arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 97 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 97 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Staff Performance 7.7
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.6

8 Paul W.
Australia
March 09, 2012
Very accommodating.
Goood service
Breakfast was good but attention is required to freshness and refrigeration of products such as yoghurt.

9 geneann R.
United States
January 26, 2012
Nice hotel with both good location and great staff
Location, staff
I have stayed several times at the Golden Sun Lakeview and have always enjoyed my stay. Staff is helpful, location is great, good restaurants just a few steps away, near lake and night market.

9.3 Elaine A.
Canada
January 14, 2012
Fantastic Find - wonderful staff
Location is fabulous, staff the nicest yet, breakfast room and breakfast were devine
We were very lucky to pick this hotel because the weekend we came lots of hotels were booked. So this wasn't our first pick from reading all the reviews, however, if I come back to Hanoi, this would now be my first pick. There are 3 outstanding features to this hotel. First the staff is sincerely kind and helpful and make you feel most welcome. They are happy to help you make any plans and give you good advice to stay safe, get a great meal, see some sights or get around. In Hanoi these services are well worth staying here alone as many hotels are quite the opposite as are many of the “tourist agents”. Next is the lovely breakfast room on the top floor overlooking the lake. It’s a great spot and I woke up early to have my tea and watch the city wake up. The next best part is the breakfast. They conveniently serve it from 6 am to 11. Which means if you get up crazy early and have things to do, it’s there and if you are a late riser it’s there. The breakfast has been one of the very best we have had on our entire trip. A great selection of fruits, breads, yogurt, cheese & meat. Coffee and tea – all this is buffet style – so as much as you like. Then you can order pancakes, eggs or Vietnamese pho. All is excellent and if you want to order eggs and pancakes – no problem. Honestly, they just want you to feel welcome. The negatives…it’s a little older. Our bathroom was a little funky in that the tub was not fitted to the wall so the water ran around it to the floor and down the drain. There was a blow dryer though! The pillows were really hard. The positives more than outweighed them. As well as the above, they had a fresh rose in our room, some free snacks, replaced the complimentary 2 bottles of mineral water each day, had a cooler of bottled water in the lobby for guests. There was a fridge , the towels were pretty fluffy and when we left they all came out to say goodbye and shake our hand. No one else has done that.

9 Greg F.
Australia
January 10, 2012
Favourite in ho Kiem
clean, good staff, views of the street and lake
My favourite hotel in Ho Kiem. The back rooms have a view of the lake, the front rooms have a street view. Clean, comfortable beds, great friendly staff. Centrally located on Hang Hanh, which is a side street close to lots of bars and cafes.

10 Garrick T.
Australia
December 02, 2011
Terrific Hotel a home away from home.
wonderful staff and great service
We both loved this hotel with its central location and its wonderful view across Lake Hoan Kiem. The lake is five minutes’ walk and is a bit of serenity to balance out the bustle of the capital City. We found the accommodation clean neat and comfortable. Neither of us can speak to highly of the staff at Golden Sun Lake view. Though the front of house are stand outs although courteous and prudent they can arrange anything you need from organised tours to a doctor. There was so much we liked about Vietnam and so very much of it to see we will be back sooner than later and hopefully the Golden Sun Lake View will be our base.

7.3 Pobpabha A.
Thailand
November 26, 2011
Good service with smiles & great location
Great location and good service
i like: (1) location--convenient to walk to hoan kiem lake, supermarket, shopping places and restaurant, (2) service--staffs always smiled and offered help, (3) room that had everything i needed. i'm ok with (1) cleanliness, (2) condition--not so good, and (3) breakfast. i dislike: (1) internet (too slow sometimes).

5.7 Le B.
Vietnam
November 25, 2011
Great location but small rooms
Location is a good choice for us. Around the hotel, there are many kinds of foods and services
I don't enjoy staying in this hotel with the same budget with other nearby ones.

9.3 Lue M.
United States
November 16, 2011
Sunny with smiling services
friendly staff, close to the lake, laptop in room to use, clean room
had an excellent time at the hotel. the staff were great; from the drivers to the bell boy to the manager. all the staff members were always ready to help and accommodate if possible. the rooms i had were always very clean. for this price i will stay at this hotel again.

7.7 stephen K.
United Kingdom
November 14, 2011
good hotel shame about room and building work
staff
We were happy with the quality of the hotel, and breakfast and facilities and were told we were upgraded on arrival but our room (701) was noisy because of the building work next door, the road, and the fact that everyone had to go past the room for breakfast. The wifi also didnt work so we had to go to the reception for it to work. We did complain and were moved to golden sun legend which was very good and we would recommend staying there instead.

9.7 Warren W.
Australia
November 13, 2011
Great Hotel/resort, friendly staff
Quite and friendly location.
great location, easy walking to all attractions including restaurants and shops.