Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand China Hotel

215 Yaowarat Rd., Samphantawong , China Town, Bangkok, Thailand 10100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.5

based on
891 reviews

544 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (891)
Sort by:
Richard L. Couples Australia, February 1, 2013
Good hotel, but nothing fancy.

Great location if you want chinatown.
6.7
we only stayed for one night as we were travelling onto chiang mai the next day. on arrival the reception was attentive and efficient, the bags were looked after quickly and without fuss. the room looked a little tired but was acceptable, and the view was quite good overlooking the river. the restaurant was fully booked when we arrived, but they squeezed us onto a small table which was ok. the meal was good but not as "thai" as we had hoped (more international). the restaurant experience was a little disappointing as we thought that it was a rotating restaurant, so that we could cover the full vista of bangkok whilst eating. the restaurant, at least while we were there, did not rotate. the staff were generally friendly and efficient, but the hotel seemed to us to lack personality, maybe because there was a lot of to-ing and fro-ing around the reception/entrance area much of which did not appear to be caused by guests. internet access in the room is ridiculously expensive, and if you take advantage of the free usage in the reception area it is very slow. if you want to spend the time in bangkok in the chinatown area then this hotel would be fine.
Shopping Tip: Do not accept Tuk-Tuk driver offers of 40 Baht round trips to anywhere, this is a scam that wastes your time (an hour at least)looking and declining goods you don't want and at inflated prices. In addition, the drivers seem to get annoyed when they don't make their commission (so called petrol vouchers)and start to drive recklessly, which encourages you not to take the return trip with him whenever you get to your real destination. There are many of these drivers outside the hotel.
Report this review
Ming Z. Couples United States of America, February 1, 2013
Good and convenient

Location, food, and service
8.3
generally good. location is great, even can walk to grand palace. there three restaurants, the rotating one on the top 25th floor serves good thai food and provides an excellent view of bangkok. service was ok... room is nice but small.
Report this review
Kes G. Couples United Kingdom, January 28, 2013
Uncomfortable

Close to china town
5.7
Very uncomfortable beds and pillows like a bag of rocks
Report this review
Ryan D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 26, 2013
decent hotel, rooms not as smart as expected

decent lobby
6.7
No wifi in my room, ,small pool ,ants in room like most hotels in Thailand, nice rotating restaurant on top, with decent food
Report this review
Nirattisai S. Business travelers Thailand, January 26, 2013
GOOD LOCATION AT YAOWARAT

LOCATION , NICE RECEPTIONIST
8.3
CHECK IN VERY FAST , NICE RECEPTIONIST , GOOD LOCATION NEAR CHINA TOWN YAOWARAT, IF YOU WANT TO VISIT CHINA TOWN , RECOMMEND GRAND CHINA HOTEL
Report this review
Gail C. Couples United Kingdom, January 25, 2013
Service good but rooms are tired

Friendly staff
4.3
Room smelt of cigarettes even though it was a non smoking room.
Report this review
Rosalind P. Families with older children Australia, January 24, 2013
Was four star....

Grand China is in a great location in Chinatown, which is such an interesting place to stay.
7.3
great location and impressive service and lobby downstairs. once upstairs though things are looking a bit tired. our family suite was spacious enough, though the bedrooms were only separated by a passage rather than doors. the interior is very dark so the lights needed to be on in the kids section all the time. we had to call a technician had to come and fix the telly and paint was peeling off the architraves. the hot water wasn't working when we arrived (though the manager said that was a first in his 10 years of service at the hotel) so we didn't get a shower until day 2, and they were then hot and strong. breakfast was great - huge selection to please everyone and the service was very attentive. we felt the price we paid was a bit steep for the state of the room.
Report this review
Leslie P. Solo travelers Canada, January 23, 2013
Great location, but showing some wear

24hr. Check in
6.7
i booked this hotel because it was 24hrs, and my flight arrived at 1am. the location is exceptional-right in chinatown. rooms are clean and spacious, but definitely dated and lacking in character.
Report this review
Lilian C. Business travelers Singapore, January 20, 2013
hotel with flexibility and good service

restaurant
7.3
Excellent location within Chinatown, within walking distance to the wholesale market. I had my room upgraded to a deluxe room, spacious and cozy and neat; ideal for meeting people. Dining at the hotel's restaurant was unforgettable as they serve delicious Peking Duck, grilled jumbo prawns, fried prawn rolls which was great. Except for the poor traffice at times, travelling by tuk-tuk or taxi to various places like Platinum Mall, Siam Paragon is easy. Transport fare was also reasonable. Night scene along the streets was unbelievable as many tourists gathered for awesome food like sharks' fins, seafood and its local delicacies.
Restaurant Tip: Go for the Peking Duck and Grilled Jumbo Prawns - a must try !
Report this review
Nai Y. Business travelers Singapore, January 19, 2013
Big Rooms, a little old

Friendly staffs, speaks English
7.7
Hotel is situated at 1 end of Bangkok China Town. Facing: 1 street of nice hardware/camping equipment shops 1 street of food stalls/restaurants 1 street of mobile phone/ipad accessories wholesales 1 street of children and girls' hair thingy/accessories shops Hotel furnishing is abit old, still clean, checking in/out is abit slow. Free WIFI and PC at lobby. Helpful and friendly staffs, you can explain what you need or want to see/do, they will give you suggestions and hail a taxi for you.
Report this review
Previous page 281 - 290 of 544 reviews Next page
Grand China Hotel BangkokGrand China Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorGrand China Hotel Bangkok - ExteriorGrand China Hotel Bangkok - RestaurantGrand China Hotel Bangkok - RestaurantGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Swimming PoolGrand China Hotel Bangkok - ViewGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Guest RoomGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Princess SuiteGrand China Hotel Bangkok - The BloomGrand China Hotel Bangkok - The BloomGrand China Hotel Bangkok - The Banquet RoomGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Siang Ping Loh Chinese RestaurantGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Siang Ping LohGrand China Hotel Bangkok - The Skyview LoungeGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Sunset at the SkyviewGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Skyview BarGrand China Hotel Bangkok - RestaurantGrand China Hotel Bangkok - RestaurantGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Sky Bar 360Grand China Hotel Bangkok - The PoolsideGrand China Hotel Bangkok - The River ViewGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Lavender SpaGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Lavender SpaGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Lavender SpaGrand China Hotel Bangkok - ShopsGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Grand PalaceGrand China Hotel Bangkok - China TownGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Wat PhoGrand China Hotel Bangkok - Giant Swing


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05