Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2523 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

LILIAN L. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2011
Great location near Galaxy resort
Walking distance to Galaxy
We loved the location of Grand Waldo Hotel, we could walk from Galaxy casino to hotel in five minutes. Free buffet breakfast in western and oriental style, but food quality was not so good. Room was small but tidy with both bath tub and shower. Overall service was good, unbeatable room rates.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Carlos V. from Colombia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2011
Good Service, Close to main Hotels
Good Service, Good Location, Clean Hotel
The service in general terms it is good (Good Value for Money). The elevators have a cigarrete smell once in a while that should be taken care of. The breakfast buffet could be improved.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

barry T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011
Excellent Hotel,great value for money
Lovely rooms,good position
The Hotel was excellent value for money.Good rooms and facilities including pool and generally good service. Only drawback was lack of English spoken but everyone tried hard. Concierge desk was very helpful and free shuttle to the ferries.Restaurant was excellent for breakfast but other meals were a bit restricted unless you liked Chinese food.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Wai L. from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Stayed one night in June 2011
Average Service, Clean Room
Nice location, quite and they have great breakfast buffet
I like their buffet! But the service wasn't that good. At first, I have request to have an extra slipper, I waited for a whole night but nobody delivered. For the buffet, we went there the other night for dinner. We have reserved a table for 6 adults and 1 child and paid over the internet. They missed the 1 child and tried to serve us on a table that can only fit 6 and have 1 child set at the end of the table. We refused to sit there and we saw a rounded sofa table on the way so we requested it. The manager was so impolite and claim that table is for reserved only. We reserved our table too....they are rude.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Kevin L. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
Quiet hotel in Cotai, close to Galaxy hotel
new Galaxy hotel is just across the street
If you're looking to save money and enjoy the new Galaxy hotel's dining, entertainment and casino offerings, this would be the ideal place to stay since it's within close walking distance across the street. The Grand Waldo in Cotai (not to be confused with the Waldo on Macau island), feels kinda dead. Not very busy in the casino and very few if any customers in their dining facilities. Wired internet in the rooms isn't free either. But they do offer free pool, gym and shuttle service to and from the ferry terminal. Taxis to and from Macau island will run you around HK50. If you're looking for a real quiet place to stay in Cotai for an affordable price, this would be a good choice.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Niloy D. from India
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2011
value for money hotel
room are big and very neat and clean
the stay was absolutely memorable and the breakfast was awesome with great variety. the hotel is in close proximity to galaxy the new landmark of macau. the staff was not very cooperating and was very rigid.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Michael S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
Impressive
Good rooms
the room was large comfortable, and clean as was the rest of the Hotel. One disadvantage was the breakfast arrangements. Catering to mainly Chinese guests and tours the menu was naturally more Asian. However this was not the main problem, in the morning the noise from excited tour groups was at times deafening, and if one left one's table to replenish your plate etc you could as happened to us on one occacasion find that others had moved in on it and taken over.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

wong F. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed one night in June 2011
Spacious hotel but inconvenient location
Room is clean and tidy.
rate is reasonable with 2 buffet breakfast and 2 afternoon tea sets. room is spacious. clean and tidy with full amenities. coffee in coffee shop taste horrible. fruits are fresh.service is attentive. however, no taxi. even you wait for 30 minute, no signs of taxi. the only way to get a taxi is to wait for someone to come back to the hotel. the concierge is not helpful.
Reviewed July 05, 2011

Weng W. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011
Spacious rooms and friendly staff
Good location near airport, good spa facilities
The rooms are clean and spacious. Twin size beds are good super single sized. Pillows and sheets are comfortable. Room service is very efficient and friendly. Facilities are good. Buffet breakfast has a wide spread of local and western style, but was the same every day. Spa facilities are clean and provides a very comfortable feeling.
Reviewed July 03, 2011

HO L. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2011
A 'ok' hotel
A nice and quiet hotel
Stayed at a harbour view room for 1 nite. Basic hotel facilities but the fixtures & fittings looks old. The harbour view is in fact a 'river' view. A bit disappointed but still ok. Free breakfast buffet with a lot of choices. Hotel staff are helpful.
Reviewed July 02, 2011