Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.3

based on
2171 reviews

1814 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (2171)
Sort by:
Abbey H. Couples Australia, January 1, 2016
Can't recommend highly enough!

Location, Price, Cleanliness
9.7
Report this review
Rowena L. Families with young children Philippines, December 30, 2015
Overnight stay for a small family.

location, comfort, helpful staff
9.3
It was a comfortable stay for a night. The bed was big enough for my husband, me and our one year old baby. The room contains the basic things that we need such as cups, electric kettle, small fridge, ironing materials, hair blower and a small tub for a bath. The location was really strategic if one's planning to move around Melbourne. There is a huge possibility for us to come back if there would be a need for us to stay in the city. The only thing we noticed is that it's quite old and might need some renovation. However, we only paid for less than a hundred dollar, So that's a good deal.
Report this review
Brooke P. Solo travelers Australia, December 30, 2015
Great basic hotel

Perfect location for transport, super clean and brand new rooms
9
Wasn't expecting much for the price, but was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room. Cool building too. Would definitely stay here again
Report this review
Sophie L. Couples Canada, December 30, 2015
Practical

Close to public transport, clean, affordable
8
Report this review
Tan C. Families with older children Malaysia, December 30, 2015
An average stay

location,cleaness and affordable
8.3
The hotel is fine. But be ready you need to pay for Wi-Fi and tv programs. Walking distance to DFO south wharf, south bank andoothers attractions.
Report this review
Christopher L. Groups Australia, December 28, 2015
Not Fantastic

Location
5.3
Impersonal, robotic female desk staff - bordering rude.
Report this review
Kevin C. Solo travelers Thailand, December 28, 2015
Two night stay

The service was very good. The room was fine with all amenities provided. There was a great atmosphere with people from many countries as guests
8.3
See above. It was a very satisfactory stay. I would consider booking at a Great Southern again when next in Melbourne.
Report this review
Sharifah F. Families with young children Malaysia, December 25, 2015
Pleasant Hotel

Its location, interior and fast service
7.3
Great stay.
Report this review
Miffy C. Solo travelers Australia, December 24, 2015
A Great Stay in Melbourne

Location, Price, comfort
9.3
Pretty good. Just this time 1 night i had a leaking toilet, and the next 2 nights i had the room wasnt as clean as others ive stayed in and the fridge with freezer obviously has an issue i had ice creams in it and they melted.
Report this review
Lloyd M. Business travelers Thailand, December 24, 2015
Amazing Value for $, Location of Max Convenience

Value, Location, Quality of Room
8.7
Staying here was the best experience in value for $ in many years of recent travelling around Australia. I was shocked to get such an excellent quality room for only $66/night in such a first rate location of convenience. It vastly exceeded my expectations. The street level foyer area is the least appealing aspect of the complex (but was completely irrelevant to my stay) and gives a massive understatement to the excellent rooms of the complex. The rooms have obviously been recently and completely refurbished. An extremely smart design has been used and the floor area is extremely generous. Could this be the best value accommodation in Australia? It is in my travel experience. In terms of function meeting need, and given the location, this site is a 10/10 for me, well done folks! (The Agoda rating system demands that you rate 'Food/Dining' without an option to select 'NA' or to not rate. What selection option to you have if you didn't even look at a menu? This means that the number rating system by Agoda may be unfair in respect of over all measurement and in particular of the 'Food/Dining' service provided).
Report this review
Previous page 21 - 30 of 1814 reviews Next page
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne MelbourneGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ExteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07