My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Hotel Enterprize

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Hotel Interior Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Reception Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Lobby Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Lobby Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Reception Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Restaurant Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Restaurant Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Restaurant Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic - UnServiced Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic
Hotel Area: Melbourne CBD Number of Rooms: 256

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.1

based on
1188 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (1188)
Sort by:
Kynan L. Business travelers Australia, July 21, 2013
Good stay

Great location, parking, close to shopping areas
8
Good stay at the Great Southern Hotel Melbourne. Very close to Docklands area and shopping areas. Parking was available which was handy. Reasonably priced considering the stay was on a football night.
Yayun C. Solo travelers Taiwan, July 19, 2013
kind of old hotel. but good location

good location.
7.7
The hotel is in a good location, very convenient for public transportation.
Jason F. Couples Australia, July 18, 2013
fantastic

clean, central, affordable
9.3
A fantastic time will defiantly return when in Melbourne again
Anthony C. Couples Australia, July 18, 2013
Shabby

7 mini milks in the bar fridge
5
We chose this hotel because it is close to Southern Cross Stn for an early morning trip to airport on skybus. The lobby and front half look and probably are fine, but the courtyard room was really unpleasant. The room smelt musty and old. There was heavy dust everywhere. The wooden Venetian blinds don't really provide privacy or block the light. The bathroom is old and quite crusty. There are big rusty pipes with flaky paint overhead in the shower. The bedside lamp had yellow stains on the shade. There was a vodka cruiser bottle half under the bed. There are people smoking outside on the balconies and it comes into the rooms. The exhaust fan didn't work in the bathroom and was caked in dust and grime. Just everything about the room was shabby, run down, tired, old, musty, crusty, smelly and uncomfortable. The bed sheets were clean and fresh but the pillow was flat as a crepe.
Ngoc M. Couples Vietnam, July 18, 2013
Good and enjoy

Friendly staff
6.7
Good, we all enjoy staying during our holiday. We had good experience with staff, especially the breakfast was nice.
Rudra R. Couples Nepal, July 17, 2013
excellent

quiet, affordable
7.3
it was really great staying with the hotel. the best part of the room was the spacious bathroom. I felt like the overall colour of the room was bit dull eventhough i was staying in a classic style room. Overall it was good for the price.
Gerard S. Solo travelers Australia, July 15, 2013
Not that good

Next to Southern Cross Station, close to CBD
5
t was ok, but really still not that great. The room was clean, but the general state of repairs of this hotel was poor. The ensuite's doorknob was falling off and the grill for the air went was falling out of the wall. Also the climate control did not work at all. Noise from the street, neighbouring rooms and the corridor are also quite intrusive. I've stayed in a hotel 1 block away and payed less than twice the price and gotten a room at least 4 times better than this one. Really the only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it only cost , but like I mentioned, that was supposedly a discounted price.
Darshana V. Business travelers Sri Lanka, July 14, 2013
Perfect location

Location, Location, Location
7.3
Perfect location for my business visit. Hotel is under renovation. In the middle of the night you may disturbed with noises come from other rooms. That is really irritating.
Darshana V. Business travelers Sri Lanka, July 13, 2013
stinky and dirty carpets, perfect location

location, location, location
5.3
David R. Solo travelers Australia, July 12, 2013
The staff were so friendly

Staff/the room/value for money
9.3
Its been a long time since I stayed at a hotel and the staff were all so friendly and confident. Reception were fast efficient and friendly (11/7 and 14/7)and Both staff (an asian young guy and young white female)in the restaurant 11/7/13 lunchtime and all the housekeeping staff I met during both stays.The room was clean and great value for money and close to Souther Cross train station. The lunchtime meal was excellent and value for money.I dont normally comment on hotels but you guys should be proud of all your staff.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne MelbourneGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Hotel InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ReceptionGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ReceptionGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic - UnServicedGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ClassicGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic

Customer Reviews - Great Southern Hotel Melbourne, Melbourne

AS-AGWEB-3B02