Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima

Jirón de la Union 958, Historic Area, Lima, Peru Lima 01 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Historic Area Number of Rooms: 80

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
207 reviews

139 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (207)
Sort by:
Melissa V. Couples Netherlands, September 21, 2012
Large hotel, large rooms, def. outdated

In the centre, great help of staff
Upon arrival we were kindly greated by the staff. The room was large and the ceilings high. It was clearly an old building, but everything was nice and clean. The breakfast was good, with fresh juices and eggs. The hotel is close to many shops and a supermarket. We stayed there for two days, which was fine. At checkout we discovered that we did not have a roadmap, the reception staff helped us out very well.
Report this review
Victoria T. Couples United Kingdom, July 24, 2012
Faded glory, antique bathrooms

Friendly and helpful staff at reception, location in the old part of town. Wonderful old building
The junior suite was large but rather basic and one of the noisiest places we have ever stayed, no double glazing and horn blowing went on constantly all night. Plumbing was rather antiquated, and water only Luke warm. But despite all this we would recommend it for a visit or stay of a night or 2. Staff were very helpful when we managed to lock ourselves out of the room late at night. Fantastic history and wonderful function rooms. Don't bother eating in the restaurant our food was very poor.
Hotel Feature Tip: Pay this hotel a visit just to see where the rich and famous used to stay, you won't be disappointed
Report this review
Michelle H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 9, 2012
Grand historic hotel

Large rooms, with antique furniture and fittings
I loved this hotel for is olde world grandur and history. The lovely large rooms, high ceilings and what looked to be the original furniture and fittings. It's right in the centre of the city. The same reasons which make the hotel grand also make it dated and worn.
Report this review
Gina N. Families with older children United States of America, May 25, 2012
Not recommended

Historical features
The hotel staff is not really helpful. The room is not comfortable. The bath tub is old.
Report this review
Teresita P. Couples United States of America, April 28, 2012
Great location in the city center

Location and good service
* Great location - walking distance to Plaza de armas and several tourist attractions in the city center. * Great service - very helpful staff; baggage storage is great * Basic complimentary breakfast - can add cheese & fresh fruits. * Bathroom can use some updating.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Don't miss to visit those beautiful churches nearby: Main cathedral, Sto. Domingo, San Pedro, San Francisco, Sta. Rosa, San Agustin, Las Mercedes
Report this review
Valdis B. Couples Latvia, April 18, 2012
Crumbling elegance

I really enjoyed my stay at Gran Hotel Bolivar. I booked the junior suite at a very reasonable rate. Sure it was dated and may have been elegant in the 1960s. There is little of the last quarter century in this room but I love the history! The balcony opens to the city square and the bar serves mean cocktails- is it true that the pisco sour was seved here first? Probably not, but Orson Welles but probably was convinced that this was so. Interesting hotel- how long shall it stay as it is? Hurry before it it brought into this cewntury.
Report this review
Vanessa P. Couples United Kingdom, October 29, 2011
Excellent service

Excellent location
Excellent location for sightseeing - everything within easy reach. Hotel staff very helpful
Report this review
Vanessa P. Couples United Kingdom, October 7, 2011
Just as the guide book said - faded but grand.

Excellent service
Just as the guide book said - a bit faded but obviously very grand in it's day. Excellent service
Report this review
Laura J. Families with older children July 24, 2011
A grand hotel with lots of character

Colonial zone of Lima and Enormous Rooms!
beautiful hotel with rooms with tons of character and space. great location in heart of colonial center of lima. great, firm beds. the catedral de pisco sour is next store. the only problems were you have to be careful at night in this area and its very loud! lots of honking horns all night - not a problem in the interior rooms, but the ones looking over the plaza are fantastic. so bring your earplugs.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: bike tours of lima - is a fantastic tour around coastal lima. super fun for anyone - great to do with kids (9yrs or older). also, loved the parque de agua in central lima. we walked through the parks to get there from gran bolívar. it was spectacular at night- try the labrinto fountain for fun!
Report this review
Mary G. Solo travelers United States of America, June 21, 2011
This old hotel screams of glorious times gone by.

Bidet, huge tub, parquet floors, beautiful furniture, worth closet.
The bottle of cold water arrived quickly to my room with a reasonable fee and a glass. The breakfast was the best I had in Peru. I couldn't find the elevator and wasn't sure if I would have been able to operate it as it was a sticky one. I walked my luggage to the basement by mistake and a willing person helped me. I loved my stay.
Travel tip: My pal had an airport snafu and I arrived late. I was hoping for ann evening tour but missed that opportunity. This downtown address was the best of Lima I'm sure.
Report this review
Previous page 21 - 30 of 139 reviews Next page

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.