or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Oriental Hotel

2 York Street, Colombo World Trade Centre, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Dining Area Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Interior
Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Bathroom
Area: Colombo World Trade Centre Number of Rooms: 80
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.6

based on
207 reviews

Value for Money
6.2
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
6.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (207)
Sort by:
Mathew M. Families with older children India, November 16, 2010
Good hotel with spacious rooms.

Conveniently located at the heart of the city
6
Our stay at Grand Oriental hotel was great. We can recommend it to anybody who wants a spacious accommodation.
Vatchara S. Groups Thailand, November 11, 2010
A living time capsule, but not in a good way

Location, good food, good rate
5.7
It's such a shame to see the state of this hotel, because you can tell that it must have been so amazing and elegant back in the days. It's in a good location and the architecture of the building looks like it was the grand hotel of the city's colonial era. We arrived very late at night and was a bit underwhelmed with our arrival. But entering the room was where the impression of this hotel really went downhill. The furniture and fixtures looked like they hadn't been replaced for the longest time, and the bathroom was rather dingy. The food we had here was surprisingly really delicious though. We tried the local items they had for breakfast and we still think some of it was the best food we had on that whole trip. We would definitely come back and eat in one of their restaurants for dinner if that's what they could do with the breakfast. We booked this hotel because of its location and great rate we got through Agoda. I would advise people to just pay more and stay in a nicer hotel though,
Birshalinder V. Solo travelers Australia, October 29, 2010
Great location and Very good service

Location
8
I really like the stay , if they had a pick up facilty from airport it would have been PERFECT
Bharat S. Solo travelers October 29, 2010
Lovely hotel (Old Style building).

Big rooms, good restaurants/food and city location.
8
Enjoyed my stay, value for money in city centre location. Two restaurants both serving good food at resonable rates. It has pub and night club but I did not visit. Overall big room with king size beds but old furniture.
Matthias O. Couples Germany, October 19, 2010
old romatic historic Hotel

big rooms
4.3
nice old romatic hotel in a busy harbour region of a third world capital
Shopping Tip: 100 m is a big shop with quit cheap but good wood handcrafts
Ddebasish C. Couples India, October 7, 2010
Home away from home

sitting at the harbour restaurant and see the harbour beauty/
9
I have been to this hotel before.I like this hotel because it has a grand view of harbour and moreover the staffs are very polite and helpful.I will be coming to colombo next month and stay here as usual.
Lenka F. Couples Czech Republic, October 4, 2010
GOH

the colonial atmosphere
4.3
This old hotel would need a lot to catch the old times that surround you together with a terrible smell and feeling must everywhere. It was raining through the window into the bathroom, the walls were not only wet and musty but even coloured green. There was a glass window leading from the alighted corridor right into the room really disturbing during the sleep. I could imagine the old times and it had to be wonderful place but now it is time to improve if the hotel wants to welcome guests.
John S. Couples New Zealand, September 14, 2010
Good heritage and solid location

Location, staff, Sri lankan food
7.3
GOH is a good hotel and has some nice heritage touches. The staff werehelpful and we would stay again. Only complaint was that our original room was not in good condition with no towels and water leaked all over the floor after showers. The aircon failed at 2am and we were moved to a much better room, but no apology and nothing to make up firths hassle - would have expected a free breakfast or some compensation.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Don't go to the zoo. Foreigners have to pay 2000 rs compared to 100 for locals. While the zoo is ok, it's not to western standard and certainly not worth the price. This foreigner / local charging discrepancy was a constant annoyance on this trip to Sri Lanka.
Nalini C. Couples United Kingdom, September 13, 2010
OK if you're on a budget

Reasonably central location, clean rooms
5.3
We booked only 2 nights here - I wouldn't stay any longer, rooms are pretty basic and overpriced. Breakfast was poor quality and then we were charged an extortionate amount as it wasn't included in the room rate despite only having a cup of coffee each one morning. Wouldn't recommend.
Debbie K. Solo travelers Australia, September 12, 2010
Faded Grandeur close to commercial centre

The size and ambience of a grand old coloniual hotel, at an affordable rpice
6.7
I was relieved to reach the GOH as all flights seem to arrive at inconvenient times. Unable to check into my room yet I was instandly accosted by staff trying to sell me tours - which I didn't want and as I found out they were relatovely esxpensive. However, having left the building to walk somewhere I was then accosted by someone claiming to be a hotel employee on a break who finangled me into a tuk-tuk with tales of today only temple events - classic scam but I was too tired to resist. Later I discovered some of the regular tuk-tuk drivers outside the hotel were really decent and worth using but I did lose faith early on and as teh GOH is not really well located for walking around Colombo (and its too hot anyway) you really need to eb confident in using the ruk tuks and negotiating prices.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Striking three days of holiday, I went to the zoo which was crowded but fun and a real look at Colombo familes out for the day. But it is ludicrouse for the Government to charge foreigners twenty times local price!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view of hotelGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior viewGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Dining AreaGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BuffetGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BuffetGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Sri Lankan RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Sri Lankan RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Coffee ShopGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel Pub Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Pool FacilitiesGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Nightclub And PubGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - EntranceGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Bar


AS-AGWEB-3C02