or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Oriental Hotel

2 York Street, Colombo World Trade Centre, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Dining Area Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Interior
Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Interior Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Bathroom Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Bathroom
Area: Colombo World Trade Centre Number of Rooms: 80
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.6

based on
207 reviews

Value for Money
6.2
Location
7.6
Staff Performance
6.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (207)
Sort by:
Rama S. Business travelers India, February 11, 2011
Service typical of Sri Lankan Hospitality

Friendly staff who make you feel at home
9.3
I would recommend this hotel to those who want a safe and quiet place in Colombo. For those who want a bit of fun and nightlife, you can always find something interesting around. Overall, I enjoyed the stay there.
Hotel Feature Tip: The hotel serves authentica Sri Lankan cuisine that should not be missed
Yuanyue G. Solo travelers China, February 6, 2011
Hotel with a strong sense of history, good service

good service
7.3
the hotel is in an old building, facility is not that well maintained, standard bed is smaller than normal size, but the service is great!
Shopping Tip: take the tuk-tuk from hotel to odel shopping mall to buy some souvenirs. It will cost you around 200 rps and 10 minutes.
Chris M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 5, 2011
Good location and nice exterior

Smiling staff, but very useless
3.7
The hotel looks well maintained from the outside. In the morning they decided to fix the opposite room door at 7am!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Close to the Train station
Amy L. Groups February 3, 2011
Very convenient location for the train station

clean and comfortable, very close to Colombo Fort train station
7.7
We used it as a base as we flew in very early in the morning and wanted to get on the train to Kandy that day. It is a bit of a time wharp, it feels like it was once a very grand colonial hotel.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It is walkable to the train station and the Pettah market.
Trenton N. Solo travelers United States of America, February 1, 2011
nice exterior

the hotel itself looked nice.
4
OK, First, I want to say this. I'm not a spoiled American, and I'm the kind of person that is content as long as a I have a clean bed and a decent hot shower. As I mentioned before in another hotel review, the country of Sri Lanka is very poor and their facilities and hotels are not the greatest. If you are not willing to spend top dollar to stay at the 5-star hotels, don't expect anything great. I came to this hotel expecting it to be quite fancy due to the price. I think the only thing fancy about it was the exterior of the hotel, and the history of the hotel. It's location is kind of in a sketchy area, especially at night. It's about 15-20 min. walk to the train station. The bed, shower, and bathroom I'll admit was decent and I have no complaints. There was a television that caught a few English channels. The workers were not the friendliest people, especially the front desk. They always seemed grouchy and irritated. I seen a few rats running around the hotel and even the Sri Lanka squirrel. No, that was not a joke.
Hotel Feature Tip: The restaurant has a dress code, men have to wear pants. I went to Sri Lanka not expecting to ever wear pants, so just be aware of that.
Katherine R. Couples Australia, December 31, 2010
Old Hotel seen better days.

View of the port while having breakfast was interesting.
4.7
The hotel is not all that central. The room was very dingy, light streaming in from a window above the door all night, along with open windows, no curtains!
Shopping Tip: Barefoot in Galle Road is a great shop and well worth a visit. Has a bit of everything and a great cafe/bar out the back.
Sateesh D. Couples India, December 31, 2010
lovely hotel but bad service, very slow!!

the traditional beauty
3
Air conditioner was too cold and single directional. Poor quality of beds!! No coffee and tea makers in room?and slwo service of the tea and coffee.reached us cold!!!
Hotel Feature Tip: Avoid if u can!!!
Kathryn D. Groups Australia, December 30, 2010
Good location

Good service, nice buffet breakfast
6.7
Overall it was a good hotel if you are stopping overnight or short stay. As there were three of us we were given the standard room and they were basic. I would definietly opt for the deluxe for only more. Staff were very friendly. Good location near the Port and a short ride to the shopping area.
Mihajlo M. Groups Croatia, December 30, 2010
Shabby former grandeur

Location
3.7
We stayed for only a few hours because we had to get to the airport by 2am.The hotel needs a complete make over and it's too expensive for the level of comfort it offers.We did not use many facilities due to a very short stay and did not have breakfast there. The staff at the travel counter where we booked a taxi were very helpful. We would definitely choose another place next time.
Mariana K. Couples Portugal, December 29, 2010
Dated and Overpriced

Location
5.7
We were backpacking around Sri Lanka and then Thailand. This was our first stop so booked in advance because we arrived in the early hours of the morning. Our room was dated, but fairly clean, however we were unable to sleep for a couple of hours due to somebody banging near our room. Having stayed in several hotels on our trip I can say that better value can be found elsewhere.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior view of hotelGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Exterior viewGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room Dining AreaGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Standard Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Deluxe Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Suite Room BathroomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Room - Restaurant Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Fine DiningGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BuffetGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - BuffetGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Sri Lankan RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Sri Lankan RestaurantGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Coffee ShopGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel Pub Grand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Pool FacilitiesGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Banquet HallGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Meeting RoomGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Hotel InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Nightclub And PubGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - EntranceGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - InteriorGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - LobbyGrand Oriental Hotel Colombo - Harbour Bar


AS-AGWEB-3B03