Back to hotel info

Good 6.7
Based on 255 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 255 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.3
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.8
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 6.3
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Stephen M.
United States
January 09, 2016
An old hotel that needs improvement
This is only a 3 star hotel if you take into account its storied history. It is a hotel from the 1800's, and sadly, it shows in many areas. The room was very small. The TV was an old tube type (maybe 15 years old?). The tile floors were not clean. Bathroom was cramped, but the shower was decent sized. No cold water from the tap - hot only, but only when you turned on the switch to get hot water. The cold water tap didn't work at all. The floor in restaurant flexed every time waiter walked by - it disturbed my chair seriously - trying to figure out which shaker was pepper - on my table they were both salt! Shows Lack of attention to detail. - TV remote doesn't work well; an an old tube TV Hotel was built in 1800's - really showing its age. Room was small, plain and stark - not visually appealing at all - wood stairs were nice and well maintained elevators old and in need of some TLC - restaurant had a nautical motif - view of the harbor was interesting ; wait staff wore sailor uniforms - made to order omelette was tasty, but only choices for ingredients were chopped onions, tomatoes spicy green chiles and shredded cheese - decent selection of veggie and non-veggie entrees - buffet breakfast cost 1250 rupees - towels were thin by western standards - towels only - nothing remotely resembling a wash cloth sized option I would rate the room at 1.5 stars. This is a hotel in need of some work by the owners and managed. Overpriced for what it delivers.

Ah L.
Singapore
December 10, 2015
Good but basic facilities. Staff is very good.
Food, staff and location
No problem.

jasmine T.
Singapore
December 07, 2015
N
Architectural history.

John F.
United States
September 07, 2015
Faded glory
Staff was highly responsive, terrific breakfast with stunning view, you can feel the pride of its history
I hope I look this good at 180! Yes it's worn- but it's well worn and the staff is sincere and seem to have a genuine pride. Maybe it's just their natural Sri Lankan pleasantness? If your budget allows, definitely splurge on a deluxe room. They are exponentially better.

Uruj P.
United States
August 21, 2015
Beautiful historic landmark
History, service, location
We had an absolutely lovely stay here. We were in the Anton Chekhov suite. There's so much history and beauty in the hotel furniture, building, and neighborhood. It's a gorgeous place. The breakfast was delicious with a view of the harbor.

Yuki K.
Japan
July 20, 2015
decent hotel for a short stay
value for money, walking distance to train stations, decent rooms
There were not many places to eat around the hotel. The hotel restaurant has a dress code of not accepting customers in shorts so be aware of this! Pleasant hotel but a little run down. There was a guy who started speaking to us who claimed to be working for the hotel, he kept talking and bothering us while we tried to find somewhere to eat, and in the end we had to pay tip so that he would leave us alone. I know this is common in Colombo and it is not the hotel's fault but it wasn't a very nice experience.

Ju D.
South Korea
May 30, 2015
Too old to enjoy
Just antique style outlook only. Nothing around hotel to spend time. Overall facility is too old to make clean.
Could not sleep due to mosquitto and noise from air conditioner. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Kongkij V.
Thailand
April 20, 2015
Good location
Good location, not expensive, strong WIFI
Not so far from train station and bus station. Price of foods in restuarant is not expensive. Have no fitness and swimming pool. Strong WIFI.

Shari B.
Canada
March 15, 2015
old world charm
Historical; quaint; quiet
Pleasant

Frank W.
Sri Lanka
March 08, 2015
Disappointing
Location, food, size of room
There was a wide choice of food available (both Eastern and Western cuisine). When I arrived at the hotel with a print out of my reservation, the single room which I had booked was not available. It appears that they had allocated my reserved room to someone else. At this point, I stood in the reception while 4 people spent 20 minutes struggling to check me in. Eventually they gave me a double room (at no extra cost) since the single room I reserved was not available. The most disappointing was the attitude of one of the staff members - who kept pestering for for 100 rupees so he could go and buy a drink! I note that I have left it quite late to write this review and I hope that since this happened their staff have been trained properly.