arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2674 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2674 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Staff Performance 8.5
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.0

8.3 Glenn S.
United States
April 26, 2014
Had a great stay/
Location, great shopping, close to local eating places
Very, very good.

9 Nur K.
Singapore
April 25, 2014
charming, colonial hotel
location,room and fast check in and out
Location was excellent, nearby the shopping centres in orchard road, around less than 5minutes walk. Quiet and charming hotel. Fast and easy check in and out process. Room service was fast. Staffs were polite and one of them had the initiative to ask if we are muslims and explain to us that the hotel has a non halal kitchen thus take note our special request when preparing our breakfast. Excellent attitude and helpful to assist us whenever we have doubts or needed help. Disavantages were the incomplete toiletries ie no toothbrush or comb or razor, and it would be better if our breakfast were served with food warmer as we did not eat our breakfast till much later and by then food was beginning to get cold. Other that that, the rest were excellent. Ps you haf to try their durian crepes, they were the best.

9.3 pasquale F.
Italy
April 25, 2014
Excellent
building, location, staff
Excellent hotel, with very good service. Located close to shopping malls and MRT

7.3 Aliff S.
Singapore
April 25, 2014
A peaceful place in the busy city
location, accessibility, high-tea
We went for the high tea, it was really good. though the spread is not excessive it was of quality food. And we tried some of the Durian cakes, probably the best ever!

8 Raghwan R.
Australia
April 23, 2014
Great
Good location, clean and majestic
It was great stay

7.7 Sara S.
Australia
April 22, 2014
Great family get away hotel.
location, pool, not noisy
Great stay, I would stay there again. Only let down was that we arrived at around 12.30am in the morning with 2 small children. I had requested that the room be made up with an extra bed prior to arrival and unfortunately when we arrived we had to wait for it to be made up. It did not take long to do however they had all day to sort it out but had left it to when we arrived. Loved the free bottles of water...Hotel was clean and nice, compared to other hotels I have stayed at in Singapore it was slightly shabby/aged. I would like to think that in a couple of years they will do minor renovations. Food was great but costly if eating there every day. Kids loved the pool. I have 2 small kids and I loved that the pool was split into 2 sections. 0.3m depth and then the other side was 1.2m in depth. Felt like I didn't have to sit on the edge constantly when the kids were in the shallow pool. It felt safe. Free wifi was good. Loved reading about the history of the hotel, it felt special to stay there.

8.7 John C.
United States
April 22, 2014
Great location, room size, cleanliness
Room Size, Location, Cleanliness
We mostly slept in the hotel and ventured out all day in business meetings. There are 2 small swimming pools in gardens that are only nice for a dip, not for swimming/health as they are small. The gym is tiny. I found know steam/sauna/changing rooms. There seemed to be no 'deal' to add on breakfast, so we skipped that. Some people got newspapers on their door each day; we didn't. Call ahead for taxi reservation during peak hours - this was very helpful. The in-room news magazines and books were great. The free in-room internet worked on 4 devices, nicely done! Our room was quiet, well furnished, large. The bathroom was well maintained. For a 140 year old hotel the atmosphere was great within the room. All services of desk, house keeping, front door etc were fantastic. We would certainly consider a return stay at this hotel. Next door is an inexpensive mall 1 minute walk away, then the fancy malls our 10 mins walk. Check inside the malls for food and shopping as you don't realize how many great shops are inside the buildings - there is no signage on the outside. This is a good thing once you know you have to look deeper. We heard the Japanese restaurant was stunning but majorly expensive. Would like to try it next time.

6 Yeow C.
Malaysia
April 20, 2014
Not worth the price
Centrally located, nice garden pool, nice moon cakes
We were allocated to a room far towards the end and far away from the hotel. Room renovation looks dated, TV cabinet was places at a very odd place (not facing the bed). Not worth the price paid in my opinion. I will probably not return to this hotel unless there are no other choices.

8.7 hugo L.
Belgium
April 20, 2014
Grand old lady
Service, room, nearby orchard without the hustle
The goodwood is a famous place, for singapore and tourists ( just check the entrance for the history part) Rooms and service are clean, nice and full of amenities, in its old grandeur it serves as a nice hide away from singapore's modern worldview Breakfast is abundant and there is no question which the staff won't answer Besides that, prices are high ( compared by europe) but not skyrocketing as in other hotels so near orchard A good(wood) stay

8.3 john A.
Australia
April 20, 2014
very nice hotel if you do not like high rise
staff and the Gordon grill, swimming pools
Quite good we were happy with the stay