Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Sakura Hotel

Jl. Prof. Mohammad Yamin 41 M, Medan City Center, Medan, Indonesia 20234 (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Guest Room Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Lobby Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Lobby Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Interior Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Interior Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Interior Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Interior Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Interior Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Guest Room Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant
Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Interior Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Lobby Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Restaurant Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Lobby Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Meeting Room Grand Sakura Hotel Medan - Interior
Area: Medan City Center Number of Rooms: 120
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
1137 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.0
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (1137)
Sort by:
Cameron M. Solo travelers Canada, December 11, 2012
Clean and comfortable rooms

very clean
8.7
Had a refurbished room, which was spotless and with all new furnishings. The only downside was that there was no wifi signal as it was in an isolated corner. Locals say the Sakura was once a bit shady, but has reinvented itself as a more luxurious, professional and family-friendly outfit to merit its "Grand" title. Watch for deep discounts that make the rooms an exceptional value.
Shopping Tip: Changing US dollars at banks in Medan can be a nightmare. After careful inspection, the teller will declare most bills void due to offenses such as a crinkle, slight discoloration, or folded corner tip. Bills must be 2006 or later and in absolute mint condition. Private moneychangers are more flexible.
Djunaedy -. Business travelers Indonesia, December 11, 2012
great location

price is cheap
8
Breakfast is good, location is also good. Will consider staying again on my next visit.
Cameron M. Solo travelers Canada, December 10, 2012
A clean and reliable mid-range option

clean rooms, good sleep
7.7
The recently refurbished rooms are clean and nicely appointed, but don't expect balconies or views. The furnishings are new, their tile floors clean, and the clean bathrooms have elegant marble bathroom counters and walk-in showers. The staff were friendly, but need better training. The phone in my room was not working, and when I reported this to the girl at the front desk I was met with a patronizing dismissal that the phone worked fine and I simply didn't know how to use it. When I brought it up with another staff the next day, she said the phones hadn't worked on most of the floor for days and some guests had been given the option of changing rooms. Free wifi is available in the rooms, but the annoying login screen - which appears every 5-10 seconds when the signal is low - made it practically unusable. Had another room with a good signal where this was less of a problem. Some reviews had mentioned the monotony of the breakfast and absence of any Western options. Agreed, but the small buffet itself is tasty. The restaurant food is generally quite good but the dining area is nothing special and there is no bar in the hotel.
Hotel Feature Tip: Rooms here are an excellent value if you get them on sale. But ongoing refurbishment, at least on the fourth floor, means some rooms get loud construction noise starting around 10 am.
Dimas K. Families with young children Indonesia, December 9, 2012
Friendly staf and spacious Room

Friendly staf and spacious Room
8.3
We arrived late at night at 1AM and very tired due to our flight got delayed. But we are welcomed by friendly and responsive receptionist. We got our room immediately and the room was spacious and clean. Location is not perfect but still okay since Medan is not that big Anyway and trafiic is light. We had no problem With the breaksfast.
Bhaskar G. Couples Malaysia, December 9, 2012
Spacious yet reasonably priced

Food covers all walk of like interest
6
Been traveling thru out year and finally found a place that suits my need, interest and money worth stay. Talk about Medan, feel and experience Grand Sakura Hotel's hospitality.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Grand Sakura Hotel located at the heart of Medan where one could easily access to attraction places, shopping as well as tasty food. Don't miss it!
Nurzati N. Couples Malaysia, December 9, 2012
Worth the Money

Cheap
7.3
The hotel have good inviting staff, (just some of them can't understand English). The only comment I would like to share is the breakfast. They only serve rice and noodle and almost like lunch. Of course, the serve bread, but they seem not to top it up. I read one review for this hotel saying there's is a leaking under the bed...guess what? Happened to my room too! So bizarre. The only thing I would like to emphasize here is,the pictures of the rooms in the website is absolutely different than the real ones.
Muhammad R. Business travelers Pakistan, December 8, 2012
Excellent Hotel

Standard operating procedures+Internet via wifi+ trained staff
8.3
I stayed for 2 days, and enjoyed my stayed there. The breakfast was included and it was also worth mentioning.
Restaurant Tip: A very fine bakery new the hotel.
Malcolm M. Solo travelers New Zealand, December 8, 2012
Excellent hotel, excellent room.

Large clean room and not noisy.
8.7
I enjoyed my brief stay in the Grand Sakura. Initially I thought it may have been better to book a hotel nearer to the airport but the superior quality of the room and the efficient politeness of the staff outweighed that. A bonus was the live music in the lounge, which was very good indeed. Although the lounge could have done with more couches and comfortable seating. In all a good choice, and the price was great value.
Belle S. Business travelers Singapore, December 7, 2012
Great Locaion and price!

Accessible location, rooms are clean and decent size. Price very afforabe.
8.3
The hotel located conveniently for a business traveler. Rooms are clean, good size and the price was extremely afforable. Customer service are excellent, they are very helpful. Overall, my business stay was good.
Norshima Z. Families with young children Malaysia, December 7, 2012
Good value for money

friendly staff, close to city centre, good restaurants nearby
8
Very pleasant stay, the hotel staff were very helpful and it was easy to go anywhere as they provide transportation (with a affordable cheap payment)

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Sakura Hotel MedanGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - Guest RoomGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - LobbyGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - LobbyGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - InteriorGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - InteriorGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - InteriorGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - InteriorGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - InteriorGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - Guest RoomGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - InteriorGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - LobbyGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - RestaurantGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - LobbyGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - Meeting RoomGrand Sakura Hotel Medan - Interior

Customer Reviews - Grand Sakura Hotel, Medan

AS-AGWEB-3C05