Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.3

based on 2266 reviews

1898 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (2266)
Sort by:
Thomas S. Business travelers Australia, May 1, 2016
Great location. Awful hotel
4.3
Great location. Awful hotel
Report this review
Mun F. Groups Malaysia, May 1, 2016
Great Location
5.7
We stayed for 4 nights in The Great Southern Hotel. When we arrived they told us that they have upgraded us to a family room. The room was big and clean. The staff are friendly. We appreciate and thank you for the upgrade room to us.
Report this review
Mun F. Groups Malaysia, May 1, 2016
Close to CBD and shop
5.7
The location is perfect. Close to transport and 7-eleven. The room is big and clean. 2 min walking distance to Southern Cross Station and there is the factory outlet nearby. We had to pay to leave our bag in the store room after checking out.
Report this review
Neil M. Business travelers Australia, April 30, 2016
Good Place
6.3
I like this place clean great shower and bes
Report this review
Cameron M. Business travelers Australia, April 30, 2016
Dr
6.3
NOthing more
Report this review
Norhafizan M. Business travelers Malaysia, April 29, 2016
Big room , friendly staff,
5.3
Easy check in with friendly staff..big room and comfortablrpe
Report this review
G M. Business travelers Australia, April 29, 2016
Too much noise and cramped room
5
Although the room was clean and ensuite large the room was cramped. What added to this was the lack of a window to outside other than what supposedly was one which you had to keep covered given it faced straight onto the walkway past the room and into an internal stair well. The major problem was the transfer of noise of someone walking back and forth from room above which started in early hours just after 1:00 pm and kept going till almost 6:00 am. You could hear every footstep very clearly. For a business traveller not a good fit.
Report this review
Yvonne T. Couples Malaysia, April 27, 2016
Such a dirty environment
3
Pillow cover is yellowish, toilet is dirty . Carpet is unclean. What a Funny old style hair dryer provided, seriously I don't seen this kind of hair dryer before. Can clearly heard what are ppl doing in the room beside you. Only 1 small lift, during check out time you have to wait 5 round still can't get into the lift and end up with walking the old style staircase . Big hotel with only few car park provided . End up we need to park in secure parking which is cost $25/each day. Poor reception service keep provide wrong information for us. Won't recommend it at all, won't be back again :-(
Report this review
Linda S. Solo travelers Australia, April 26, 2016
quick trip
5.3
24 hour reception made for an easy early morning trip to airport, close to skybus
Report this review
Imelda I. Couples Australia, April 25, 2016
only location is satisfactory
2.7
dirty rooms
Report this review
1 - 10 of 1898 reviews Next page
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne MelbourneGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ExteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04