Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gunung Merta Bungalows

Jalan Raya Andong 21 Peliatan Ubud Gianyar, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia 80571

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 200 reviews

101 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.3
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (200)
Sort by:
Yuhao M. Solo travelers China, May 26, 2013
Great staff and breakfast, some bugs

Staff, breakfast, view
8.7
It was in general a decent experience. Nice and patient staff, great breakfast. There is a jungle behind my balcony so that was beautiful. But since its close to the nature, there were some bugs in the room including the bathroom. I had the mosquito curtain around the bed so I could sleep ok. Room was kind of dim and the desk was pretty small. Other than that everything was good. Great for nature lover!
Report this review
Zheng Z. Families with young children Singapore, April 26, 2013
Good experience to stay with family bungalows

Friendly staff , quiet place , new swim pool
6.7
Report this review
Sander V. Solo travelers Netherlands, April 16, 2013
Great little home away from home

Romantic rooms, small pool and views from the balcony
9
We stayed 3 days longer than planned as this little place is just hard to leave. There is no aircon in the room and they are not very luxurious in the western sence, but very romantic and well equipped. And what great views from the balcony of room nr 202! The rooms have high ceilings and are very airy. Liked the sleeping with sounds of jungle around me. Staff is very very sweet and helpfull, not all speak very well English tho.
Report this review
Jenna S. Solo travelers France, April 15, 2013
Well located with an amazing view on the jungle

Great breakfast, terrace with view on the jungle, nice traditionnal architecture
7.3
I loved my stay at Gunung Merta! The hotel facilities are superb, with traditional Balinese architecture and a nice swimming pool; my terrace had a beautiful view on the jungle and the room was quiet so the night was really pleasant (just one thing, the bathroom was acceptable but could be improved). It is also ideally located, close to Ubud’s main street but still in a quiet area. Special praise to the breakfast and the banana pancakes that were delicious! And also to the staff for its really good and friendly service.
Report this review
Neil J. Couples United Kingdom, April 11, 2013
A magical hotel

Ambience, cultural, location
10
This was a magical hotel! Such a lovely feel! I was very impressed with the pool too! :)
Report this review
Ashfie A. Solo travelers Singapore, April 7, 2013
quiet and good location in Ubud

freindly staff, good breakfast.
8.7
hotel stay was really pleasant. Staff were really friendly.
Report this review
Franziska V. Solo travelers Switzerland, April 6, 2013
Beautiful mysterious garden and pool setting

Garden, pool, quiet
7.3
The premises of Gunung Merta Bungalows are very pretty. You walk through the family coumpound behind ornamented walls with statues and a big, lush garden. It is like walking into another, mysterious world. It is all very well kept and clean. I have seen many of these homestays in Ubud and Gunung Merta was defenitely the prettiest and cleanest. The pool is also beautiful. Breakfast is good and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is a little ways to the center though, depending on where you want to go it is almost a good 20 mins walk (for example to Monkey Forest Sanctuary or Yoga Barn) and not just steps away as it says in the description. The garden view rooms are simple but nice. The verandah with view into the lush green jungle was pretty, the room spacious and clean. The bathroom is ok but rather old and simple, water pressure in the shower pretty bad. I dont know if this was only in my room, but the mattress had a strange smell. I didn't notice it right away, but when I did it was strong, musty or mouldy, and I was always glad when I got out of the room. Other than that I enjoyed my stay there and I would recommend the hotel.
Report this review
Elisabeth M. Families with older children Austria, March 31, 2013
Balinese bungalows in the midst of rice terraces

Rice terraces, friendly staff
9.7
Report this review
See K. Couples Singapore, March 18, 2013
Surrounded by lush greenery. good for a short stay

Friendly staff, quiet, close to nature
6
A budget and value for money stay in Ubud. A well-stocked supermarket is located opposite of the hotel where you can get most of your needs there. The speed and coverage of WIFI in the room is acceptable if you compare to the average speed in Bali. Good breadfast.
Report this review
John L. Solo travelers United States of America, March 9, 2013
Nice hotel with a nicer staff.

Staff is nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Very peaceful settings.
7.7
The staff is very helpful and nice. The hotel is a traditional Balinese compound and has a very peaceful feel. There is a lovely pool towards the back. The included breakfast was very good.
Report this review
Previous page 51 - 60 of 101 reviews Next page
Gunung Merta Bungalows BaliGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Rice View RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - ViewGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - BathroomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - InteriorGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Swimming PoolGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05