Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gunung Merta Bungalows

Jalan Raya Andong 21 Peliatan Ubud Gianyar, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia 80571

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 201 reviews

101 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.3
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (201)
Sort by:
Laura B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 17, 2012
Beautiful, peaceful place

Lovely gardens, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, big rooms with nice view
9.3
I stayed here for 5 nights and could easily have stayed for longer. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are all away from the road so you don't hear any sounds. The room was really big with plenty of cupboard space, and nicely decorated. The balcony was really big with lovely view and a place to dry clothes. The included breakfast was really nice, with a few different options. The mee goreng was the nicest I had anywhere in Bali! The staff are really friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. Although its a little way out, its only about a 10-15 min walk to the main part of town. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, as well as a supermarket across the street.
Rajahot S. Couples Indonesia, October 14, 2012
Great service

Nice and quiet
10
Lovely and clean with great service and quiet Highly recomended!
Emer C. Groups Ireland, October 12, 2012
walking distance too town

breakfast, balcony, greenery
8.7
nice little comminglement of buildings with lovely garden and balconys out the back of the guest rooms. the room was clean, we had a fan in the room which was fine for keeping us cool without air con. dvd player available if you ask them which was nice for a change. the town is literally spoiled for choice with great restaurants and bars.
Nancy J. Couples United States of America, September 18, 2012
Beautiful Bali bungalows

Beautiful setting, beautiful traditional Balinese homestay
8.3
Charming rooms, nice breakfast, helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay here, it is a traditional Balinese home on the edge of Ubud where you go to sleep to the sound of crickets and wake up to the sound of roosters. The rooms are simple but pleasant. There is no air conditioning but the evenings in Ubud are cool.
Restaurant Tip: Clear cafe great nearby restaurant
Choe C. Couples Malaysia, September 16, 2012
Dissapointed of room arrangement

miscommunication of Agoda & Hotel
5.7
according to the PIC, they never receive order from Agoda, and i've been transfer to another place, which i found is quite old & no TV.
Pu J. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 6, 2012
Good service but bad location and small rooms

Hotel is very old, the hotel everoment is very dark thier not prepare for the light.
5
hotel envorment is very old, very dark.room is based on capitation fees,the manager only infrom us to paid the money when we check out, but inside the room is for 2 person and have 2 bed.
Ho M. Couples Hong Kong, September 5, 2012
very good small hotel

good service
7.3
i have 3 days beautiful holidays at gunung merta bungalows garden view hotel.the waiter and all staff are very kindly. the breakfast also very good. and nearly going to shopping. i like it.
Patricia S. Couples United Kingdom, September 5, 2012
Amazing service, lovely room

Wayan!
10
Me and my girlfriend initially booked 4 nights, and we loved it so much we booked another 3 and even brought 2 friends to stay. We HAD to share the experience! Rooms were homey and clean, they were cleaned every day.We organised tours and transport with them and they always gave us a good deal. Would love to stay again.
Tabitha P. Couples United States of America, August 31, 2012
Hotel? Not so much, but the family is lovely

Breakfast made to order, very yummy
6
This is not really a hotel. It is a family compound in which they added a few rooms and rent them out. While the family is very kind, the rooms are old, and VERY dirty. I didnt want to touch or use anything in the bathroom. The sheets on the bed were clean. There was no king bed, as promised. We pushed together the 2 twin beds given. There was no air-confitioner as promsed, not even a mosquito net!! There was one a rickety old fan we had to prop up on a chair in order to cool down the room. There are no screens on the windws and the ceiling is partially open to elements so lizards, ants and mosquitos filled the room!! They left a mosquito repellant that you light with matches near the balcony door, I couldn't breathe with the fumes, so when it blew out we left it that way! We had room 3 so it had a partial backyard view blocked by one of hugest trees!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: There are tour companies that offer day trips 10 minutes walking distance from the bungalows, with very competitive prices.
Ng S. Couples Malaysia, August 28, 2012
Nice traditional balinese house

Friendly staff and traditional layout in the house
6.7
Like the friendly staff, we arrive late at night from the airport and we got a nice welcome from the staff. And they let us rest and we did our registration the next morning, this is really very nice of them. Although we have to wait for the breakfast, but we have a nice time walking around in the house compound and the staff told us kindly to wait extra minutes for the breakfast and apologized. We been told about the hari raya galungan and kuningan. And we got a drive to our next hotel nearby for free. We really appreaciate them, for their help, kind and warm welcome and hospitality. Although it was just a short and one night stay, they are beyond our expectation. Will stay here longer next time when come bali for a longer holiday. The room has nice bedroom interior but the bathroom need improvement, too narrow and the lighting is quite dark as the yellow light bulbs are used. Maybe bigger bathroom will be more comfortable and perhaps changing the layout of the toilet and the baths?? Maintainance is needed to be done regularly to keep up the current standard else deterioration will effect the conditiom tremendously. Suitable for bagpakcers who seek for cheap and reasonable and quiet accommodation, abit out of town but still in working distance.
Previous page 71 - 80 of 101 reviews Next page
Gunung Merta Bungalows BaliGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Rice View RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - ViewGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - BathroomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - InteriorGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Swimming PoolGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05