Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences

Jl. Balai Kota No. 1 - North Sumatra, Medan City Center, Medan, Indonesia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on 84 reviews

816 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.5
Groups (84)
Sort by:
Hendra U. Groups Indonesia, April 21, 2016
Great location
5.3
Some of hotel's equipments need improvement, such as sanitary parts.
Report this review
Liza N. Groups Malaysia, March 6, 2016
Nice location, nice breakfast, nice staff
6
Location, staff, room, breakfast and facilities are within expectation. The only that I would like to comment was, the staffs at the reception table did not seem able to cope with guests at the front desk. I notice that there were guests who were complaining about the price and the staff did not know how to explain, guests who were crowding the front desk thus blocking other guest from checking-in or out and staff did not politely ask the guests to give way, staff also did not give clear answer as to how to get a taxi. It really helps if the front desk staff speaks English too. Those were my observation as I was about to check-in and check-out. Otherwise I am very happy with the Grand Aston City Hall Hotel.
Report this review
Nuridah A. Groups Singapore, January 18, 2016
5 ★hotel, 4 ★ lighting

Clean room & bathroom. Fast room service.
7
The hotel still lack the 5★ service during breakfast as it was clearly shortage of manpower. The bedroom lighting was all at the wrong places. No centre lighting only at corners of the room. There should be signs to direct guest from the secluded corridors towards the lift. Its just my suggestion when comparing with other 5 ★ hotels I've stayed in. Hope it helps. Overall I enjoyed my stay.
Report this review
Bin B. Groups Malaysia, January 3, 2016
Poor customer/ room service, comfortable stay

Comfortable bed, grand ballroom for wedding, convenient location
6.3
In overall, I think it was comfortable stay. Yet their customer service was terrible, it is too overrated. We booked for 15 rooms, we waited from 2pm and we were informed that we only allow to check in on 4pm; so we all waited at the lobby. Then the front line staffs told us that the room not ready, not cleaned yet. Only a housekeeper for a floor. We waited until almost 7pm. I have indicated some special request-non smoking room/ twin bed/ early check in, they all fail to meet the requests. The front line lady was so impolite and claim no room available for me based on my request. My rooommate called 3 times for international adaptor, no one came for 2-3 hours. So we went down to get ourself, they asked us to go back and they will get someone to send. The hotel staff gave us a wrong adaptor and never come back again- before he leaving, he still told us I will be back again. I never get the adaptor in these 2 days.
Report this review
Suhendra T. Groups Indonesia, October 11, 2015
Good and bad

Staff friendless inconsistent throughout the hotel experience
6
Average
Report this review
Tunku N. Groups Malaysia, August 24, 2015
Need to have more non-smoking Apartments please.

Location was great.
7
Report this review
Jasminnisa N. Groups Malaysia, July 26, 2015
Pleasant stay

Staff, location, rooms
8.7
Perfect
Report this review
Lucia G. Groups Indonesia, June 29, 2015
an OK stay only

location, room size, prompt service
5.7
Unfortunately, we were put in smoking room since the non smoking room was fully booked. The receptionist advised that there will be non smoking room available the next day, but when we wanted to proceed with the change the room was not available. The AC keeps on and off by itself, not sure why. There was a fly inside our room, so the cleanliness is disappointing for a 5 star hotel. The pool is quite small, breakfast not so great taste wise although wide selections available. Might stay here again since it is not an absolute disaster but definitely not the first choice.
Report this review
Noor A. Groups Malaysia, June 7, 2015
Worth it

Friendly staff,quick services & cleanliness
9.3
Report this review
Chong I. Groups Malaysia, June 1, 2015
Clean, spacious, comfortable

Great location, very polite and attentive staffs, nice hotel
9.7
Great experience
Report this review
1 - 10 of 1135 reviews Next page
Grand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Hotel ExteriorGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - LobbyGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - LobbyGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Demitasse LoungeGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Spoon DiningGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Buffet Spoon DiningGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Spoon DiningGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Spoon DiningGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - D’HeritageGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Rosewood Function RoomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Sandalwood Function RoomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Gaharu Function RoomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Cypress Function RoomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Mahagony Grand BallroomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - BallroomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Tjjuana PoolsideGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - 1 BedroomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - 2 BedroomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Apartment BathroomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Deluxe CornerGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Deluxe BathroomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Premier DeluxeGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Premier Deluxe BathroomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Guest RoomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Guest RoomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Guest RoomGrand Aston City Hall Hotel & Serviced Residences Medan - Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C03