or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Hotel Enterprize
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic - Unserviced Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Bathroom Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest Room Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Laundry Great Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Laundry
Area: Melbourne CBD Number of Rooms: 256

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.2

based on
1553 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
6.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (1553)
Sort by:
Fook W. Business travelers Malaysia, November 11, 2014
Staff bad service

Great location
5
Not good
Vera K. Families with young children Singapore, November 10, 2014
Awesome location, but that's about all there is

We were moved to a newly-renovated room after we complained about the standard of our room. Why they put us in a unacceptable room in the first place, I do not understand.
5
The hotel was undergoing renovation, including the reception area. So, it wasn't a very pleasant welcome for us. When we got to our room, we were taken aback.. Missing day curtain, missing shower curtain, rusty shower rod, toiletry holder was hanging loosely... When we showered, the water went everywhere. Even the toilet paper got wet?!? After we complained about the state of our room, we were moved to a renovated room. Much better condition, but huge dust balls had gathered on the vent above the shower. Looked like it had not been cleaned for at least half a year or more. I hope the hotel is more impressive after the renovation cos I am certainly not very impressed with what I got.
Patricia M. Solo travelers Australia, November 8, 2014
some good some bad.

1. It was within walking distance of Southern Cross station. 2. I was able to store my bag for the day. 3. ??
6.7
I was in the atrium area and the blinds on the windows did not keep out the lights in the corridors at night. The frig noise wakened me every time it came on, and subsequently I discovered that the tea tray sitting on top of the frig made most of the noise.
Grant F. Solo travelers New Zealand, November 7, 2014
Construction & noisy workmen

Price, Location - close to Southern Cross Station & Casino, Good sized rooms
7
If it wasnt for the refurbishments going on in the lobby area the hotel would be ok - so a temporary negaitve I guess. At 7am there were workmen on the roof - very loud & too early. Curtains in room would not stay closed - used a peg I had in my bag! On the positive note the room was a good size, and reasonably quiet from outside raod noise etc. Beds were good. I would stay here again but not until renovations are completed.
Rhonda N. Solo travelers Australia, November 7, 2014
Oaks Day Stay Over

Great location, close to station, comfortable room
10
We really enjoyed our stay
Wen-Ju L. Solo travelers Taiwan, November 6, 2014
Great location

Great location ,tidy ,big table
6.3
Elevator not reach all the room,I had 25kg luggage with me! I also fell not comfortable move luggage on carpet. But room is good for prices and location
Maree M. Business travelers Australia, November 5, 2014
cup day business

location,location,location
4.3
ok
Jessie G. Couples Australia, November 5, 2014
Great Service

Service, Cleanliness and location
8
Service is always exceptional.
Alexander R. Solo travelers Australia, November 3, 2014
Good value at a great location

Value, Location, Room options
8
Stay was great, the hotel is undergoing major renovations and the rooms comes across as being half completed. The value was amazing and the location is extremely convenient. I would gladly go back again.
Yu M. Solo travelers Australia, November 2, 2014
Welcome to the Great Southern Penitentiary

Location, location, location.
5.7
Want to experience what it's like to stay in a prison in the heart of a city? Then the Great Southern Penitentiary is the go-to place. With no outward facing windows in some rooms and corridor-facing windows instead, you can feel just like you've ended up in one of the world's cleanest prison cells. Don't worry about people not being able to check up on you, because the corridor-facing windows will ensure that you will have no auditory privacy whatsoever from people passing by! 24 hours a day including 4am when those drunken travellers inevitably stumble in, you will know about it! Want to contact your family and commiserate about your unexpected incarceration? Well if you're on the Optus mobile network, you can also experience prison-like communication to the outside world (none). This place has a well-known (yes, known to staff but not warning any customers) blackspot for the Optus network where you will end up with 0 reception. In all seriousness, you get what you pay for, and then a little less: - Seriously prison-like rooms with no outward facing windows. - The corridor facing windows will let sound through as if there was no glass there. This could be easily solved by the hotel by installing double-glazed windows. Don't expect a good night's sleep if you are sensitive in any way to noise. - DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU RELY ON AN OPTUS MOBILE PHONE. Although well-known to the hotel, they will not tell you that you will not be able to get Optus reception once inside. This is incredibly ridiculous considering the fact that the hotel could just invest in a femtocell from Optus. - They will charge you $2 to hold your bag in a filthy, dusty room even though you've paid them over $100 to stay in a room. A great definition of nickel and diming people to death. Overall, I will not stay in this hotel ever again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne MelbourneGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Classic - UnservicedGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ClassicGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ClassicGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - BathroomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Guest RoomGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LaundryGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Laundry

Customer Reviews - Great Southern Hotel Melbourne, Melbourne

AS-AGWEB-3C06