My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Grand Sunset Hotel

Karon Beach Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Exterior Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Reception Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Reception Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Reception Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Reception Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Reception Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Reception Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Reception Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Restaurant
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Exterior Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool
Area: Karon Number of Rooms: 54
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
498 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (498)
Sort by:
James B. Families with older children United States of America, December 13, 2012
A bit out of the way, just like we prefer

Pool, helpful staff
8
When we arrived, there was only one bed, needed two and was upgraded, for a minimal fee. Loved the rooms.
Sabrina W. Couples Singapore, December 13, 2012
Great place to stay in Karon

Easy access to beach, friendly staff, close to amenities yet quiet enough for a good night rest.
8.7
Margaret S. Couples Australia, December 5, 2012
Great place to stay

Short walk to town & across the road from the beach. Great buffet breakfast. Great staff.
9.3
Hard but comfortable beds. Nice bathroom. Plenty of room to store clothes and suitcases. Staff very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast had lots of cold and hot choices and hot dishes changed every day, with eggs cooked to order. Nice pool on top of building with view to beach & surrounding areas - lots of lounges plus 3 shaded ones for people who can't stay in sun too long. Lovely beach short walk down driveway & across the road. Centre of town about 10 minute walk past cafes and markets. Only negative was that roof over breakfast area leaked in heavy rain so tables had to be moved round and tiles got slippery. No doubt will be fixed soon.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Shop around for your day trip to islands. Costs vary enormously. We went on a large speedboat to see where "The Beach" was filmed + a few other stops. Windows were too high to see out of unless you stood on the seats round the sides. It was too crowded to move around so we didn't see anything much until we got off the boat. The short time we spent at each stop wasn't long enough to explore anything but the incredibly crowded beach areas with boats lined up one after the other - very disappointing. Only opportunity to swim was 10 minutes snorkel time over the side of the boat and then 1 hour at our last stop, however there was only 1 small place amongst rocks to swim plus in between the moored boats. Had to hire a beach lounge or sit in hot sun. Would try going on a small speedboat if we ever did it again but no getting away from overcrowding in peak season.
Martin S. Couples Czech Republic, November 29, 2012
Normal hotel in busy place

Clean hotel with kind staff
8
The hotel is clean and modern but a litle bit noisy.Our room was clean. There is nice big rooftop pool and rooftop restaurant. Beach is about 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Meal was tasty combination of thai and european cuisine in hotel restaurant.
Mark C. Couples United States of America, November 20, 2012
Large room and good value for area.

large room, clean, pool
5.7
Our stay here was pleasant and without problems of any kind.
Manali C. Couples India, November 8, 2012
Great location,value for money. maintenance Issues

Location. Service. Value for money.
7.7
Pros: Location. It is bang opposite Karon beach. You just need to cross the road. Though there are no sea facing rooms. Note that you cannot walk to patong, you need a ride. Rooms on one side of the bldg have a complete greenery view. You would have to request this in advance. The rooms are good as compared to the price you pay. Cons: You cannot walk to Patong. So you would need a ride if you want to get some action, night life. There are restaurants in Karon, but u can find much better and slightly cheaper variety in Patong. This was my second stay at this hotel. First time it was a great experience. It was very new then. But now I can see there are Maintenance Issues. The bathroom floor was not very clean. Though the toilet was very clean. The bed side platform had big stains. Though, I should mention that the bedsheets and towels were absolutely clean and fresh. The staff helps wherever possible, but I have a feeling they are not really bothered if the guest is facing any issues. We found 2 INSECTS in our breakfast. I understand that veggies are prone to have worms, but that does not mean they are not to be cleaned. When we informed about the insects in our food, the waitress informed the staff at reception, and that was the end of story. No one got back to us, neither was there any apology. A one work sorry was fine. But nothing. While checking out, we mentioned about our experience again. The charge for breakfast for one person was waived off, again without a sorry, or any concern. Still I would recommend this hotel as I think their Deluxe room for SGD 50 to 80 bucks is value for money. However I also believe that it is not difficult for the staff to improve the maintenance in the bathrooms and to show a little more concern to any issues faced by guests.
Hotel Feature Tip: Request in advance for a room facing the green side. Hill facing rooms.
Pui L. Couples Hong Kong, November 7, 2012
A modern hotel with helpful staff

Nice view swimming pool
8.7
It is our first time to stay in this hotel, this is a new hotel with modern decoration. Suggest couples to stay in grand deluxe room with garden view coz it is more spacy than the deluxe room. It is just that since we checked in very late, we can't get a garden view room, the city view room is noy quite nice. Though the swimming pool is small but you can get a stunning of the beach when vist at day time, especially with beautiful sunlight. Staff are all helpful speaking fluent English. The welcome drink when we checked is nice, especially after your long flight.
Travel tip: A few restaurant nearby so that you don't need to travel to have just a meal. Karon beach is just cross the road, u can change your swimsuit and walk to the beach.
Kin K. Couples Malaysia, November 5, 2012
Quiet Place

Next to Karon Beach
8.3
Generally the hotel is newly open and very near to the Karon Beach, 3 mins walking distance. The beach is clean, quiet and less people. The staff is helpful and friendly, they even find us an adaptor. However, Karon Beach is away from happening place like Patong Beach which has Jungceylon Shopping Mall. The taxi charge is 300B for a ride from Karon Beach to Jungceylon Shopping Mall at Patong. If you have more people to share, that would be cheap for each person. Basically, the transportation is quite expensive. Some hotels do provide free shuttle services to town. If you want to travel to Phuket Town for a walk, take the blue colour bus with only 60B for 30 mins journey but pls remember the last bus will be 4.30pm-5.30pm. The taxi fares from Phuket Town to Karon Beach is around 500B-550B.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Go to Patong Beach if you love night life and happening places.
Steven P. Couples Malaysia, October 29, 2012
Pleasant stay with helpful staff

Great staff with pros advice
8
Agoda should have pic out those different type of room , example the deluxe , grand deluxe n suite pic, we did a check in on deluxe room , but happens to saw the grand deluxe by surprise of housekeeper , we did a upgrade to grand deluxe , staff pro advice on facilities n given special promos rate for upgrading ,.. Is a fantastic stay ,... Grand sunset i will highly intro for easy access karon beach boutique hotel ,.. Cheers
Katherine L. Couples Singapore, October 29, 2012
Beautiful rooms, staff and pool

Apartment style room
9.7
It was a memorable stay, with great service, clean and new rooms and a beautiful beach just across the street.
Shopping Tip: Shopping is expensive as compared to town or even Patong. Try to do your shopping in areas not near to the beach.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Grand Sunset Hotel PhuketGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ExteriorGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ReceptionGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - RestaurantGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ReceptionGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ReceptionGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ReceptionGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ReceptionGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ReceptionGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ReceptionGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - RestaurantGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - RestaurantGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - RestaurantGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - RestaurantGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - RestaurantGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - RestaurantGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - ExteriorGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolGrand Sunset Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool

Customer Reviews - Grand Sunset Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3A02