Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gunung Merta Bungalows

Jalan Raya Andong 21 Peliatan Ubud Gianyar, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia 80571

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 201 reviews

101 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.3
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (201)
Sort by:
Caitlin B. Couples Australia, July 31, 2013
Stay somewhere else

The gardens were nice
4
We must have been given a bad room as we found our stay here not very comfortable at all - I'm even wondering if we checked in at the wrong hotel. Our room was clean and basic, but the bathroom was FILTHY. The room has very little privacy. The curtains were see through and the border around the top of the room was fly wire. We were unable to close the room off to the noise from surrounding temples. We asked to be moved to another room but were told that it was fully booked. The sheets had holes in them, the wifi didn't work in the rooms and the service at breakfast was pretty average. The bathroom was the dirtiest I have ever come across in my frequent travels to SE Asia. I felt dirtier after having a shower and one of the towels had a stain on it. We didn't use the pool, but it looked cleaner than our room. There were only two lounges which were being used at the time we wanted to go for a swim. Location was ok, but the temples on either side and the noise from the cock fights going on made it uncomfortable.
Report this review
Premah S. Solo travelers Malaysia, July 28, 2013
The best solo getaway

stafffriendliness view price
9.3
Report this review
Elizabeth S. Solo travelers Singapore, July 28, 2013
Simple, Value

SImple, Value, Clean
6
It was pretty good and nice. Hotel is pretty clean, far away from town. Good fresh air. very basic rooms, but good for the price you pay.
Report this review
Cheryl K. Solo travelers United States of America, July 13, 2013
Huge open air room, lovely views

Good breakfast, close-ish to city, nice staff
7.3
The room was very nice - I stayed with my father and we requested an extra bed. There was a large king bed in the main area with a mosquito net and an additional mattress in the upstairs portion (I did not realize there was an upstairs when booking!) There were open windows at the top and a balcony with the view of wilderness. It was a little bit of a walk (15 minutes or so) to the main streets in Ubud. Overall, it was a very nice place - the staff was very friendly and spoke English well, breakfast was good. My only concern was mosquitoes because I am a walking target for the pests and the room being open air made me a bit nervous. However, I did use the mosquito net and was not bitten during the night, so perhaps my concern is unwarranted.
Report this review
Christel B. Couples United States of America, July 6, 2013
Amazing beauty in an authentic Balinese compound.

Balinese family owned- Breakfast was delicious! The pool was charming and inviting. Staff was very attentive and professional. Spectacular setting among many gardens and Balinese architecture.
9.7
We loved our stay. We will certainly stay here again when we return to Ubud. Although the website says the poll I down the road, that must be out of date because there is a spectacular pool in the center of the compound. Also- it's clearly Balinese family owned. We were happy to support Balinese business owners in Ubud.
Report this review
Chui-Ling T. Solo travelers Canada, July 3, 2013
Absolutely wonderful

Gorgeous grounds and swimming pool, peacefulness and intimacy, friendly attentive staff
9.3
I stayed three days and would have happily stayed longer. Just simply a delightful retreat after three gruelling weeks in Indonesia. An oasis of calm and fantastic swimming pool.
Report this review
Paula L. Groups Portugal, July 1, 2013
Bathroom not so clean and no internet working

swimming pool, price, view
6
The internet was not working. The staff wasn´t always available. But the breakfast was good and it was only 10 min walking from the city center and major attractions
Report this review
Junko P. Couples Japan, June 6, 2013
very quiet, nice view, but not clean

design, cozy room, quiet
6
Should wash towels and lines properly. It smelled previous users'.
Report this review
Talon W. Families with older children United States of America, June 2, 2013
Nice surprise. Great room, staff, breakfast

Breakfast, staff friendliness, location
8.3
Really enjoyed this hotel. We ended up extending our stay quite a bit. It's outside the city center craziness but still within easy walking distance of things. Super close to a grocery store, local restaurants. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. Pool was a nice place to refresh yourself during the hot day. Room service rates are super reasonable. WiFi was good but very intermittent (typical to Ubud). Great with kids.
Report this review
Kathryn L. Solo travelers Canada, May 31, 2013
Nice home stay

Beautiful garden, nice pool, friendly family
8.7
Report this review
Previous page 41 - 50 of 101 reviews Next page
Gunung Merta Bungalows BaliGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Rice View RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - ViewGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - BathroomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - InteriorGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Swimming PoolGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08