arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 97 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 97 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.6

9 Diana R.
Italy
August 25, 2011
Very good location and friendly staff
location, clean, kind and friendly staff
We spent 5 nights at the hotel Golden Sun Lake View after booking a deluxe room. The room is clean and well equipped even if not so big (double bed queen size, not king). We were surprised by the fact that on the room desk the staff had prepared some snacks and even a laptop for us. We were staying in a room on the 7th floor, no lake view but very nice balcony. On the same floor also the breakfast is served. Limited but good buffet and some choice a la carte included in the room payment. The staff of the hotel is really kind and friendly and the location is very good for visiting the Old Town

9.3 mike M.
New Zealand
August 15, 2011
Great location, friendly staff
Location, laptop and wifi in room, very helpful and friendly staff
this hotel is situated near the lake, it's a great spot for tourists. we only stayed overnight but the staff were really friendly. we left early in the morning for the airport, and discovered we'd left some luggage in the room! since we had no time to go back, a worker from the hotel bought the bag to the airport in a taxi for us. having only stayed one night and spent minimal money, i was extremely impressed by this service.

7.7 Troy A.
United States
August 13, 2011
perfect for a quick trip to hue
location on the river, close to citadel, decent breakfast, huge bedroom
a large, resort-like hotel on the river. stayed here one night on my way to hcmc - no complaints, but they could have been more flexible with a later checkout time.

8.3 Ramunas B.
Lithuania
August 04, 2011
Nice little hotel with exceptional service
close to many tourist attractions
we stayed for 4 nights in the hotel. the room and breakfast was ok, we had a balcony, even a laptop for own use! the girls at the reception were amazingly helpful with every issue we had and spoke brilliant english (compared to other people in vietnam). we would stay there again!!

9 William W.
United States
July 10, 2011
Excellent all around hotel
Friendly and helpful staff, location
The choice of small, attractively-priced hotels in Hanoi’s Old Quarter is nearly overwhelming, but I’m very glad to have settled on the Golden Sun Lakeview. My wife and I and our two adult children stayed four nights in June 2011. Because the hotel is so inexpensive, we took three rooms, and our son and daughter both were glad to have their own. The rooms are relatively small, but very clean and well-appointed, including having laptops in each room, so you can link up to the internet even if you haven’t brought your own. The staff were warm and welcoming and immensely helpful, and we were able to get along perfectly well in English. Their restaurant recommendations in particular were great, from traditional Vietnamese food in places popular with locals as well as tourists to some terrific Vietnamese-French hybrids. (Try Madame Hien’s or the Green Tangerine.) Having breakfast included—served in a sister hotel across the street—was a big plus, with plenty of choices and a three-and-a-half hour service window for convenience. The hotel’s location is excellent, barely a block and a half from Hoan Kiem Lake—my wife and I liked walking once around the lake early in the morning and then meeting the kids for breakfast—in the hub from which the streets of the Old Quarter radiate out. We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and the shops on those streets, and we could walk everywhere, except to the Museum of Ethnology (a must see). Staying here was a great pleasure, and I’d love to think we’ll get back again sometime.

9 Bernadette O.
Australia
June 28, 2011
Great location and excellent service
This hotel is in a very central spot in the old quarter which made it very easy to get around.
very friendly, helpful staff in a small hotel which was great value for money.

8.3 MICHAEL L.
United Kingdom
June 26, 2011
Good hotel within 'Old Quarter' of Hanoi.
Good Location and friendly helpful staff.
Golden Sun Lakeview Hotel is located on a narrow, busy, but quiet street within the 'Old Quarter' of Hanoi. The hotel is clean and provided a basic but adequate breakfast on the eighth floor and within view of Hoan Kiem Lake, about two minutes walk away. Reception and other staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel also provides each room with a laptop computer and free internet access. It is also able to oganise sightseeing trips and tours...in all, a very good location and of good value, also within easy walking distance of the lake and many bars and restaurants!

6 Naruemon K.
Thailand
June 15, 2011
Good views of the Hoan Kiem Lake
Best area in the center of Hanoi
our stay in this was excellent. the staff organised a trip to halong bay for us and gave good suggestions for restaurants and shopping . the rooms were clean and the complimentary breakfast okay. good value for money.

9 Robert A.
Netherlands
June 07, 2011
Good central location, great service
Good, clean rooms, great location, very friendly staff
We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is very close to the lake on the side of the old center. Problems we had were very well handled by the staff and all our questions and requests were dealt with perfectly. Good value for money!

6 ARIEF N.
Indonesia
May 23, 2011
Very small hotel in great location
Location is close to the lake
I was very surprise when we found the hotel was very small, the reality was not as good as the picture. However, the staff was very friendly and easy to look for a food. The variety of breakfast was not so much, but the fruit is very good.