Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2523 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.7

ARTHUR I.
United States
December 08, 2011
very good hotel but definitely not 5 stars
no nonsense hotel, cozy room but a bit small, food was ok, staff was ok, but little english, and price is just right
i stayed with my whole family and though the room was small we just made it work, it was not a 5 star hotel, i would say three stars, but it was a no nonsense hotel, and with the prices of hotels in the area it was the best priced one i could find, i would stay here again next simply because it suited my needs....but if you are looking for a fancier one you wont find it here....

ANG L.
Singapore
December 07, 2011
Great value and great service
Great service
COndition of the room was nice with free breakfast. If the stay is in the suite, free welcome drink and dinner is also provided at the lobby lounge plus a free limousine one-way transfer also awaits you on the day that you check out.

Eric R.
Canada
December 07, 2011
Great location next to the Galaxy!
Location, clean rooms, helpful staff
The Grand Waldo is just down the street from the Galaxy and a short cab ride away from the Venetian. The hotel has a casino but it is rather dated. The breakfast buffet was not very good and did not reflect the hotel's star rating.

Ira P.
Philippines
December 06, 2011
Beautiful hotel at a decent price
excellent location, nice rooms
the grand waldo is a growing hotel in the attraction filled and tourist spots in macau. within walking distance from large hotel casinos and world class attractions at the galaxy, venetian, city of dreams, hard rock hotel. very short ride from other attractions such as the senado square and ruins. while its selection of dining establishments is limited, food hunting was easily solved by the proximity of large hotel casinos such as the galaxy.

chun C.
Hong Kong
December 06, 2011
Remote but acceptable for families
No gamblers hanging around
The staff in hotel lack initiative, the reception was horrible, the room was acceptable. But hotel lack good staff. Buffet breakfast n lunch lack imagination. Shuttle bus to places was lousy as timing was too far apart. This hotel seems very badly managed n runned by the staff.

Christian N.
Sweden
December 05, 2011
Ok hotel with a nice view
Very close to Galaxy
the rooms where ok, the view was nice, breakfast was good. but the casino was small and boring, but the galaxy casino is just across the road.

Rosemarie Y.
Philippines
December 05, 2011
Size of room is average for 2 occupants
Suprise freebies such as free dinner on our first night and free limousine service on our last day
Over-all, we had a satisfied stay and the buffet breakfast was great

Ng P.
Singapore
December 05, 2011
Nice location
Near Cotai Strip
both my wife and me enjoy our stay at gw. i had been to macau before, gw in our opinion was value for money. the shuttle bus was great. the house-keeper was of great help by providing info about macau and the weather.

Shazeen M.
Singapore
December 01, 2011
Decent hotel but poor dining options
Close to the airport, clean rooms
we arrived from the airport at 9am and we couldn’t get our rooms until 12noon so we headed to the breakfast buffet. the food was disappointing - oily and unappetizing - and there weren't a variety of other dining options. rooms were big and clean with an excellent shower. the hotel is walking distance to galaxy and the venetian. it was difficult to get a cab when we checked out and the hotel staff were not very helpful.

Tanja V.
Australia
December 01, 2011
lovely hotel
rooms were great. superior suite had a great veiw and it was very big and modern
i stayed 7 nights at the grand waldo hotel and it was a great experience. the room exceeded my expectations and had a great veiw of the river and mountains. the staff were very friendly and i didn't find the language barrier to be an issue as it had been in some hotels in macau during my previous visits. the breakfast buffet was okay and the complimentary dinner seemed to be the same everynight (i ate there twice). there is a fantastic little chinese resturant on the 1st floor opposite the grand waldo resturant that does amazing chinese food and sooo cheap (35hkd for a main), dont even bother ordering roomservice as it doesn't even come close to comparing with this place! best food i've had in macau! location wise its quite far away from the casino strip but as there is a shuttle bus from the hotel that takes you to the macau ferry the whole trip takes about 15mins which really wasn't a big deal for me, catching a taxi back to the grand waldo costs about if your staying later then the hotel shuttles run. overall i had a fantastic time at the grand waldo and would highly recommend it.