My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya City Center, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Rooms Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Rooms Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe Rooms Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Lobby Area Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Lobby Area Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting Area Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting Area Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting Area Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Dining Room Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting Area Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - GamesRoom Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior View
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior View Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - View of the Garden Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Golf Course Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - On site Golf Course Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - On site Golf Course Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Victoria Garden Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Tea Estates Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Horton Plains Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Gragory Lake Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Race Course Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Baker’s Falls
Hotel Area: Nuwara Eliya City Center Number of Rooms: 150

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
210 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (210)
Sort by:
Amy J. Couples Australia, July 4, 2013
amazing hotel set in old colonial style splendour

amazing food, friendliest staff, fantastic and award winning garden
10
Loved all about the Grand hotel. The old colonial charm. Well kept and clean hotel. Friendliest staff from bell captain to house keeping, room service to restaurant including gardeners. Amazing and mouth watering food and award winning garden, beautifully manicured and kept. Grand lobby with the piano player in the evening was marvellous. The welcome tea with traditional palm sugar cubes ,memorable. Good size and equipped gym with great opening hours.In short we loved our stay and one of the best hotels we stayed in during our holiday.
Anas M. Families with young children United Arab Emirates, June 30, 2013
OK

location was good
4.3
Nishan B. Groups Sri Lanka, June 23, 2013
Quite ok to stay..

Location,climate,
6
I've informed the front desk that there is a water leaking from the sealing but no one has respond or showed their concern. After spending with this room rate at this hotel, this is the level of service their offering to th guests..
Mark M. Families with young children Sri Lanka, May 26, 2013
Quite disappointed with the food and service

1) Beautiful and well maintained garden 2) Almost in the heart of the city 3) Qiute close to the parks and other places of interest in N'Eliya
5
1) They forgot to offer us a welcome drink 2) Room service took over one and a half hours to deliver our order 3) Food is definitely not five star 4) management and staff definitely aloof and unfriendly
Mikhail E. Couples Russia, May 25, 2013
good

staff, bed, garden
9.7
Sara S. Families with older children Canada, May 1, 2013
Nuwara Eliya - Grand Hotel Review

The sound of birds and water fountains from the room was very relaxing.
7.3
This is a clean and simple hotel. It has a nice little garden and a cute tea shop where you can taste different kinds of teas and even buy a few if you like. Nuwara Eliya is pretty boring and one of the highlights of going there (for us) was the beautiful views and mountains. Unfortunately, from the Grand Hotel, this view is not very visible. If you are going to Nuwara Eliya and will stay at the Grand Hotel, make sure to eat at the little Indian restaurant. It is managed by the hotel, but has a different owner, so it has very reasonable prices and amazing food. We tried the Butter Chicken wich was fenomenal and the Dhal I think which was also very good.
Greg L. Couples Australia, April 19, 2013
elegant luxury

Great location, beautiful hotel, good service
8.7
This was a really good hotel that has been lovingly restored. It is well located and the food is excellent. This appears to be the best hotel in Nuwara Eliya and certainly lives up to its reputation as a "Grand" hotel. There are cheaper places to stay but it is such a treat - like going back in time.
Rodney R. Couples United States of America, April 3, 2013
Relaxing,cordial,historical,well- maintined

Location,historical,well-maintained hotel,friendly staff,comfortable rooms,relaxing atmosphere
9.3
We had a wonderful 2 nights at the Grand hotel. It met all our expectations. We would definitely stay there again. It was on of the highlights of our trip.
Yinan X. Solo travelers China, April 3, 2013
it's an old hotel, but the garden is brillant

environment, piano, garden
6
Jumaan A. Families with young children Saudi Arabia, March 26, 2013
bad experience

None, none, none
4
Lengthy and tedious check in process. Snotty receptionist. Very old and badly maintained building. The hotel management is absolutely not to serve you but after your money, they pretend to be nice with you till you run into a problem with any of them, then all of them will gang against you (vicious). There are various other options in Nuwara Elyia to choose from other than this costly and lousy Grand Hotel. I traveled all around the world, this is the worst hotel management I encountered in my life.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Hotel ExteriorGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe RoomsGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe RoomsGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Deluxe RoomsGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Lobby AreaGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Lobby AreaGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting AreaGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting AreaGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting AreaGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Dining RoomGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Pub Lounge Sitting AreaGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - GamesRoomGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Exterior ViewGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - View of the GardenGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Golf CourseGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - On site Golf CourseGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - On site Golf CourseGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Victoria GardenGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Tea EstatesGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Horton PlainsGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Gragory LakeGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Race CourseGrand Hotel Nuwara Eliya - Baker’s Falls


AS-AGWEB-3C02