My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Hotel - Kathmandu

Near Red Cross Road, Swayambhu, Kathmandu, Nepal 128 (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe Twin Room Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Executive Suite Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Executive Suite Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Executive Suite Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe (King Bed) Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe (King Bed) Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe (King Bed) Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe (2 Single Beds) Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe Twin Room Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Room Amenities Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe Double Room Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Bathroom Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Writing Desk Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Lobby Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Grand Lobby Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Jharna Tea Lounge
Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Rendezvous Coffee Shop Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Rendezvous Coffee Shop Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja Indian Restaurant Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja Terrace Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja Indian Restaurant Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja Terrace Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja Indian Restaurant Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Pub/Lounge Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Diamond Hall Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Diamond Hall (MICE) Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Diamond Hall Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Golden Ballroom
Area: Swayambhu Number of Rooms: 91
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.7

based on
11 reviews

Value for Money
6.5
Location
6.0
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.5
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (11)
Sort by:
Andrew M. Solo travelers United States of America, November 5, 2013
Very spartan but practical hotel

Breakfast included, Indian food lunch buffet, English speaking staff
7
Norwina M. Business travelers Malaysia, October 11, 2013
Worthwhile and woth every cent spend.

Near to my conference hotel which cost twice as much
7.7
Ok. athough breakfast had not much choice. I think I had food poisoning due to stale crossant on my final day there. Otherwise people are friendly.
Sakeilah N. Business travelers Malaysia, May 25, 2013
Overall I enjoyed my trip here.

Staff were friendly, Clean and the Restaurant here was great.
9.7
Shannon B. Couples Australia, November 19, 2012
"nice hotel, a bit out of the way"

chicken curry here is spectacular, comfortable rooms
8
we stayed at this hotel before and after our trekking. Our first room was on the 4th floor, had good facilities...kettle, tea, coffee, water, fruit, good hot water supply. Our return stay was on the 3rd floor, where room exactly the same but no added facilities. Reception did supply kettle when requested, but hot water for shower was poor. I would stay here again but ask for room 411.
Wareef H. Couples Bangladesh, October 28, 2012
Good Hotel with bad reception stuffs

Rooms were nice with good view.
5.3
Food is not very good and overpriced. When I was checking out the reception stuffs demanded that I have to pay them either with cash or credit card for my stay. I tried to to explain that I have booked my room with Agoda.com and already paid with my credit card once. I showed my receipt while checking in also. But the reception stuffs would not let me check out without me paying them once again. I refused and told them that, they need to talk to Agoda since I have already paid once. After lot of confusion and time and several consultation with some other supervisor we were finally able to check out. I had an international flight to catch and we were on a schedule. This delay was totally unnecessary. May be Agoda needs to talk to this hotel management stuffs and fix this.
Wareef H. Couples Bangladesh, October 26, 2012
Service could be better.

Nice lobby, good location, most stuffs except for a few were friendly.
6
I have stayed there twice. The first time the bathroom was smelly with dirty toilet bowl. Several light bulbs were out and inspite of requests not all of them were fixed. While I was checking out I had one request, which is if I could stay till 12:30 PM. After some time the reception stuff reminded me that the check out time is noon and I can not stay an extra 30 minutes. I have stayed at lot of hotels and it had never been a problem. Anyway the recption stuffs were nice when we asked for advice to book vehicles for tripos outside of Kathmandu. They organized some transportation only to find out later that it would have been much cheaper if we had got it ourselves as the reception people takes commissionS. Food is overpriced and takes a lot of time at the restaurant.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Always bergain no matter what. There is no such things as fixed price at any place in Nepal.
Sanjeev D. Business travelers Australia, September 19, 2012
Hotel with good service

Friendly staff
5
Wi-fi is a major problem. The reception is most of the times, was very poor. The quality of the food in the coffee shop and their only restaurant "Maharaja" needs improvement. Even though, the hotel reception promised to provide their car/van for city travel, they were unable to help and provide when I had to go to town.
Shopping Tip: Do vist Thamel - good place to chill out in the evenings and have dinner in one of the funky Italian places.
Sandhya K. Couples Singapore, June 19, 2012
Cosy hotel but more like a 3*

cosy and homely feeling
7
The bed had thin mattress and the towels were thin too. It was more of a 3* hotel. Went there with very low expectations due to the (mostly) bad reviews on tripadvisor. Thank god it was not so bad. Even extended one more night there. Felt home-alike and safe there.
Hotel Feature Tip: There is Himalayan Healers Spa at the basement where service was polite and the massages not too bad, value for money.
Otto R. Couples Austria, November 1, 2012
zu weit weg von der Altstadt

Frühstück ist ok
4.3
Keine 4* die Reinlichkeit lässt sehr zu wünschen übrig, das Personal teilweise nicht geschult. Am Pool nur 2 schmutzige Liegen. würde das hotel nicht weiterempfehlen.
Hotel Feature Tip: Keine
Chidnupong M. Business travelers Thailand, September 21, 2012
โรมแรมหรูสะอาดและสะดวก

โรมแรมดีง่ายต่อการเดินทางไปสถานที่ท่องเที่ยว
10
โรงแรมนี้รู้สึกประทับใจตั้งแต่ก้าวเข้าไปครั้งแรกเพราะเจ้าหน้าที่รีบเดินมาต้อนรับและกล่าวทักทายเหมือนคนรู้จัก พอได้รับกุญแจและเข้าห้องพักก็ยิ่งประทับใจยิ่งขึ้นกับห้องพักที่หรูเครื่องอำนวยความสะดวกพร้อมสรรพ และยังมองเห็นวิวสวยงามมาก
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: สะดวกในการเดินทางไปที่เที่ยวและสนามบิน

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - ExtGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe Twin RoomGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Executive SuiteGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Executive SuiteGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Executive SuiteGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe (King Bed)Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe (King Bed)Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe (King Bed)Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe (2 Single Beds)Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe Twin RoomGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Room AmenitiesGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Deluxe Double RoomGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - BathroomGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Writing DeskGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - LobbyGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Grand LobbyGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Jharna Tea LoungeGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Rendezvous Coffee ShopGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Rendezvous Coffee ShopGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja Indian RestaurantGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja TerraceGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja Indian RestaurantGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja TerraceGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Maharaja Indian RestaurantGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Pub/LoungeGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Diamond HallGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Diamond Hall (MICE)Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Diamond HallGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Golden BallroomGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Swimming PoolGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Garden and Shopping Arcade Grand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Swimming PoolGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Executive Suite DecorationGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - In Room DiningGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Nearby AttractionGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Nearby AttractionGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Nearby AttractionGrand Hotel - Kathmandu Kathmandu - Nearby Attraction

Customer Reviews - Grand Hotel - Kathmandu, Kathmandu

AS-AGWEB-3B04