Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.3

based on 2291 reviews

1920 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (2291)
Sort by:
Kian L. Families with young children Malaysia, April 23, 2016
Good location
5
Generally good for everything
Report this review
Steven G. Couples Australia, April 23, 2016
Ok stay
4
Check in could be quicker. Only one lift for hotel so waiting time slow.... Large double room is not very big more like standard size. The beds are small too. Although cleanliness and heating was good. Location is convenient.
Report this review
George S. Business travelers Australia, April 20, 2016
would not do this again
2.7
Walls dirty and scuffed. Carpet old and scuffed. poor lighting in the room too much external light to sleep comfortable. asked for another room was told it would cost $120. not happy!
Report this review
Aaron C. Solo travelers Thailand, April 18, 2016
short stay
4.3
room was hot, air-con could not be set to cool, could have fan on but it automatically turned off half way through the night causing the room to heat up. Price for internet is ridiculous $20 (for 1000mb or 2 hours) milk in fridge was frozen 2 lifts, the newer/better one broke so the other noisier, slower, smaller lift was in use, right next to my room which kept waking me up early in the morning. Window was frosted solid glass so could not be opened or even see out. Shower temperature kept fluctuating mid showering. good things great location, and cheap.
Report this review
Connie L. Couples Malaysia, April 15, 2016
Be prepared for extra charges
4.7
Hotel charges for wifi use and also for keeping luggage after checkout even though for a few hours. Location is good. Lobby looks new and renovated but room are not
Report this review
Karen C. Families with young children Malaysia, April 15, 2016
none
4.7
good location
Report this review
Jin L. Couples Malaysia, April 14, 2016
Just for one night transit stay
6.3
Can't tell much as we only showered and sleep then check out when the sun rise. Bed is comfortable. I could tell the room has been refurbished, which is great. The thing that bothered me was the water from shower keeps dripping even though I have turned off the taps really tight. I just placed a hand towel to absorb the sound and closed the bathroom doors. We picked the smallest room as we only wanted a place to rest. There is sufficient walking space and luggage space for me. Bathroom is quite spacious for a small room. When we checked in, the room condition is clean and satisfactory. It's autumn so we didn't have to turn on the air conditioning unit. Personally I think this hotel is the best choice. It is just across southern cross station and you can reach by foot. Instead of staying at backpackers, pay a little extra and you get so much comfort and privacy. I would recommend this hotel.
Report this review
Phyra S. Business travelers Australia, April 14, 2016
na
5.7
Na
Report this review
Vicki R. Couples Australia, April 13, 2016
Noisy
4
Could not believe the noise do not know if it was a construction site next to our wall or the noise of industrial fans all night but no sleep to be had. Also site mentioned smoking area which turned out to be go outside your room and stand near someone else's to access ashtray-not nice for them.
Report this review
Ng K. Families with young children Singapore, April 13, 2016
Summary
4
Inside the room quite run down. I remember that is wifi when booking through Agoda. When arrive they said no free wifi and have to pay.
Report this review
Previous page 31 - 40 of 1920 reviews Next page
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne MelbourneGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ExteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07