Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.3

based on
74 reviews

1813 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.1
Families with young children (74)
Sort by:
Sry R. Families with young children Indonesia, January 6, 2016
Good location, close to tourist attractions.

Good location, clean and value money
8
Great, we love it. Definitely will come back.
Report this review
Rowena L. Families with young children Philippines, December 30, 2015
Overnight stay for a small family.

location, comfort, helpful staff
9.3
It was a comfortable stay for a night. The bed was big enough for my husband, me and our one year old baby. The room contains the basic things that we need such as cups, electric kettle, small fridge, ironing materials, hair blower and a small tub for a bath. The location was really strategic if one's planning to move around Melbourne. There is a huge possibility for us to come back if there would be a need for us to stay in the city. The only thing we noticed is that it's quite old and might need some renovation. However, we only paid for less than a hundred dollar, So that's a good deal.
Report this review
Sharifah F. Families with young children Malaysia, December 25, 2015
Pleasant Hotel

Its location, interior and fast service
7.3
Great stay.
Report this review
Yanfeng S. Families with young children China, December 17, 2015
Great location

Great location; Convenient access to city; Helpful staff
8.7
Location of the hotel is superb, just across the Southern Cross Station and the free tram station is a minute away from the hotel by walk. The rooms are pretty old, desperately needing a revamp, yet the linens are clean on bed. We arrived at around 10am, but the staff is kind enough to let us check in. Parking charges AUD25 per day, and wifi is not free.
Report this review
Sheirijah S. Families with young children Malaysia, November 26, 2015
Great location & price!

Location, price, halal food availability
8.3
Great location and reasonably priced for family room. Restaurant in hotel serves halal meals. Walking distance to South Cross station for Sky bus airport transfer.
Report this review
Dwight F. Families with young children United Kingdom, November 25, 2015
Worst place ever

good thing was the breakfast
5.3
Horrible experience. Walls in the room was dirty. Not enough pillows. Never said on the website I need to pay in case I damage the room
Report this review
Kit C. Families with young children Hong Kong, November 7, 2015
Clean but old

Location, price, and service
7
Report this review
Mohd Z. Families with young children Malaysia, October 17, 2015
good stay hotel in melbourne cbd

strategic, cozy, affordable
8
Lovely
Report this review
Chook W. Families with young children Malaysia, October 14, 2015
Excellent location

Location, Self cloth washing machine, Near convenient store
7.7
No complaint
Report this review
Mark H. Families with young children New Zealand, September 29, 2015
The best

Cleanliness, comfort, location
10
Report this review
1 - 10 of 2170 reviews Next page
Great Southern Hotel Melbourne MelbourneGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - ExteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - LobbyGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - RestaurantGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - InteriorGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - FacilitiesGreat Southern Hotel Melbourne Melbourne - Facilities


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05