decoration with modern amenities . Hot bathtub is really good for the very cold weather in Hanoi . Staffs are more than helpful and willing to help you with all request . Highly appreciate that

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - LobbyGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe Gia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - ReceptionGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Bedroom in President SuiteGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - LiftGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Royal Suite room with city viewGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - BathroomGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Royal Suite room with city viewGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - President RoomGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - LobbyGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant & BarGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Buffet breakfastGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Royal Deluxe Twin / DoubleGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Presidential SuiteGia Bao Grand Hotel Hanoi - Superior FOC upgrade to Royal Deluxe

Customer Reviews - Gia Bao Grand Hotel, Hanoi

AS-AGWEB-3C04