Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 928 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Harisavan S. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
Outstanding location at the China Town, Bankok
Closing to the shopping area
The location is in the center of Chinatown in Bangkok. The service is nice overwhelming with the Thai smile. The location of the hotel is so interesting, 24 hr. different activities, at the shopping area are full of excellent food. But for travelling in the other side of Bangkok it has to face the big traffic jam, time consuming.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Krystyna R. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2012
good location
but nothing funcy
Excellent location within Chinatown, within walking distance to the wholesale market.room looked a little tired but was acceptable, and the view was quite good ,staff attentive and efficient, the bags were looked after quickly and without fuss. No wi- fi in the room
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Geraldine F. from United States
Groups
Stayed one night in February 2013
Wonderful location for seeing Grand Palace
Location to traditional sites in Bangkok
Wonderful place to stay for an introduction to Bangkok and Thailand.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

FETRY Y. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
ok for the price
The hotel is really nice, good location, nice staff,very clean. the only disapointment was no internet WIFI in the room. If u want to use, will charge.This is a good hotel in chinatown for people who prefers chinese traditions. The rooms are all high floors with either river or city view. The buffet breakfast is good. You cannot go hungry staying here. There are lots of eating places and at nite plenty of roadside stalls sellingg a variety of foods. The only major problem is the bad traffic situation. however, if you dont venture outside this area, it is fine as places of interest are within walking distance.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Kevin R. from Belgium
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013
The hotel of the hotels
Fitness, big and clean rooms, sauna, steambad,...
i like this hotel so much i want to live here, it has everything what you need. swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, fitness, steambad, safe in the room and refrigerator. the food is quite expensive in the hotel, for everything that is not included.. but next to the hotel you can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner - to find internet is more difficult and you need to walk almost to hua lamphung station. the spa is more expensive than elsewhere, but with the discount and quality they provide.. it's no problem to pay this little bit more. -although i have some bad story about the fitness, i called with agoda and the grand china hotel about a accident i had before.. i cannot wear sportshoes because i have plates inside my feet, this was no problem to book and i could use the fitness when i stay there.. the first day i go to the gym and they say i cannot go in, i show my paper, my name and room number and they still didn't want to give me the key for the locker.. so i say i only want to use the steambad that is connected with the fitness, when i got the key i enter the gym without permission.. every day i go back the same story and sometimes for 30minutes i need to leave the gym and it's not allowed to do exercise on slippers or bare feets.. i even cannot use the walking band or steppers, i just do exercise on the machines and weights to train my middle and upper body.. i stayed at the non-smoking floor, but many times i smell smoke of cigarettes and find garbish close to the elevators.. this makes the hotel less attractive - althought the receptionists and cleaners do some perfect work i cannot be satisfied about the personal in the fitness that every day i try to enter, hold me up for 30 minutes. the food in the hotel is very delicious, but 20 times the price than the restaurant 50 meter further that provide the same delicious dish, i see this has a ripp of
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Sujuan G. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Old hotel with little charm
Good for those who prefer to stay in Chinatown only
rooms are relatively big with old furnishings. clean pillows, bed linens and towels with walk-in wardrobe. found few ants in toilet everyday even after housekeeping. reception staffs are helpful but speaks limited english. usually one of them can speak mandarin. overall, i found this hotel comfortable but i would not recommend to stay in this hotel as there is no mrt/bts within walking distance and sometimes taxi drivers reject to send us back to this hotel after shopping due to congested traffic around the area.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Richard L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Good hotel, but nothing fancy.
Great location if you want chinatown.
we only stayed for one night as we were travelling onto chiang mai the next day. on arrival the reception was attentive and efficient, the bags were looked after quickly and without fuss. the room looked a little tired but was acceptable, and the view was quite good overlooking the river. the restaurant was fully booked when we arrived, but they squeezed us onto a small table which was ok. the meal was good but not as "thai" as we had hoped (more international). the restaurant experience was a little disappointing as we thought that it was a rotating restaurant, so that we could cover the full vista of bangkok whilst eating. the restaurant, at least while we were there, did not rotate. the staff were generally friendly and efficient, but the hotel seemed to us to lack personality, maybe because there was a lot of to-ing and fro-ing around the reception/entrance area much of which did not appear to be caused by guests. internet access in the room is ridiculously expensive, and if you take advantage of the free usage in the reception area it is very slow. if you want to spend the time in bangkok in the chinatown area then this hotel would be fine.
Reviewed February 09, 2013

Kimberley H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013
really enjoyed our stay
Proximity to things we wanted to do. Help arranging tours
We really enjoyed our stay at The grand China Hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. Great service from staff at reception desk. Very helpful organizing tours and helping us with transport. We would recommend this hotel to friends and relatives as it represented good value for money and was a great place to stay
Reviewed February 07, 2013

kes G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Uncomfortable
Close to china town
Very uncomfortable beds and pillows like a bag of rocks
Reviewed February 07, 2013

Blanche O. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Great to sleep away jetlag...
Quiet, close to river taxi boat, good eateries nearby.
The Grand China Princess is a lovely hotel within vibrant Chinatown. Clean, quiet and modernised to today’s western standards. Massive flatscreens in your well sized room (smart tv’s so you can play your own films if you brought along your USB and connect your camera to watch your today’s footage of Bangkok), daily clean towels and sheets if you desire, a rooftop restaurant and 360 degrees turning skybar (European prices but good sushi) and an excellent indoor massage service. We arrived (01/02/2013) 2 hours prior to check in time and waited on the rooftop, at the small pool. Nobody was there, it was bliss. Yes, the pool area looks rundown and the toilet (one floor up) gave me the sensation of being part of "the Shining" (remember the film?), but I was not expecting a 5 star deluxe, massive swimming pool on the rooftop of a Chinatown hotel. If you bring along some fresh fruit juice, bought along the street, it’s a great place to relax and unwind from the hustle and bustle downstairs and your tiring flight. Plus, with this view, there’s really no need to go to the windy uptown Sirocco. Together with the enormous rainshower and constant supply of hot water, this hotel, for us, was the perfect stay to sleep away our jetlag. We always love to stay in Chinatown, just because of the good eateries around The corner; try J&K seafood, they''re great!
Reviewed February 07, 2013