or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Hotel Enterprize
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic - Unserviced Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Laundry Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Laundry
Area: Melbourne CBD Number of Rooms: 256

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.2

based on
1532 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (1532)
Sort by:
Peter B. Couples Australia, April 26, 2014
very unhappy with the place

functional for what we needed
5.7
we got there and discovered that there is no parking for our car. when i questioned the reception, his attitude was: well, i have to pay to park up at the casino , myself. go up there and pay for it. i asked why we were not informed about this beforehand & that we would not have stayed there if wee had known. we had too much luggage to bring up from the casino as a pedestrian. so this was very impractical. others there had paid $55 for a space in a neighbouring car park. this makes our night out at the theatre very, very expensive. as we live 180 kms from melbourne, we need to stay over in the city as it is too dangerous to drive home with wildlife on the roads. this episode over the car park ruined our night, and meant that we did not have enough money to have a meal out. instead we had to resort to a cheaper fast food restaurant. not impressed at all.
Stephen D. Solo travelers Australia, April 26, 2014
The room was clean. Location to airport bus great.

Close to transport. Clean room.
6.3
The stay was good. The room was clean. The reception and lobby was being renovated. They have a crazy rule of charging $2.00 per bag to leave the luggage if you arrive before the room is ready, and if you have to check out before your departure time, they charge another $2.00 per bag to leave them there for a couple of hours! I've never experienced this anywhere else in the world. The internet was too expensive, and they even blocked access to 3G connection.
Wee S. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 25, 2014
Good for a short stay

Reasonable priced, good location and plenty of public transport nearby
5.7
This hotel is located just across the Southern Cross Station, a very good location with plenty of shops, shopping malls around. Just a few meter walking distance to the Melbourne City Circle tram stop and the Crown Casino. Price is cheap. However you get what you paid for. The hotel looks quite old and aged. Room is small. OK for a short stay but avoid if you want something fancier.
Daniel W. Couples Australia, April 25, 2014
Clean Hotel

Clean, Helpful Staff, Good value
9
My stay at the Great Southern Hotel was very pleasant. The room was very clean and modern. The hotel was located close to the Crown Precinct, but a little far from the shopping/ CBD of melbourne
Ka K. Couples Hong Kong, April 24, 2014
happy stay~clean room, good location

convenient, good value for stay, clean
8
Colin E. Couples Australia, April 23, 2014
Very affordable and centrally located but basic

Cost, location to shopping and dining and major transport routes very close by
6.7
This is a simple hotel that would have to be one of the most affordable in this central part of Melbourne. There is nothing special about the room but if your purpose is to be out and about and enjoying all the good things in this city then all you need is a decent bed for a good night's sleep. Although currently undergoing some renovations, i couldn't see the hotel gaining another star. If you prefer to spend your cash on doing things and shopping and dining then this could be the hotel for you. I would stay here again.
Mei F. Solo travelers Australia, April 21, 2014
Budget hotel for the long weekend

Rooms were big, clean and staff were great
8.3
I went to Melbourne for the Easter long weekend at short notice and a lot of the hotels were fully booked, so I was surprised to get reservation for this hotel at a cheap rate. More surprisingly the rooms were bigger than some of the classy hotels and the place was clean. The place was under renovation but the works were done during 10am to 3pm which we were out, so it did not bother us. The lifts took forever to get to you though but that's a small complaint. Quite happy with this hotel.
Donald M. Couples Australia, April 18, 2014
An unfortunate choice of hotel

location and cleanliness of room
4.7
I did not expect luxury at the price, but nor did I expect to be placed in a prison cell. One female reception staff member had insufficient knowledge of English and on one occasion I was told my TV would be fixed in 10 minutes, but when I had to leave the room 45 minutes later it was still not fixed. A second complaint got action. Twice I rang reception and the phone was not answered. I was requested to pay a key fee of $50 on arrival but had not been given any prior notification of this requirement. Consequently we were not very happy with the performance of this establishment.
Daniel D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 18, 2014
Cheap and Cheerful

Price, Cleanliness, Location
9.7
Perfect hotel for a city break in Melbourne, couldnt be any closer to Southern Cross station, close to all amenities and Melbourne Sites. The price is very good and you still get good service and a lovely room. The rooms are as good as more expensive hotels in the area. The current work on the property doesnt affect your experience, it is quiet at night and easy to sleep. Would definitely stay there again
Grainne K. Solo travelers Australia, April 18, 2014
comfortable and hassle free

location, cleanliness, cost
8
i'd never stayed here before and even though there were renovations going on it was a pleasant experience. central location, affordability and easy access to public transport was what attracted me to this hotel. room was a great size with a nice large bathroom and very comfortable. will definitely stay here again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne MelbourneGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic - UnservicedGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ClassicGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ClassicGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LaundryGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Laundry

Customer Reviews - Great Southern Hotel Melbourne, Melbourne

AS-AGWEB-3B08