Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Golden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo

2, El Gzera El Wosat St, Zamalek Island, Cairo, Egypt

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.5

based on 37 reviews

22 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.1
Location
7.3
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.4
Room Comfort/Standard
6.4
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (37)
Sort by:
Ainal M. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 14, 2012
Safe location, walking distance to British Council

15 mins walk to British Council Agouza
8.3
I am glad that i chose this hotel as i was hesitated to chose between the next door hotel.i arrived at 9 am in the hotel and the front desk gave me my room even i before 2pm.it could be because on monday, if on weekend i might not have a chance.the room was fine, i did not expect the room to be lavish even it stated 4 stars. It was expensive due to the location as Zamalek is for rich egyptian.i booked the city view as the nile view faced non interesting part of nile, because this hotel was located at the west bank. The fancy view during night was on the hotels located on east bank and facing the downtown Cairo.Zamalek is an island, where the embassies and colleges located.i got the top room and i did really need the quiet area, less hearing the car honk.the room service was good, even during my 9nights stay they did not change the bedsheet but they never failed to provide the toiletteries and fresh towel.The breakfast was mixed western and local breakfast.there was snack bar which served local dishes at reasonable price, pharmacy, money changer and metro supermarket just next to the hotel. It was convenient. My return flight was late at night but the hotel gave me room to be used to ease myself before i left for airport.even for couple of minutes but it worth. It provided the cab service at fixed price but the taxi driver still asked for tip. I had a pleasant stay in this hotel. I was concerned about the safety, and location near British Council, and this hotel is not really suitable for people who want to experience the other life of egypt night life.
Travel tip: The hotel provides the tour trip to main attraction in Cairo and to Alexandria, Suez and Giza pyramids. Better to go with tour grop to pyramids as it safe. I had the worst experience in Spinx, as the camel and horse carriage owner would not let me got out from my cab until i agreed with his deal. It was hostile and stressfull experience. I ended up left Spinx because the cab driver will be hurt and his cab will be damaged by the man.
Report this review
Tony E. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 21, 2012
Nice area, suitable for young people or groups

Alright breakfast, helpful staff and nice little pub downstairs
4.7
NIce hotel with a great balcony view quite suitable for couples and groups traveling. Though it had empty mini bar and no tea or coffee facilities with very poor wifi connectivity.
Restaurant Tip: Sabai Sabai Thai restaurant just opposite is very friendly and authentic
Report this review
Roger B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 16, 2012
Great location and warm staff

Safe, relatively upscale location, hotel offered services (taxis, restaurant, laundry) competitively priced
8.3
located in zamalek, an exclusive and relatively upscale district in cairo containing embassies and higher-end residences. location is very near tahir square (yes, the famous one), egyptian museum and other sites. recommend you use the hotel taxi offered service as it is safe and less of an adventure than hailing a white cab from the street. hotel staff very friendly and try their best to accommodate your wishes. hotel rooms are in the process of being upgraded and we had a nice one (406), huge and overlooking the nile river. however have zero expectations on soundproofing....birds from the huge tree outside the room but moreover egyptians partying till late at night and constant car horn blowing (an egyptian? custom). it is funny, you eventually learn to filter out the noise, so stay at least 2 nights. there was a screw up on laundry - it wasn't washed! but after the issue was discovered, it was promptly rectified and the dinner alcohol was with compliments of the hotel. wifi is an issue in many of the rooms - we changed twice before finding a semi-decent connection but even so, it continued to be rather slow and intermittent. i suggest you check the wifi signal strength before unpacking your bags! staff are really nice.
Hotel Feature Tip: metro 24 hour supermarket with hsbc atm across the road. super convenient. also hotel bar is a great place for alcohol and a wind-down at the end of the day.
Report this review
Janet N. Business travelers Canada, May 25, 2012
Poor service, full of ants, WIFI barely worked

good location
5.3
Poor quality for the price WIFI barely worked Room was not soundproof Breakfast was good, but had to argue for service and make a fuss to get tea etc. Had to argue for anything, including one roll of toilet paper that I waited six hours for and then finally had to go to the nearby store to purchase it.
Report this review
Yutaro S. Business travelers Japan, February 24, 2012
great location in Zamalek

bathtub and hot water, internet connection
6.7
relatively quiet surroundings in zamlek, compard to the down town area. there are many upper level restaurant near within walikng distance in zamlek. restaurants by the hotel side of the river was good. internet connection good but not very fast. breakfast was not super but very good. bath tub with enough hot water. from down town, 10 pounds is enough by taxi, using taxi meter it is about 6-7 pounds (1usd).
Restaurant Tip: there are many upper level restaurant near within walikng distance in Zamlek.
Report this review
Liam H. Groups New Zealand, January 26, 2012
Dangerous

Dangerous
2
The hotel was on fire while we were in our room, there was no fire alarm or call to us, avoid at all costs
Travel tip: Near the river
Report this review
Kamil I. Business travelers Canada, January 13, 2012
ok, small room needs improvement

coffee shop was ok
4
was ok, but less than my expectation for the value for money
Report this review
Mbaye L. Solo travelers United States of America, December 25, 2011
Great location but small rooms

nice people
6.7
enjoyed the food, breakfast and staff. standard rooms are noisy and small, but superior rooms are great, outstanding view toward the nile.
Travel tip: good for business, but not for someone looking for fun, arts and culture of the country.
Report this review
Mbaye L. Business travelers United States of America, December 20, 2011
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

nice staff
7.3
was alright, small standard rooms, but the superior rooms are great
Report this review
Julien C. Solo travelers France, November 27, 2011
Nice confortable rooms. Great value for money

Location, new rooms, breakfast, Price
8
nicely located hotel in zamalek. nice stay for a business or holiday.
Report this review
Previous page 11 - 20 of 22 reviews
Golden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo CairoGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - RestaurantGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - LobbyGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - ExteriorGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Pub/LoungeGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - ConferenceGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Meeting RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Meeting RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - ViewGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - InteriorGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - BathGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - ExecutiveGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - ViewGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - BathroomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - ViewGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - BathroomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - BathroomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - ViewGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - ExteriorGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - RestaurantGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - RestaurantGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - RestaurantGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - RestaurantGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Meeting RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Meeting RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - SuperiorGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - SuiteGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - LobbyGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Guest RoomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Coffee Shop/CafeGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - BathroomGolden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo Cairo - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02