or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang, Malaysia 11100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Deluxe Seafacing Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Superior Hillview Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive Seaview Room Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive Seaview Room Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive Suite Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive Suite Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive Suite - Living Room Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Suite Room Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Lobby Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Lobby Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Lobby Lounge Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Balcony/Terrace Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Balcony/Terrace Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Cool Lounge Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Swimming Pool Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Gym
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Kid’s club Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Kid’s club Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Adventure Zone Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Adventure Zone and Playground Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Garden Cafe Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Restaurant Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Garden Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Garden Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Surroundings Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Surroundings Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Surroundings Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Overview Swimming Pool
Area: Batu Ferringhi Number of Rooms: 387
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
1161 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (1161)
Sort by:
Lauryl W. Couples Australia, August 27, 2014
Relaxing holiday

Pools and activities, breakfast, location
10
After several weeks touring Europe and UK, it was wonderful to relax, get over any jet lag and do as we pleased at the resort. There were plenty of activities in which to be involved, I particularly enjoyed the pool volleyball, but there is the chance just to relax, unwind and soak up the friendly atmosphere. The location of this hotel right on the beachfront makes it quiet and the rooms are spacious and well furnished. The fruit platter and bottled water were also appreciated. The smorgasbord breakfast included everything anyone could want and the staff were always pleasant and friendly.
Katrin A. Families with young children Germany, August 11, 2014
Full family hotel

Location, Room, Pool
7.3
We booked this hotel as a new family with a 5 months old baby. The hotel did a great job accomodating our request for a baby cot, rental car recommendation and late checkout (although this required some discussion on the front desk, as on the first desk they confirmed and on the actual leaving day refused to know about it). They agreed to it in the end though. The hotel is very popular with tourists from Arabian countries and you may find yourself a little uncomfortable lying around in your bikini. It is however not a problem. The children pool was super busy with children and we therefore chose the normal pool facilities for our swim with the baby. Breakfast selection and availability are great, however you may choose to go for breakfast in the restaurant at the beach to avoid huge crowds. If you order drinks or food from the hotel restaurants we were disappointed. It was expensive and local dishes were not up to standard. We chose to go outside to the food court every evening for a wonderful dinner among locals and tourists alike. We were actually planning to choose the beach over the pool, although this didn't work out. the beach is nice, apart from the occasional jellyfish (nature :)) but i really hated the high number of jetskis and various water sports activities constantly going up and down the beach. the smell of gasoline didnt make this a nice experience.
Sung H. Families with young children South Korea, August 6, 2014
Good value for money

staff, adventure zone, location
9.3
Wai Y. Families with older children Malaysia, July 30, 2014
Good for family

Room is very comfortable, service at the breakfast area is good, good location..
6
The hotel lobby, little disappointed, room is nice & comfortable. water pressure at shower is strong.
Suit F. Families with older children Malaysia, July 27, 2014
Everything clean

pool clean, nice landscape & beach clean
8.3
We enjoyed the facilities and staffs are friendly.
Vinay G. Families with young children Malaysia, July 26, 2014
Best beach vacation ever!!

room, pool, beach
9.7
Our stay was good considering we had a 3 year old and a 9 months old with us. Room was clean & comfortable. Pool was extremely fun. My husband and son had a lot of fun in the pool and they could go to the pool even when there was hot sun as the pool was shaded. Beach was very clean and we enjoyed making sand castle there. Only downfall was the food as we are vegetarians. They did not have much choice in their buffets for us as well as in the menu. All you can have is pasta, fried rice or sandwiches. No pizzas as well coz their oven was broken.
Gary R. Couples Australia, July 26, 2014
Think 3 star (?)

Breakfast, the gardens and atmosphere
6.7
Photos of the hotel looked good and I relied on the Shangri-La name for quality and service. That proved to misplaced in part in this case. The room decor was dull and the bathroom, in particular, was in need of redesign and refurbishment. Linen and towels appeared like hand-me-downs from better equipped Shangri-La hotels. So these things were a disappointment and anyone who has stayed in Shangri-La hotels would be disappointed, maybe even a little shocked at this premises. The Shangri-La in KL, for one, makes this place seem like 2 or 3 star hotel. A major upgrade needed. On the good side, staff seemed quite cheerful and responded well to customers, the food was quite good and the atmosphere on the complex was relaxing. There seemed to be many things/facilities for children here. Plenty of street markets, shops and restaurants on street outside.
Eni A. Families with young children Indonesia, July 26, 2014
A nice place for all ages

Great facility especially for kids. Nice room and food. Clean
7.7
It's so wonderful. The kid is so happy, he could do many fun activities in hotel. For old people also could enjoy the sea and the pool all day long. The restaurants have a great food and selection.
Chui Y. Families with young children Hong Kong, July 22, 2014
good location and services and many facilities

excellence for kids, adventur zone play 2 times and my kids play 2 hours each time, they are very enjoy, very close to beach and many activities play in there. very relex in pool side
8.3
Staff upgrade to sea view room, it's very good view, sea is beautiful, will back to stay again
Mei Y. Families with young children Hong Kong, July 20, 2014
nice

food, swimming pool and kid zone is good
7.7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La PenangGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Deluxe SeafacingGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Superior HillviewGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive Seaview RoomGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive Seaview RoomGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive SuiteGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive SuiteGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Executive Suite - Living RoomGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Suite RoomGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - LobbyGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - LobbyGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Lobby LoungeGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Balcony/TerraceGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Balcony/TerraceGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Cool LoungeGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Swimming PoolGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - GymGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Kid’s clubGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Kid’s clubGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Adventure ZoneGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Adventure Zone and PlaygroundGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Garden CafeGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - RestaurantGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - GardenGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - GardenGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - SurroundingsGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - SurroundingsGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - SurroundingsGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Overview Swimming PoolGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - ExteriorGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Terrace FunctionGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Bunga Raya BallroomGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - Cassia Meeting RoomGolden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang - View

Customer Reviews - Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3B03