Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Oriental Hotel

2 York Street, Colombo World Trade Centre, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Dining Area Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Interior
Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Bathroom
Area: Colombo World Trade Centre Number of Rooms: 80
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.6

based on
209 reviews

Value for Money
6.2
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
6.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (209)
Sort by:
Marina K. Families with older children Russia, April 30, 2011
For this price you can find something more good

Good location
6.3
hotel is realy very old(include bathroom:)). location is really very good.for short trip this hotel is good.but for long term i advice find something more better.
Hotel Feature Tip: For short trip this hotel is good.but for long term i advice find something more better.
Andrew M. Couples United Kingdom, April 28, 2011
Filthy rooms behind a 'Grand' reception area.

The best thing was leaving!
2.3
The Receotion area looked promising. As we were taken up to the 3rd floor our hearts started to sink. Views from windows showed squalor. The room we had was filthy, smelly and noisy. It was almost impossible to use the toilet due to lack of space - if you dared to use it.The floor was greasy and thick with dirt. Windows, walls, shower, furnishings, the same. We could hear everything happening in the room next door through and air vent on the ceiling.When we going to bed I found that my sheets were crumpled, had hairs on, and hadn't been changed.I removed the sheets to find a mattress which defies description. I dressed and went to reception and we were moved to a different room which was marginally better in that the sheets were clean, the bathroom a little bigger and quiet but it was far from clean. The hotel claims to be one of the oldest in Colombo - I don't think it has been cleaned properly since it was built.
Hotel Feature Tip: don't go there - certainly not in a 'standard' room. filthy
Katy N. Couples United Kingdom, April 24, 2011
Vey bad experience

proximity to the train station
4.3
this was the most expensive of all the hotels we stayed in while visiting sri lanka and was unfortunately the worst. the staff were unpleasant- very unwelcoming. room was small with no towels or hot water- when the staff were informed of this nothing was done. i would not recommend this hotel.
Thomas P. Families with older children Ireland, April 13, 2011
Basic Hotel in ok location

Near Street Markets
5
Dishes left in the corridors for 2 days; not impressed.
Aji K. Business travelers India, April 10, 2011
Poor service

Hotel is located in port area
3
it is not a good hotel .Rooms are smaal and old ,
Con K. Families with young children Australia, March 29, 2011
Very good hotel with staff that tried hard

The hotel is very quaint, tall ceilings in the room and quite comfortable, very clean and had a great view of the container harbour
7.7
Overall very comfortable hotel with staff that tried hard to provide good service. The staff were all friendly and spoke English very well.
Travel tip: As with old hotels, there are noises, echoes etc. The air conditioning was loud at night for those that are light sleepers.
Sanjiv K. Solo travelers India, March 29, 2011
Great Location

Friendly staff
7.7
Nice cosy property,rooms are well done & all things function well. Friendly staff. Rooms price should include breakfast.
Shamundiswari G. Solo travelers Singapore, March 18, 2011
Nice hotel and service with a smile

Comfortable rooms
7
Centrally located, the hotel is close to the City Centre, making it easy for tourists to get around. Rooms where spacious and comfortable, although there where some minor issues i.e: thin walls allow you to overhear your neighbours and water presure in the shower is weak. For the price, it was quite surprising that breakfast wasn't included as well. Internet connection in the business centre was also lagging.We had to frequently request front desk staff to assist.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Centrally located near the main shopping districts
Mohamed A. Business travelers Singapore, March 6, 2011
Good location but the aircon need to be change

The view was nice
8.7
The room aircon need to be change its like the olden days type
Frederico B. Business travelers Portugal, March 5, 2011
The hotel is big, the rooms are ugly and old

The hotel has a large historical component
5
The hotel is a historic building is very big, the rooms are ugly and old.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view of hotelGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior viewGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Dining AreaGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BuffetGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BuffetGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Sri Lankan RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Sri Lankan RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Coffee ShopGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel Pub Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Pool FacilitiesGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Nightclub And PubGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - EntranceGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Bar


AS-AGWEB-3B01