Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2736 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2736 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 8.0
Sort by

Hassan A.
Bangladesh
January 13, 2014
Very comfortable rooms
the best three things would be very large rooms, comfortable beds and friendly staff
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly. the rooms are large. very friendly staff. Internet was very fast. so, overall stay was good. The food was not very tasty at times. Another thing I didn't like was that when we reached at the hotel, it was early in the morning. Although the hotel staff could see that my mother was not well, yet she told me that there were no rooms left for us to check in early.

Charles W.
United Kingdom
January 12, 2014
Fantastic
Staff, Room, Food
As good as the last time we stayed there - 49 years ago in 1965

Hillary A.
United Kingdom
January 11, 2014
Take care with room selection
The main hotel is historic and very luxurious. It is well located in Orchard. The service standard is very high.
Be careful when booking. I always choose a higher than standard room. I booked a split level Park Lane studio, assuming it was in the hotel. Unfortunately it was in a separate apartment building, and was not luxurious at all, very basic, barely 3-star standard. So I paid a lot but missed the luxury and service of the fantastic hotel. So be careful, the limited description on Agoda can be misleading and result in disappointment. Check the hotel website before booking.

Martha U.
Indonesia
January 11, 2014
Nice hotel & good location
Value for money, good location, clean room
I go to singapore so many times and try many 5 stars hotel. When i stay at goodwood park even only for 1 night i knew that this is a good hotel. Reception staff are nice and helpful. Room size is large and clean . Housekeeping staff and roomservice staff very nice. And the best is room price is good if compare with near hotel i used to stay.. I will recomen to my family and friends.

Salvin S.
Singapore
January 10, 2014
GOOD LOCATION
nice food, good service, big rooms
it was good place with nice service. great location

Alex R.
Australia
January 09, 2014
Lovely hotel, great service
Very wewll appointed and comfortable room, excellent customer service, private balcony with easy pool access

Yuen W.
Australia
January 08, 2014
Staying in luxury
Comfort, security and friendliness
Only pity was that we were unable to taste the durian puffs because they were sold in boxes of 48 which is too much for 2 people.

Peter B.
Australia
January 08, 2014
Wouldn't stay here again, poor value for room rate
Proximity to transport, Access to Orchard Rd shopping, Two pool areas

Toby F.
United Kingdom
January 07, 2014
Fun in Singapore but hotel was underwhelming
The pool. The location. Yes, I know that's only 2
We booked a junior suite, and on arrival and we were put in a room that was the farthest point from reception, dark, imposing and what the strangest layout room ever - small circular dining table with 2 chairs occupying about a third of the room. In fairness when we asked to move to a lighter room the front desk upgraded us to a pool facing suite; after they had dealt with the 2 weddings going on, obviously; and whilst still a little strange in layout we were very happy with that. The pool is great and open from 7am to 10pm. I like getting some laps in first thing and it was great for that. During the day there is a bit of a scramble for pool side chairs/recliners as there are nowhere near enough for the number of residents, and apparently the Japanese are the new Germans when it comes to reserving their space. Still the days were nice and relaxing, the staff come round the pool and offer drinks, etc (when they are not dealing with weddings... do you see a trend here), we had rom service one evening and the kitchen were able to customise some food to meet my wife's food allergy needs and all in all the staff were generally friendly, helpful and attentive (when they were not dealing with multiple weddings). BIG NO NO - The Chinese restaurant (Min Jiang) has a full page of shark's fin soup options, which was not advertised until we sat down and read the menu... and then stood up and walked out again. Even Hong Kong restaurants have stopped selling this barbaric dish. The steak restaurant (our back-up that evening) was nice enough, some of the staff were excellent but one in particular and taken one too many energy drinks (or something) to get him through his shift and was overly energetic and annoying, and I suggest going for the steaks as they were simple, well cooked and delicious whereas the chicken was literally dying under a torrent of fois gras and truffle. All in all I think we would not stay here again, but I might try and sneak in to use the pool.

Chow T.
Singapore
January 06, 2014
Pretty good
It is huge, clean and value for money
Everything was great, other than the hotel been pretty old. But for this historical hotel, it has kept it pretty well. Hotel was clean and tidy. All of us had a great stay. Would booked again if the deal comes back up again.