or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hanoi Ciao Hotel

No 8 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu street, Hoan Kiem district, Hoan Kiem District - Ha Noi Cathedral, Hanoi, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Splendid Star Classic Hotel

Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Exterior Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Reception Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - View Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room
Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Exterior Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Hoan Kiem District - Ha Noi Cathedral Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
143 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (143)
Sort by:
David S. Couples United States of America, July 13, 2013
Pleasant hotel in old quarters

location, room quality, value
8
Geok L. Couples Malaysia, June 6, 2013
Great location

Good location, friendly staff, hotel with elevator
7.3
The draining system in the toilet was bad. The facilities in the room was quite old. Overall is considered good
Arnoldy A. Couples Indonesia, February 20, 2013
Near St. Joseph Cathedral Hotel in Old Quarter

Room with balcony
7
Hanoi Ciao Hotel first used name Splendid Star 2 Hotel, location in an alley near St. Joseph Cathedral, quite small room, ordinary and ordered breakfast (not a buffet breakfast), we were dissapointed for hotel when we booked One Day Halong Bay Tour and bus ticket Hanoi to Vientiane because overprice and the bus not as described (sleeping bus with toilet) but actually an ordinary sleeping bus without toilet.
Hotel Feature Tip: Don't buy tour and ticket from this hotel - Fraudulent
Minning Q. Solo travelers China, January 20, 2013
Watch out! The photo is cheating you!

No.
4.3
I thought I've booked a twin bed room, because the photo is displayed with 2 bed in the room, finally I have to pay 10 USD for an extra bed when I checked in and the staff told me that I have actually booked a single room! The staff is not friendly, they didn't provide the breakfast in the morning which they promised to. The environment seems dangerous because there're gangsters hanging out at night and touch your belongings impolitely, though it's near the church.
Nightlife Tip: The environment seems dangerous because there're gangsters hanging out at night and touch your belongings impolitely, though it's near the church.
Kimberly Z. Couples United States of America, January 4, 2013
great location, room ok

room, cleanliness
6.7
we booked a superior and the room itself was nice. it was also clean, but the bed took up most of the room. don't believe the pics of the bathroom, because you will not get anything close to that. the actual bathroom is small. we were on the 3rd floor and still had a view of the wall. the street is not very quiet and people are out there until 1am, and start waking up about 6am, and the sound carries in the alley. perhaps it would be quieter if you were further up or your windows weren't closed using tape like ours was. service wasn't good. i was sick the second day and we tried to buy soup from them, but were told it was only for breakfast, which was fine. however, when my husband brought me back some soup, they wouldn't even let us use a bowl. we checked out the night before and the manager said he would have someone make us breakfast, despite our early departure. we woke up early anticipating breakfast, and no one brought it up. we called and no one answered. when we left everyone was still asleep downstairs. the location is great. if you are a light sleeper then the cathedral bell may wake you.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Right near the cathedral and old city. Exit the hotel and go left, then turn down the left alley to get on the backpacker street for cheap restaurants. Recommend Red Gecko restaurant for options and taste!
Jeff B. Couples United States of America, November 4, 2012
Great Rooms, Terrible Breakfast

Comfortable Bed, Good Wifi, Quiet, Good Location
5.7
i stayed at 5 different places in hanoi and this was one of the best. the bed is comfy and i think they upgraded our room for free the first couple nights. our room had a computer in it which was great because my girlfriend had her laptop stolen at our previous accommodation. the staff was rather unfriendly and spoke little english. the breakfast was quite bad. don't get anything with bacon in it, it's very tough. fruit, cereal, and yogurt are safe choices. even the fruit juices are quite bad though, especially the orange juice.
Patricia F. Business travelers United Kingdom, September 30, 2012
Friendly helpful staff & good location

Friendly helpful staff, good location, quiet lane
7.7
The staff at this hotel are great, the hotel is in a great location - near the lake, good restaurants and lots of shops, easy access to buses to all parts of Hanoi. I made a mistake with my booking dates and they changed it for me at the desk with no charge - they had no obligation to do so. The room, bathroom and bedding are clean. Another review mentioned paint flaking off the walls - well there was around the window area - but with the humidity in Hanoi that happens everywhere. Standard rooms have no window or an internal window; superior rooms on the lower floors look out at a wall that is quite close but the upper floors have a view of the city; Deluxe rooms on the lower floors look out on buildings across the street, on the upper floors they have a view of the church tower.
Patricia F. Business travelers United Kingdom, September 24, 2012
Good location

Nice friendly staff, good location
8.3
Hotel is in a quiet lane near the church, deluxe rooms on the upper floor have a nice view of the church tower. Rooms are quite small but they are clean, bedding is also clean. There's a safe and a fridge in the room, there's also a lift.
Yu O. Groups Japan, August 31, 2012
great staff , great tour , great value ...

friendly staff ( give smiles service ) , great value ...
10
we stayed at Splendid Star for 2 nights.There are not enough words to describe how great the splendid star Hotel is william, ruby , and the rest of the staff can not do enough for you. They genuinely care about making your stay the best ever. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left they were so accommodating. They recommended restaurants which were always right on, they booked our city tour, Halong Bay trip,sapa trip booked our flights to Danang and Ho Chi Minh, arranged hotels in Hoi An, Hue and Ho Chi Minh city, along with drivers and hotel pick-up, then followed up with a phone call to us in Hue to make sure everything was OK. These are awesome people and very genuine. As for the hotel itself, it is in a great location in the Old Quarter. Everything is within easy walking distance - shopping, restaurants, etc. The rooms are beautifully decorated. We stayed in a deluxe room for the first 3 nights and then moved to a suite after our Halong Bay trip which was larger, both were good choices. Free computer in the room is also a nice plus that you don't get anywhere else. Do not hesitate to book your stay at the splendid star Hotel. They will make it one of your most memorable stays ever. We hated to leave, it felt like we were leaving old friends behind.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: visit halong bay , sapa ...
Bernard Y. Couples Malaysia, August 25, 2012
good n clean room

staff were helpful
7
near to some eating place. not far away from the lake which is a popular place . there were some eating place near the lake as well. nothing much at the night market. sight seeing - halomg bay & city tour is good. perfume pagoda sight seeing is not for elderly people.
Restaurant Tip: Some of the food recommended were not to our liking. So don't have to try all the food. Keep to what you prefer.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe DoubleHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ReceptionHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ViewHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Balcony/Terrace


AS-AGWEB-3C06