or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Oriental Hotel

2 York Street, Colombo World Trade Centre, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Dining Area Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Interior
Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Bathroom
Area: Colombo World Trade Centre Number of Rooms: 80
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.6

based on
213 reviews

Value for Money
6.2
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
6.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (213)
Sort by:
Hui F. Solo travelers Singapore, October 21, 2012
Great service! Wonderful people

Service is top notched.
8.3
The staff here are super attentive and come across genuine. The warmth in their service made me felt very welcomed and I throughly enjoyed my stay. People are friendly, rooms are quite spacious and food was above average. The atmosphere of this hotel makes one feel at home. Will definitely say here again.
Rolf D. Solo travelers Sweden, October 7, 2012
Stylish hotel

Nice, clean and comfortable
7.7
A nice and friendly stay with alert service. Nice, big and well equiped rooms. Right in the centrel part of Colombo very near the Harbor. Its modern and still has a taste of glamour and old fashion.
Salam M. Business travelers Sri Lanka, September 6, 2012
Good

Not Satisfied
5.3
Hotel staff don , t know what is Halal ,in break fast all the food mixed up rhat is pork food also disply together and again said all Halal , we very disappointed about break fast
Shopping Tip: Very disappointed due to the staff knowledge and not important about halall food
Mark A. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 1, 2012
Great Location, shame about the rest....

View of the Harbour
5
The GOH has everything going for it, prime location nestled into the harbour where there is relatively little noise&a stunning facade. What lies inside is a different story. The whole interior needs modernisation, from their signature Harbour view restaurant to the main lobby. What I was most disappointed with was the level of service or lack of should I say. The staff are poorly trained, rude, intrusive(not friendly...there's a difference)&incompetent. An example, upon receiving room service, the boy who came into my room saw my cigarettes&asked for a couple...shocked!For the money, I'd expect at least 4 star standards not the standard of a cheap run down motel or a youth hostel. On the plus side, the young doorman/bellboy was a charming&friendly/funny addition to a badly managed outfit!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: A tuk Tim to Abans is worth seeing, green&peaceful as well as the Victoria lakes. Visit the dutch hospital at night, lively, bright&some great eating places!
Susan M. Groups Australia, August 11, 2012
Lovely hotel after we upgraded to larger room

Good reasonable restaurant in lobby
6.3
Disappointed with room provided but upgraded to larger room which had a harbour view!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Day trip to Galle Fort with driver but be careful to ask if road tolls are included
Jamal I. Couples Singapore, August 11, 2012
stay away at all costs!

It's a historic hotel.
2.7
The lobby certainly looked grand, so I thought it might be ok. I was wrong. They charge about $3USD per hour for Internet when other hotels are giving away free. No pool. The window wall in my room on the 3rd floor was moldy green in some places. The sheets are cheap polyester, the mattress thin and pillows hardly filled with stuffing. The toilet is typically budget hotel but much grimier and dirtier. Breakfast is a pathetic spread that never gets replenished, so if you stay here, come early. If there is one place among the many hotels I have ever stayed in, this one has the distinction of being the worst. There are budget hotels, one star, no star hotels, backpacker motels that give better value than this hotel. My wife and I moved to a different hotel after spending one day at Grand Oriental.
Hotel Feature Tip: Just don't stay here unless you want to stay in a poorly maintained dirty hotel that has less facilities than a budget backpacker motel.
David B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 26, 2012
Close to fort station, otherwise very poor

Firm bed, wireless in room (password sent by text)
3.7
room was small which i didn't mind. bathroom was very tired and not very clean. the room faced onto what seemed an industrial complex. the noise of moving vehicles, what sounded like rubbish being collected went on to the early hours of the morining. one of the noisiest rooms i have ever stayed in. way over priced for the room. i only stayed here as i had an early train to catch. given i got no sleep i may have as well just slept in the station!
Hotel Feature Tip: Wireless Internet arrives by text so watch out for it (dialog)
Shane J. Business travelers Australia, May 4, 2012
Old Bristish Navy Type in 1857

Near the Container Yard /Harbour
7
It is very attractive old British designed Navy hotel and in the past it is in a harbor. But,at present, it is the area of police head quarter and with container yard development.When the time i booked the room and i requested to face the harbor and it was a big mistake. It is because the container yard is operating 24 hours and the noise of the container trailer is running pass the hotel from time to time that make me hardly sleep. The function rooms is commonly rented for the India wedding reception.
Sheryl D. Couples Australia, April 14, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

Close to city, food excellent
6.3
lots of heritage attached to this grand old hotel. large rooms by hotel standards and you can upgrade to one of their two suites. there is no swimming pool and the airconditioning in our room was old and noisy. beds are hard and so are the pillows. bathroom is outdated, but we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. staff are very accommodating and the restaurant food in both dining rooms was wonderful and reasonably priced.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Ensure you catch a metered three wheeled taxi (tuk, tuk)and that the meter is working, otherwise you will pay too much. This is a must do experience. Good shopping at Majestic Plaza and there are lots of jewellery shops at the World Trade Centre.
Willie F. Solo travelers Ireland, April 7, 2012
Good standard service

Fairly central with some very interesting buildings near by.
7.7
I enjoyed the room which is quite spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The only negative was that sometimes the staff presumed they knew what I wanted but didn't. Not sure if this had to do with their training or their level of English.
Shopping Tip: Go to the Laksala which is only a block away from the hotel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view of hotelGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior viewGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Dining AreaGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BuffetGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BuffetGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Sri Lankan RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Sri Lankan RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Coffee ShopGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel Pub Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Pool FacilitiesGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Nightclub And PubGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - EntranceGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour BarGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3C04