Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Gunung Merta Bungalows

Jalan Raya Andong 21 Peliatan Ubud Gianyar, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia 80571

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

8.0

based on 62 reviews

101 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.5
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.9
Solo travelers (62)
Sort by:
Erin B. Solo travelers Australia, December 6, 2015
Great staff lovely pool, room & gardens

The pool and grounds are lovely & quiet, the staff are really friendly & helpful and room was nice and big
7.3
I really enjoyed my stay for the reasons above. It was a little too hot and far to walk into town but easy & quick on a motor bike. Staff, room & pool were lovely & quiet. I would recommend ear plugs for dogs & ceremonies but I think that is standard in bali. I loved my big room with a big bed and balcony 😊 fan was fine for my month stay in October
Kirsty W. Solo travelers Australia, October 23, 2015
Spacious rooms, nice views, cool.

The size of the room, the view, the pool.
4.3
Unmaintained, dirty rooms. Too far from town to walk. Friendly staff.
Joao F. Solo travelers Brazil, May 30, 2015
Good and bad things

Breakfast, architecture and swimming pool
5.7
I had a good stay in Ubud, but many things at Gunung Merta made me feel bad about the hotel. Good things: - Breakfast was awesome - The architecture of the family quarter is very beautiful. Beautiful pool with flowers and ponds around the guest quarter Bad things: - The room was dirty and old. The cleaning staff was not diligent, upper room full of spider webs, swept dirt under the bed, bathroom has never been properly scrubbed, etc. Also they didnt inform that upper windows have no glass nor nets - Seller come EVERY morning around breakfast to sell art and disturb the guests. The prices they present are 10x what it is really worth, and I caught one salesperson trying to sneek into my room.
Jacob V. Solo travelers Netherlands, April 20, 2015
good location

location,
6.7
Ratna K. Solo travelers India, October 14, 2014
Good home stay with great ambience and atmosphere

Ambience, Comfort and the Home atmosphere
8
5 nights
Ann M. Solo travelers Ireland, September 11, 2014
Value for Money

quiet, Nice Surroundings, Nice Swimming Pool, Close to Centre
8.3
I highly recumbent Gunung Merta. You feel like you are in the middle of the country even though it's close to town. It's opposite a large supermarket and restaurants are only 10 mites walk away. The staff are friendly even tit not all of them speak English. The breakfast was very good, much better than other more expensive paces I've stayed.
Barbara C. Solo travelers United States of America, September 5, 2014
Almost awesome but...

Service was great. View from room balcony amazing. Close to coffee shop and grocery store.
7.3
It was almost awesome. It was a great place, especially at this price. Clean enough, good enough, pretty good breakfast, service was awesome. Only one huge negative. Every night once it got dark-- all kinds of bugs and things took over my bathroom. Hundreds of huge black ants everywhere and a few lizards. The first night I asked a staff member to lock the windows closed and they gladly did. But it turned out they were coming through holes in the ceiling. I so want to give this place a great review, unfortunately this super freaked me out.
Hsiu W. Solo travelers Taiwan, April 21, 2014
it's excellent and convirnt

close to the mountain,nice swimming pool , good staff
10
it's good quality hotel,nice view and good decoration,room is clean and beautiful. like living in the castle. the breakfast is luxurious,staff is super nice,and the swimming is good. i definitly will live here when i got bali again.
Emily A. Solo travelers United States of America, February 17, 2014
beautiful gardens and pool. We had a pleasant stay

gardens, pool, staff
8
Good budget hotel. The gardens are beautiful and the hotel is very quiet and lovely. The staff was friendly and helpful, although their English was not great. Our room looked over a local river and we were able to watch locals go on their way. The bathrooms were a little dingy. The hotel is a 30 minute walk to the center of Ubud. The walk is not that nice but you could easily get a taxi.
Zuleika A. Solo travelers Brazil, February 8, 2014
Peaceful and beautiful surroundings

Balinese style, room view and friendly owners and staff
8.3
It was excellent and very rewarding considering the price.
1 - 10 of 201 reviews Next page
Gunung Merta Bungalows BaliGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Rice View RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - ViewGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - BathroomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - InteriorGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Swimming PoolGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Guest RoomGunung Merta Bungalows Bali - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01