arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 3794 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 3794 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 7.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Joshua L.
United States
January 08, 2013
Nice local getaway
Views
Stayed here with my wife and 2 kids around New Year's. Overall, it's a nice getaway with a good view, and I would personally rate it as a 4 star hotel. It's far from the action of Kowloon and Hong Kong Island and not too accessible to the MTR line so don't come here if you need to do lots of sight seeing and shopping! A lot of locals come to this hotel for short getaways so it felt a bit less international than the 5 star hotel we stayed at in Kowloon. However, we weren't the only foreigners there so we certainly didn't feel out of place. We were on a 10 day vacation in Hong Kong and spent the first week at a Kowloon hotel near all the action. We spent three days (including New Year's eve) at the Gold Coast hotel. The balcony view overlooking the yachts was beautiful and the balcony itself is quite big. The rooms are decent sized and clean with about 4 star fittings. The bathroom was all marble, clean and quite nice (a small step up from the room itself). The Chinese restaurant in this hotel was great - my son loves Peking duck and is very picky he gave it an enthusiastic thumbs up and wanted to eat there every day! They had a 40% off Peking duck deal + 15% off your total restaurant bill as a hotel guest so dad was happy too!! :) The New Year's Eve Gala was quite enjoyable for my family. It cost about $115/head with 2 glasses of champagne and an all you can eat buffet. The buffet included steak (tender and tasty), lobster tail (albeit they were pretty small), chinese crab cakes, peking duck, dim sum, lots of other things (fried rice, kung pao chicken, etc, etc, etc) and lots and lots of yummy western & asian deserts. There was an okay band playing that added to the fun atmosphere. Note that the Gold Coast Piazza is about a 5min walk from here and contains a few restaurants (chinese, french, mediterranean and a kebab place), a supermarket, a wine/cheese shop, 7-eleven and a small outdoor market with local sellers peddling some goods.

LAU M.
Hong Kong
January 08, 2013
Comfortable~~
Fantastic seaview~~
This is my favorite hotel for having anniversary with my girlfriend. Quiet, comfortable with dazzling seaview. Rather traditional and predictable yet comfortable room. Nice service.

Stephanie L.
Hong Kong
January 08, 2013
Relaxing Staycation
The great service, the seafront view, well-equipped facilities
My boyfriend and I came to stay at the Gold Coast Hotel for a 'staycation'. The hotel proved to be a great getaway for couples, as it secluded yet also romantic because of its position next to several beaches. We enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, such as the gym and pool, and their food was decent. The Gold Coast Plaza was nearby and we went there for lunches, but the selection of restaurants were not many. Overall, this hotel is recommended to locals who wish to take a break from the city, but not recommended to those who intend to travel out to the city as its location is quite inconvenient.

Lindelwa M.
South Africa
January 07, 2013
Lovey hotel, big rooms but very expensive dining,
Nice area, great location, nice ambience
Had a great stay. Hotel can improve on English speaking staff. Also they can assist tourist with highlighting tourist attractions. Musical performances can be improved especially during occasions such as New Year's celebration.

YU C.
Hong Kong
January 07, 2013
Nice hotel with great sea view
Sea view, good service
I enjoyed a night with my girlfriend at Hong Kong gold coast hotel. As I requested a high-floor room, the staff member at check-in counter offered me a room at 16/F with a huge balcony. I love the sea-view in my room. Definitely would love to go back to this hotel again.

Richard L.
Hong Kong
January 06, 2013
Good experience
Clean and fresh
Hotel is spacious, and clean. But location is a bit far away from downtown and Central. Good for relaxation. If shuttle bus can last till mid-night, it will be great for all kind of travellers. The shopping mall nearby also provide a place for shopping and food. If you travel by a cab, you can also give visit a lot of local shops around.

Zhao H.
China
January 05, 2013
nice hotel with great view
clean, great spread
love the food and quite location of this hotel. but is too far away from everything in hk, bad for those who want to shop and play on the island

Ian F.
Australia
January 04, 2013
good views and comfortable stay
clean and comfortable
Stayed just one night to enjoy the local sites and activities. The hotel was conveniently located close to town and the beach Hotel provides transportation shuttles for pay to and from the city

Gloria M.
Hong Kong
January 04, 2013
Relaxing Hotel
Spacious rooms with big balcony, nice & relaxing sea-view!!
Quiet & spacious rooms. Nice & polite staff & efficient service. Relaxing environment. Good food at different restaurants. Convenient flea market near-by with 24 hours snack shop. Excellent walking promenade for families or couples.

Roy P.
United States
January 03, 2013
Fantastic hotel with great views
The whole feel of the hotel stay was great
This hotel is for those who want to stay away from the city. It is quite far to everything. with the amount of money you will spend here, they do not offer airport shuttle's like many other hotels. Food was great and lots of different varieties.