Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gokarna Forest Resort

Rajnikunj, Gokarna, Thali P.O Box 20498, Gokarna, Kathmandu, Nepal

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.5

based on 137 reviews

100 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.7
Room Comfort/Standard
9.0
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (137)
Sort by:
Luis R. Couples Argentina, March 11, 2015
Wonderful rest after hectic Kathmandu

Natural and eco approach
7
It was the most relaxing part of our trip. We woke up to see 2 baby deer at our doorstep. Wonderful approach to Nature. Food was ok. Thai restaurant wa the best. But breakfaat not too good. Terrible Coffee. The spa is great and affordable (pool. Massage. Etc). Our stay was very pleasant except for the intenet. It is payable and it doesnt work in bedroom. The staff is a bit slow but very polite. I would recommend it if you appeeciate a quiet spot after crazy traffic in Kathmandu. Only 20 mins to town amd to airport. 10 mins to Bouddha stupa.
Report this review
Sally S. Couples Australia, March 6, 2015
Great time

staff, food,
9.7
We were stuck at Gokharna due to the airport closure and there couldn't have been a better place to be stuck in Kathmandu. The staff go out of their way to ensure you have a nice stay and they were exceptionally accommodating and helpful during what could have been a very stressful time
Report this review
Yen Y. Families with older children Singapore, February 25, 2015
Quiet and comfortable

The air here was cleaner as it is located away from the bustle of downtown Kathmandu. Attentive staff and seeing tame monkeys and deer on site
7.7
Excellent, the air was much cleaner here but a little out of the way.
Report this review
Vinesh N. Families with older children New Zealand, February 22, 2015
Great experience in Gokarna

Location , food, staff
9.3
Excellent hotel With great facilities and food choices. Well worth the value for families
Report this review
Dhiman D. Couples Bangladesh, February 21, 2015
Everything perfect except few things

- Ambience, Cleanliness, Comfort and Interior
8.3
Everything was perfect as this was my third stay in two years except wifi. It was a total disaster and hugely expensive with no decent speed at all. Even mail attachments and some of my business applications took long time to load both in my laptop and iPad. Food quality in the main restaurant is not that great and not very diversified for a five star property if you say. breakfast choices were good. Rooms and interiors are super comfy and very pleasurable. Sorroundings natures are overwhelming. But you must fall into boredom after 2/3 nights stay at the property if you are not a Golf person or thrill seeker. For leisurely stay for few days without much activity, yes, it would be the best property in KTH as i have stayed in most of the five star properties there.
Report this review
Patrick H. Solo travelers United States of America, February 3, 2015
My 6th stay - Great!

Staff, food, location
10
My 6th stay in the past 5 years was as great as the first! The staff makes this place unique!
Report this review
Alan V. Couples United Kingdom, January 15, 2015
Perfect retreat from chaotic Kathmandu

Overall quality of hotel and rooms, professional and friendly staff, peace from the noise of Kathmandu
9.7
A perfect finish to 3 weeks in Nepal. Having been trekking in the Annapurna region, down in Chitwan then back to Kathmandu, Gokarna Forest Resort was a great place to relax and be spoilt for 3 nights before flying home to London. It is not cheap but the money is very well spent. Very welcoming staff, all smartly dressed and on hand to help with everything. Rooms nicely furnished and great size with good attention to detail. Hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. Enjoyed the spa and a lovely Himalayan massage to ease the aches from our trekking. Only being just outside the city was great with a short transfer to airport. The forest kept the noise and bustle of Kathmandu well hidden. Thanks to all those involved with our stay. Alan and Sonya
Report this review
Rahul D. Couples India, January 4, 2015
Nice but still can improve

Rooms, location and Hospitality
7
Goods : location very close to airport property is huge with its own jungle and golf course rooms are clean and comfortable Authentic Nepali food at 8848 is good , better than Dwarika Nepali thai Bads : shuttle (to thamel, city center) bus condition is pathetic Italian food at the bar is'nt great
Report this review
Rahul M. Groups India, December 28, 2014
Mixed Views on this one

Room, Jacuzzi, Staff
7
On our last leg of a Nepal trip, we stayed at Gokarna for a night. In the early part we had stayed at Hyatt Kathmandu so there was a reference point (though very different type of properties) What's good: 1. Away from the Cramped City - Gokarna does score (if this works for you) on the location and its a serene, quiet, log-cabin type of place away from key locations(at least 20-30 mts from Airport and even further from city center) 2. Well done rooms - Rooms are very well done (at least the new Qtrs where we stayed in the main block - there are rooms which are further away (Hunters Lodge) which can be a walk on a cold night) 3. Spa, Pool & Sauna - Really good heated pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna facility (all complementary) 4. Polite Staff - Lovely people, friendly. 5. Sai Temple in the facility - for the Sai Baba devotees, a great to have. What's Not-so-Great: 1. Wifi - Such a dampner. Chargeable in rooms and not cheap (besides being only for one device). Its free in the Bar and lounge area but they are not in close proximity to all rooms. Quality of wifi too is average. Very disappointed. 2. Food was average - we ate at the Chinese/Thai restaurant which was at best 2/5. The Breakfast was also average - 3/5. 3. Travel from the Airport - The road is terrible. Dont take a local cab from the Airport, better to get the Hotel Car (which is twice as costly but a better vehicle) 4. Rates not published - Gokarna does not publish on its website rates of Green Fees, Service Fee for facilities (for example bike rentals etc). We felt these rates were very high and they should publish them for a someone to take an informed decision before booking. Overall, goto Gokarna is you want to stay for 2-3 days and largely want use in-house facilities (Golf, biking, spa, bird watching etc - some at a steep price though). Not Recommended if you are a touristy traveller to Kathmandu and want to be in proximity of main city locations. Also for kids, it may be a boring place.
Report this review
Bunny Z. Couples Thailand, December 7, 2014
wonderful moment in nepal

peaceful,perfect,professional
9.7
i'm really happy to stay here ,everything is perfect,nice and comfortable. have a good service and i'm sure i will back again ...
Report this review
Previous page 11 - 20 of 100 reviews Next page
Gokarna Forest Resort KathmanduGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Club Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Gokarna Suite Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Club Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Food and Beverages Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Junior SuiteGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Junior SuiteGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Junior SuiteGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Superior Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Deluxe Room Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - InteriorGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Junior Suite Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - LobbyGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Recreational Facilities Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Exterior Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Exterior Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Golf Course Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Recreational Facilities Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Golf Course Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Recreational Facilities Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Recreational Facilities Gokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Swimming PoolGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Swimming PoolGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Swimming PoolGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Fitness RoomGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - SpaGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - SpaGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - EntranceGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - RestaurantGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - RestaurantGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Guest RoomGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Guest RoomGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Guest RoomGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Guest RoomGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Guest RoomGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Guest RoomGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - SuperiorGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - InteriorGokarna Forest Resort Kathmandu - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07