My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gunung Merta Bungalows

Jalan Raya Andong 21 Peliatan Ubud Gianyar, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia 80571 (Show on map)

Book now!

Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest Room Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Rice View Room Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Interior Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Interior Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest Room Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - View Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Bathroom Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Interior Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Swimming Pool Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest Room Gunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Bathroom
Area: Ubud Number of Rooms: 10
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
172 reviews

Value for Money
8.3
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (172)
Sort by:
Danielle E. Couples United States of America, May 11, 2012
A charming bungalow in a temple setting

Beautiful hotel, garden details, great breakfast and staff
8.3
about 20 minutes walking to the main area around ubud palace and 35 minutes walking to monkey forest. the staff was very helpful, although their english was minimal. wifi in the main area, not in bungalow. there are lots of insects, but what can you expect for a bugalow in the jungle. i loved the atmosphere, very relaxing, green, statues and flower offerings everywhere. it could have been cleaner, but overall we were very happy. we woke up every morning to the roosters.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: monkey forest is great, dont buy bananas or they will storm you... they will jump on you whether you have food or not, stay calm. we were recommended by a local to go to kintamani but didnt make it. we saw the balinese trance and paradise dance, if you go, arrive early, the seats fill fast. the show was a little long for me since there wasnt very much variation (1.5 hours).
Ching-Yu W. Solo travelers Taiwan, May 3, 2012
Like staying in the jungle

Natural sound, balcony, staff, food
8.3
it was worth the price. clean, nice view from balcony, friendly staff. very relaxing place. the only weak point is location. would recommend staying here!
Joanne T. Couples South Africa, May 1, 2012
Beautiful setting and lovely rooms

Felt like you were in the jungle looking out on your balcony
10
The service was fantastic. Rooms were lovely and the view from the balcony was beautiful. Also close to the market.
Shopping Tip: Huge market. We went to the local market in the evening and sat with all the locals eating their local food. Quite an experience and not too far from the bungalows
Howard T. Couples Malaysia, April 30, 2012
Hotel with traditional Balinese garden

friendly staff
6
Although I booked for rice field view but did not get the rice field view. Hotel is family manage and they are very friendly and helpful. At night it was quite cooling even no air con. Some part of the room set up are old and a bit dusty but still acceptable.
Su S. Solo travelers Taiwan, April 18, 2012
Room servic very good

Nice people, good servic
9.7
When I live here , they always give me nice hi and smile, everyday ask the breakfast and do the room servic, even help do any help!! Next time when I go to ubud I still will live here!!!
Shih Y. Solo travelers China, March 17, 2012
lovely stay

helpful staff
9.3
In traditional building, very impressive by the lovely staff. It's piti that we didn't stay longer time. They could pick u from airport if you stay 1 week . I really enjoyed staying with them.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Traditional danceing performance could see everyday and the dancing class are available if you interested in that. Lots of places to explore. Its alson nice just stay in the hotel and enjoyed the great atomsphere, but care for the mosiquitto.
Tahir P. Couples India, February 21, 2012
Decent but unexpected additional charges

Very rustic, polite staff, fairly good location
4.3
They charged us extra because there were two people instead of one (apparently they were expecting one on some random basis with no justification or price card. Turned us off. Rooms are rustic but kindof unsafe since it's open to the elements (i.e. unrestricted entry for mosquitoes, bugs etc, no air conditioning). Breakfast needs to be ordered too much in advance. In the end, its just a bed with decent sheets and for that its probably not worth the money. Hot running water was unexpected and good though.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Don't miss the ribs place - naughty nuri's. it was incredible.
Jade K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 3, 2012
Excellent bungalows in a beautiful setting!

Staff, facilities, grounds, food
9.3
I wish I could have stayed here longer, the staff are excellent and bend over backwards to organise whatever you need. Two members of staff got up at 2am to make me breakfast because I had to leave early for the airport! Rooms are clean and spacious with lovely furniture and artwork. Amazing balcony views and the grounds are truly stunning. If I come back to Ubud, I would stay here again without hesitation. The centre of Ubud is a 10-15 minute walk away.
Dale S. Couples Australia, December 31, 2011
Out of the way and dreadful -

Flexible Check in, Check out times
3
We tried to e-mails the hotel prior to arrival to confirm our booking and they never responded to our e-mails. Fingers crossed that we had a bed to sleep in. When we arrived with our booking they looked at it like they had never seen one before. So we don’t know if we were expected or not. The manager wasn’t there when we arrived so maybe the staff doesn’t normally handle this. Hotel is well out of Ubud centre and is either a taxi ride to the shops, restaurants, and cafes etc. Or as we did you can hire a scooter due to the distance, it isn’t walkable. The scooter was arranged by the hotel and was a bit of a wreak missing mirrors, smashed up etc and we paid above the top rate RP60,00 for a new good condition scooter. We got no insurance or paperwork with the scooter either. The staff were friendly but always looking to make some extra cash off you. Spiders, lizards and prolific ants were all complementary. Through out the Hotel. I got a fright when I opened the door to have a lizard jump on me. Most places in Bali have some level of insect guests being a tropical environment with gardens. But here you couldn’t eat breakfast or check in without being swarmed by large biting ants. The breakfast only came with the toast and eggs, missing the bacon and jam etc. as listed in the menu. It was edible however. Having stayed in basic and budget accommodations in Bali, East Timor, Africa etc. Not expecting much, but when the bathroom and toilet obviously haven't been cleaned from the last guest who had a case of Bali Belly it is a bit poor in our opinion. Only cold water, a desk fan and the wiring for the room was exposed. We wouldn't recommend this hotel even at a lower price.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: You can hire a scooter for 30-50,000Rp. Make sure you wear a helmet and do up the chin strap to avoid fines even if the locals get away with it. Ubud is a great place it has really gone through a lot of development in the last two years. It has a one way central loop road through the town centre and in peak season the traffic can take an hour to navigate what can be walked in 20min. This isn't a problem for scooters just cars. We still prefer Ubud to kuta as it is more relaxing and better positioned for day tripping to sights. It is a bit more expensive for shopping comparatively but also offers better quality items. Not many taxis available here but plenty of local drivers hawking for business. It has become a lot more commercial but still retains its arts focus and for those inclined is a mecca for yoga, alternative lifestyle.
Izumi N. Groups Japan, December 30, 2011
Great staff with smiles & hospitality

Godd value for money & friendly staff
8
not so far from the center of ubud, very friendly staff who speaks some japanese and the owner speak very good japanese. they also have a batik shop in front.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Gunung Merta Bungalows BaliGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Rice View RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - InteriorGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - InteriorGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - ViewGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - BathroomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - InteriorGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Swimming PoolGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Bathroom


AS-AGWEB-3C08