Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.3

based on 86 reviews

1924 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.1
Families with young children (86)
Sort by:
Noraidah A. Families with young children Malaysia, May 10, 2016
Good
6
Excellent
Kian L. Families with young children Malaysia, April 23, 2016
Good location
5
Generally good for everything
Karen C. Families with young children Malaysia, April 15, 2016
none
4.7
good location
Ng K. Families with young children Singapore, April 13, 2016
Summary
4
Inside the room quite run down. I remember that is wifi when booking through Agoda. When arrive they said no free wifi and have to pay.
Marina L. Families with young children Australia, April 8, 2016
Not the best stay to date
5
Usually I'm quite happy with my stay in this hotel, but this time we had a very bad room location. The windows led to a very busy, very noisy street so it was almost impossible to have a good night sleep. I would think the hotel could give us a quieter room as I was staying with a young child. I've also noticed the general scarcity of toiletries (or absence such things as body wash, body lotion, shower cap, etc.). One more thing has unpleasantly surprised me - I was charged a fee for leaving my small bags at the hotel for a few hours. Never ever and not at any hotels before I was charged for this usually simple and convenient service. On the other hand I still think that this hotel has a best location.
Hrishikesh M. Families with young children Australia, March 14, 2016
good location

location and bed
7.3
Wang S. Families with young children China, February 10, 2016
Very old
4.7
Good location, but very old hotel
Joonho H. Families with young children China, February 9, 2016
good

clean,location,
8.7
I'd like to recommend the hotel to other people who plan to melbourne
Zhiwen K. Families with young children China, February 4, 2016
Happy Ending
5.7
We spend 3 nights in Great Southern Hotel. It is with good location and comfortable decoration, as well as nice choice for family tour.
Marina L. Families with young children Australia, January 25, 2016
really wonderful stay!

best location, cleanliness, room interior is wonderfully upgraded
10
Really love this hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful, check in and out is quick and easy. We were staying in courtyard room and we're pleasantly surprised how modern and updated room was. It was most perfect and quiet spot in the hotel. Very happy with our stay.
1 - 10 of 2294 reviews Next page
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne MelbourneGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ExteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08