Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Oriental Hotel

2 York Street, Colombo World Trade Centre, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - Restaurant
Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine Dining Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine Dining Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Coffee Shop Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Lobby Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet Hall Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Nightclub And Pub Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Lobby
Area: Colombo World Trade Centre Number of Rooms: 80
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.6

from 226 reviews

Value for Money
6.3
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
6.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (226)
Sort by:
Tony B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 2, 2012
Colonial Style Hotel that has seen better days.

Location - right next to the harbour
7
colonial style hotel that has seen better days - but still a pleasant option at these prices. being next to the harbour you get great views of the port and i would recommend having a beer overlooking the harbour. dining is quite expensive - even though the food looks good. the blue leopard 'night club' is an experince and like most of the hotel frequented by indian business men.
Report this review
Shriya G. Groups Australia, December 30, 2011
Nice hotel with spacious rooms.

Big rooms, clean bathrooms, friendly service.
7.7
my friend and i had a pleasant stay at the hotel. it is close to many of the other big hotels in colombo and is walking distance from galle face green. there are lots of foreign exchange dealers closeby. hotel could do with a renovation.
Report this review
Natalia M. Groups Belarus, December 30, 2011
Nice hotel, but dark rooms

Historical place, good location, but not very cozy
6.7
It a confusion at the very beginning as the hotel didn't get our Agoda reservation confirmation. But everything was resolved, personnel is pretty helpful, location is good, but not the best one in the city. I think that the hotel can be more cozy and some renovation is advisable. Aircon was very noisy, so we were not able to use it at night.
Report this review
Chih Y. Couples Afghanistan, December 29, 2011
Hotel with history

Famous brand
6
The hotel was once the best in Colombo 100years ago. I will never stay in this hotel if I have a chance to visit Colombo again as the room was really too old. Only hot water was available in my room. I was free upgraded to a delux room but still was not attracted - sorry
Travel tip: The pastry shop in the lobby is good
Report this review
Timothy L. Couples Australia, December 29, 2011
beautiful grand old hotel

enormous rooms
7.7
This is such a gorgeous, old hotel! The rooms are huge, with a four poster bed and enough room to play football! The hotel is quite old and probably in need of a bit of a touch up - new paint and new furniture would go a long way. We're not fussy, so this didn't bother us at all. For the price and location, i doubt you could do much better. The staff were very helpful, although there were a few small problems with the language barrier. All in all, i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is fairly relaxed about things. If you want a clean, new style of hotel, this isn't for you.
Report this review
David C. Families with young children United Kingdom, December 23, 2011
A piece of colonil history

The history of the place, good view of docks, reasonable location
6.7
Liked the history of the place and the staff were very helpful but the hotel has seen better days and is now a little 'tired'.
Restaurant Tip: A reasonably priced restaurant in the hotel but still not as cheap as eating out at local places
Report this review
Jocelyne W. Couples United Kingdom, December 10, 2011
Dirty and very tired

Large rooms
3.7
Old colonial style hotel, couldn't wait to get out of thete
Report this review
Suresh K. Couples India, December 4, 2011
worst experience

ancient memory
3.7
overall experience with the hotel is far below my expectations .Room service was pathatic I will never stay in this hotel anymore nor reccomend to evem my enemy.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: don't miss the buddha temple & shopping at world of fashion.
Report this review
Florian K. Couples Germany, November 23, 2011
Old hotel, renovation recommended

Good location
6
we stayed in goh for one night and for this it was ok. the rooms are huge, but amenities are sparse. we had a standard room, which had a nice old charm to it, but mainly because it was old and in need of renovation. bathrooms are very small. internet is not for free. the check-out procedure was pretty annoying as you have to go to two counters to get your bill and then the cashier to pay. as there is only one cashier we always had to wait.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Galle Face Hotel. Nice Hotel to have a lunch or just drinks on the lawn right next to the Ocean.
Report this review
Edlin A. Groups Philippines, November 4, 2011
very nice hotel

location, food, and friendly staff
10
we had a pleasant stay, the staff are very friendly and warm, the room with antique fixtures are very spacious and clean. We enjoyed the buffet lunch at Lanka restaurant and the very fabulous italian buffet dinner at the harbour restaurant with a very beautiful view of the colombo port. shopping is nearby and sites, too.
Shopping Tip: tuktuk drivers usually offers their service at 10US dollars per hour, they would usually ask to take you to jewelry stores and offer you 2 US dollars for the trip if you agree to visit this stores, where the items are overpriced and they get 40% commission, we were brought to a jewelry shop at midnight, the salesmen are in their pajamas already, a 6 carat aquamarine was selling at 500US dollars, i was able to buy a 4plus carats in the mall at 85US... see the big difference?
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view of hotelGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Coffee ShopGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Nightclub And PubGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02