Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya City Center, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - On site Golf Course Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Golf Course Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Horton Plains Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Tea Estates Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Victoria Garden Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Baker’s Falls Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Race Course Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Gragory Lake Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel Garden View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel Exterior View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel garden View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Garden view Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Room Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Quadruple Room Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Room
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel Garden View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Twin Room Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Indian Restaurant Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Thai Restaurant Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Room Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Wine Bar & Public Bar Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Thai Restaurant Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel Exterior Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Restaurant Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - The Wine Bar - Beverages Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Restaurant Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Restaurant
Area: Nuwara Eliya City Center Number of Rooms: 150

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

from 301 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (301)
Sort by:
Olivier C. Families with older children France, January 3, 2015
Grand hotel rooms

Location, tea room, breakfast. Rooms old fashioned. Bathroom poorly equipped.
8
We enjoyed our stay for 2 nights. Well priced. Superb service. 5* service but 3 * rooms.
Report this review
Xue Z. Couples China, December 23, 2014
Beautiful lobby, small room with hot water

Lobby, restaurant, location
10
Report this review
Sunil A. Families with older children United States of America, December 20, 2014
Review

History Old architecture Gardens
8
Report this review
Robert E. Couples United Kingdom, December 20, 2014
To be sure it was grand at The Grand

Staff. Historic building. Gardens. Breakfasts. Christmas decorations.
9.7
Just perfect. The staff were determined to make sure we were happy and comfortable.
Report this review
Hazel C. Families with older children Singapore, December 10, 2014
Grand English Dame with Beautiful Gardens

1. Architecture - majestic colonial grandeur
9
Report this review
Sunila S. Families with older children United Kingdom, December 6, 2014
Holiday of a life time

Pleasent, comfortable and welcoming
9.3
our brief stay at the hotel fulfilled our expectations. It was a pleasant stay and we look forward to another, longer stay in the near future.
Report this review
Chek S. Couples Maldives, December 4, 2014
Looks great on the outside, run-down inside,...

The garden, the breakfast & I can think of only 2 things, not 3.
6.3
Decent. Nice design outside in line with the NuwaraEliya title of Little England. Garden is very pretty. Great selection at Breakfast. However, the insides of the rooms really look tired. Obviously an internal refurbishment is necessary. The halls are dank and breathing as you walk along it felt like a lung-hazardous (mis-)adventure through an old forgotten library section where the ancient book are shelved. The carpets are stained through its once majestic length. I can only hope that some private equity investor comes in, buys it up and injects new interior comfort. It obviously can survive the debt load given the consistent cash flow from its inertial popularity.
Report this review
Yvette A. Couples United States of America, December 4, 2014
Old, tiny rooms, but good location

Restaurant selections, location, nice grounds
6.7
Pros: nice location by the town, manicured lawns and garden, and variety of restaurant options. Tea lounge was nice as well as the Indian restaurant. Cons: really old tiny rooms, paper thin walls and cramped bathroom. This is suppose to be a 4 star hotel, yet wifi only works in the lobby. Sauna is not free. There is a fee. No robs or slippers, so very basic hotel. I think you're paying for the brand and history of the hotel. Overall it was ok.
Report this review
Samir S. Couples Iraq, November 19, 2014
Disappointing

The Italian restaurant, the historic pictures on the walls and the gardens.
5.7
After a hard day's travel we were really looking forward to a night of comfort. We were disappointed. The hotel is 120 years old, and so was the bed mattress. The TV was not quite as old but close: definitely second generation after the wooden cabinet. One. With a resolution that belongs to museums. The worst thing was the fact that there is no WIFI in the rooms, only in public areas, and i could go on. For the amount of money we paid, in this particular location on the planet, it is a ripoff.
Report this review
Hassan Z. Families with young children Maldives, November 8, 2014
Kind Staffs.Very Help full. Worth for the money.

KInd ness of staffs. Location. Good Food
10
I was very satisfied about the hotel Supper excellent hotel
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Hotel Nuwara EliyaGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - On site Golf CourseGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Golf CourseGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Horton PlainsGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Tea EstatesGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Victoria GardenGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Baker’s FallsGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Race CourseGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Gragory LakeGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel Garden ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel Exterior ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - ExteriorGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel garden ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Garden viewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe RoomGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Quadruple RoomGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe RoomGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel Garden ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Twin RoomGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Indian RestaurantGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Thai RestaurantGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe RoomGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Wine Bar & Public BarGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Thai RestaurantGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel ExteriorGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - RestaurantGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - The Wine Bar - BeveragesGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - RestaurantGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - RestaurantGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting Area


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A06