or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima

Jr. De La Union 958, Historic Area, Lima, Peru (Show on map)

Book now!

Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel Interior Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Ballroom Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest Room Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Entrance Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Restaurant Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Meeting Room Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest Room Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel Interior Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Ballroom Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Buffet Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Lobby Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Entrance Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Bathroom Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel Interior Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel Interior Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest Room
Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest Room Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel Exterior Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Restaurant Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Restaurant Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel Interior Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Lobby Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest Room Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Restaurant Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Entrance Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel Exterior Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel Interior Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Restaurant
Hotel Area: Historic Area Number of Rooms: 80

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
200 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (200)
Sort by:
Vanessa P. Couples United Kingdom, October 29, 2011
Excellent service

Excellent location
8.7
Excellent location for sightseeing - everything within easy reach. Hotel staff very helpful
Vanessa P. Couples United Kingdom, October 7, 2011
Just as the guide book said - faded but grand.

Excellent service
9
Just as the guide book said - a bit faded but obviously very grand in it's day. Excellent service
Laura J. Families with older children July 24, 2011
A grand hotel with lots of character

Colonial zone of Lima and Enormous Rooms!
9
beautiful hotel with rooms with tons of character and space. great location in heart of colonial center of lima. great, firm beds. the catedral de pisco sour is next store. the only problems were you have to be careful at night in this area and its very loud! lots of honking horns all night - not a problem in the interior rooms, but the ones looking over the plaza are fantastic. so bring your earplugs.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: bike tours of lima - is a fantastic tour around coastal lima. super fun for anyone - great to do with kids (9yrs or older). also, loved the parque de agua in central lima. we walked through the parks to get there from gran bolívar. it was spectacular at night- try the labrinto fountain for fun!
Mary G. Solo travelers United States of America, June 21, 2011
This old hotel screams of glorious times gone by.

Bidet, huge tub, parquet floors, beautiful furniture, worth closet.
9
The bottle of cold water arrived quickly to my room with a reasonable fee and a glass. The breakfast was the best I had in Peru. I couldn't find the elevator and wasn't sure if I would have been able to operate it as it was a sticky one. I walked my luggage to the basement by mistake and a willing person helped me. I loved my stay.
Travel tip: My pal had an airport snafu and I arrived late. I was hoping for ann evening tour but missed that opportunity. This downtown address was the best of Lima I'm sure.
Matthew F. Couples Australia, April 17, 2011
Old Hotel with a lot of charm

Centrally located
6.7
great location, but very much dated furnishings. bed was comfy and hot water plentiful. very noisy at night.
Kim K. Solo travelers Denmark, April 15, 2011
wonderful hotel

Old and charming
9
wonderful hotel from the old days. it is somewhat torn down, but this is part of its charm. room was big with an old fashioned bathroom. there was a balcony with a nice view to the street. breakfast was excelent with eggs on choice.
Therese C. Solo travelers Australia, March 29, 2011
A slice of history

Really a gem
9.7
months later i am still dreaming of the fabulous little breakfast pastries with the caramel filling; along with the silver ware on the table. for this second visit i requested an inside room. the rooms have large windows, no view but absolutely no street noise. really, zero noise. thank you to the wonderful front desk staff; eva , christina and jerusalem for their many tips on enjoying lima. especially eva's food tips.
Delbert E. Couples United States of America, March 25, 2011
classic elegance in great location

A beautiful entrance hall, a rotunda with stain glass dome ceiling
8.3
A classic hotel with a excellent service and excellant location for historic Lima, however past its prime and suffers late-night street noise.
Philip L. Solo travelers United States of America, February 18, 2011
A Faded Beauty

Location, price
7.7
The Grand Bolivar was probably the best hotel in Lima fifty years ago. Today it is a bit run down, but a great place to stay for a night or two. There are no modern comforts like a gym, spa or business center. The rooms are all different, but most have high ceilings, wooden floors and old bathrooms. In the winter it can get cold. Be sure to ask for a space heater if there is not one in your room. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is nice, but it is not a buffet. The location is excellent if you want to stay in the centro. Even if you stay in Miraflores, it is nice to spend one night at the Grand Bolivar to get a feel for old Lima.
Therese C. Solo travelers Australia, February 4, 2011
What an amazing experience!

It’s a (wonderful in my book) going-back-in-time experience
9
What an amazing experience, but don’t book this if you expect 20th or 21st century conveniences. It’s a (wonderful in my book) going-back-in-time experience , but you need to be rather flexible. The lift will probably stop working at times, so it could be a good slog upstairs. The Wifi is wobbly and the phones don’t necessarily work. But it really IS somewhere special to stay. The best thing is that it is staffed with fabulously kind people who always had a smile; even when I stood at the front desk chatting on the phone to a family member (at 6.30am) in my nightwear as my room phone didn’t work. The waiters at breakfast can be gruff, at times. The breakfast is super-simple, as it’s the usual Peruvian breakfast (and I ate the same way in Paris at a 4 star hotel). If you need more to eat then maybe head out for a second breakfast after soaking up the restaurant’s atmosphere. Didn’t see a single bug or piece of dirt; all fittings are highly polished though old. The wood floors were gleaming with wax. The paint on the bath (yes) was peeling, but the hot water was fine. Come for the history, but don’t forget to bring earplugs and a large dose of flexibility.
Hotel Feature Tip: No air-conditioning, just a fan. AND windows which open ( fresh air!) No irons or other appliances ae allowed to be used in rooms. The electrical system is from the 1920’s so using a hairdresser would probably blow the system. When using the TV, I even had to turn off the fan.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel ExteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel InteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - BallroomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest RoomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - EntranceGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - RestaurantGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Meeting RoomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest RoomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel InteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - BallroomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - BuffetGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - LobbyGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - EntranceGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - BathroomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel InteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel InteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest RoomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest RoomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel ExteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - RestaurantGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - RestaurantGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel InteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - LobbyGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest RoomGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - RestaurantGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - EntranceGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel ExteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel InteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - RestaurantGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - RestaurantGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel ExteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Hotel InteriorGran Hotel Bolivar Lima Lima - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3A08