arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 921 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 921 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 7.0

4.7 Sujuan G.
Singapore
February 12, 2013
Old hotel with little charm
Good for those who prefer to stay in Chinatown only
rooms are relatively big with old furnishings. clean pillows, bed linens and towels with walk-in wardrobe. found few ants in toilet everyday even after housekeeping. reception staffs are helpful but speaks limited english. usually one of them can speak mandarin. overall, i found this hotel comfortable but i would not recommend to stay in this hotel as there is no mrt/bts within walking distance and sometimes taxi drivers reject to send us back to this hotel after shopping due to congested traffic around the area.

6.7 Richard L.
Australia
February 09, 2013
Good hotel, but nothing fancy.
Great location if you want chinatown.
we only stayed for one night as we were travelling onto chiang mai the next day. on arrival the reception was attentive and efficient, the bags were looked after quickly and without fuss. the room looked a little tired but was acceptable, and the view was quite good overlooking the river. the restaurant was fully booked when we arrived, but they squeezed us onto a small table which was ok. the meal was good but not as "thai" as we had hoped (more international). the restaurant experience was a little disappointing as we thought that it was a rotating restaurant, so that we could cover the full vista of bangkok whilst eating. the restaurant, at least while we were there, did not rotate. the staff were generally friendly and efficient, but the hotel seemed to us to lack personality, maybe because there was a lot of to-ing and fro-ing around the reception/entrance area much of which did not appear to be caused by guests. internet access in the room is ridiculously expensive, and if you take advantage of the free usage in the reception area it is very slow. if you want to spend the time in bangkok in the chinatown area then this hotel would be fine.

7.7 Kimberley H.
Australia
February 07, 2013
really enjoyed our stay
Proximity to things we wanted to do. Help arranging tours
We really enjoyed our stay at The grand China Hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. Great service from staff at reception desk. Very helpful organizing tours and helping us with transport. We would recommend this hotel to friends and relatives as it represented good value for money and was a great place to stay

5.7 kes G.
United Kingdom
February 07, 2013
Uncomfortable
Close to china town
Very uncomfortable beds and pillows like a bag of rocks

9.7 Blanche O.
Netherlands
February 07, 2013
Great to sleep away jetlag...
Quiet, close to river taxi boat, good eateries nearby.
The Grand China Princess is a lovely hotel within vibrant Chinatown. Clean, quiet and modernised to today’s western standards. Massive flatscreens in your well sized room (smart tv’s so you can play your own films if you brought along your USB and connect your camera to watch your today’s footage of Bangkok), daily clean towels and sheets if you desire, a rooftop restaurant and 360 degrees turning skybar (European prices but good sushi) and an excellent indoor massage service. We arrived (01/02/2013) 2 hours prior to check in time and waited on the rooftop, at the small pool. Nobody was there, it was bliss. Yes, the pool area looks rundown and the toilet (one floor up) gave me the sensation of being part of "the Shining" (remember the film?), but I was not expecting a 5 star deluxe, massive swimming pool on the rooftop of a Chinatown hotel. If you bring along some fresh fruit juice, bought along the street, it’s a great place to relax and unwind from the hustle and bustle downstairs and your tiring flight. Plus, with this view, there’s really no need to go to the windy uptown Sirocco. Together with the enormous rainshower and constant supply of hot water, this hotel, for us, was the perfect stay to sleep away our jetlag. We always love to stay in Chinatown, just because of the good eateries around The corner; try J&K seafood, they''re great!

8.3 MING Z.
United States
February 06, 2013
Good and convenient
Location, food, and service
generally good. location is great, even can walk to grand palace. there three restaurants, the rotating one on the top 25th floor serves good thai food and provides an excellent view of bangkok. service was ok... room is nice but small.

4.3 Gail C.
United Kingdom
February 04, 2013
Service good but rooms are tired
Friendly staff
Room smelt of cigarettes even though it was a non smoking room.

6.7 Leslie P.
Canada
January 28, 2013
Great location, but showing some wear
24hr. Check in
i booked this hotel because it was 24hrs, and my flight arrived at 1am. the location is exceptional-right in chinatown. rooms are clean and spacious, but definitely dated and lacking in character.

7.3 Rosalind P.
Australia
January 27, 2013
Was four star....
Grand China is in a great location in Chinatown, which is such an interesting place to stay.
great location and impressive service and lobby downstairs. once upstairs though things are looking a bit tired. our family suite was spacious enough, though the bedrooms were only separated by a passage rather than doors. the interior is very dark so the lights needed to be on in the kids section all the time. we had to call a technician had to come and fix the telly and paint was peeling off the architraves. the hot water wasn't working when we arrived (though the manager said that was a first in his 10 years of service at the hotel) so we didn't get a shower until day 2, and they were then hot and strong. breakfast was great - huge selection to please everyone and the service was very attentive. we felt the price we paid was a bit steep for the state of the room.

7.3 LILIAN C.
Singapore
January 24, 2013
hotel with flexibility and good service
restaurant
Excellent location within Chinatown, within walking distance to the wholesale market. I had my room upgraded to a deluxe room, spacious and cozy and neat; ideal for meeting people. Dining at the hotel's restaurant was unforgettable as they serve delicious Peking Duck, grilled jumbo prawns, fried prawn rolls which was great. Except for the poor traffice at times, travelling by tuk-tuk or taxi to various places like Platinum Mall, Siam Paragon is easy. Transport fare was also reasonable. Night scene along the streets was unbelievable as many tourists gathered for awesome food like sharks' fins, seafood and its local delicacies.