or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hanoi Ciao Hotel

No 8 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu street, Hoan Kiem district, Hoan Kiem District - Ha Noi Cathedral, Hanoi, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Splendid Star Classic Hotel
Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Exterior Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Reception Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - View Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room
Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Exterior Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Hoan Kiem District - Ha Noi Cathedral Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
144 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (144)
Sort by:
Philip S. Couples Australia, November 18, 2010
Warm frieindly helpfull staff great accommadation

Ideal position, brilliant service, clean rooms
9.7
This Hotel was ideal for centre of the old quarter. The staff could not do more. Loads of help with trips and transport. I would recommend this to any traveller.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Great place to plan your trip, everything worked like clockwork. Difficult to achieve in the hustle and bustle of Hanoi.
Damian S. Couples Australia, October 25, 2010
Gorgeous hotel with the friendliest staff

beautiful rooms,reat location
9.7
We had an amazing time here at the splendid star. The staff were constantly going out of their way to help us, and the front desk made arrangements for our trip for a whole week. Thank-you so much Splenid Star, as it was the staffs friendliness and honesty which really made our trip to Hanoi, Sapa and Halong Bay the best part of our trip! Thanks again!!! We highly reccommend this hotel for every traveller on any budget to stay.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Halong Bay and Sapa are a must!!!
Dennis C. Business travelers Singapore, October 20, 2010
Great location, near to all amenities

I like the pillows and the bed, slept very well in my two nights stay
7.7
Overall, i have always enjoyed my stay at Au Trieu Street in Hanoi. Except for the morning church bells (4.30am), the location is great for travellers (business and leisure). There are many tour operators and prices are good. Eating out along the streets (which I always will not recommend but herem it is fine) give you an idea of the local taste. It is good that local hair salon called Thin Saigon has started, Mr Thin is probably the best VN hairstylist. A hour of shampoo with massage will make your day here if you do not need a haircut.
Rose I. Couples United Kingdom, July 31, 2010
Splendid Star Hotel - Hanoi

computers in the room, very comfortable beds
6.3
We arrived a night early by accident and the hotel were very helpful in accomodating us. We stayed in 2 rooms - the first was not so good and had a very small bath but the second was lovely and homely. Not much choice for breakfast but it was okay. Nicely decorated.
Sip W. Couples Malaysia, July 24, 2010
ok,very cheap price

staffs are well trained,well mannered and accomodating
6.7
the staff are so accomodating and nice.they greet you everytime they see you and they're well mannered.The food is not so nice but the room rates are cheap.
Kim O. Couples Malaysia, July 19, 2010
Review on Splendid Star

Good location, value for money
6
Overall, for the price paid, I wouldn't complain much about the hotel. Just a heads up, that the walls are pretty thin and the noise of rain or people cooking at the back could be irritating.
Kevin H. Couples Canada, July 8, 2010
Nice staff, things work intermitently

Great location, helpful and friendly staff, free wifi and computer in the room, free breakfast and welcome drink.
8
Good location in the old quarter. Facilities were great, but unreliable. They say they would be a 3 star hotel if it wasnt so small, but I would say 2 stars. They were very helpful with planning our whole trip.
Christine W. Groups Australia, July 6, 2010
splendid star 11

Position and helpfull staff
9
We enjoyed our stay here,at times we could see a similarity to Faulty Towers!!The staff tried to be extremely helpful.We made our booking through the hotel for our trip to Holog Bay and Sapa, it would have been a benefit to us if we had been given a written itinerary
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: water puppets
Geoff B. Couples Australia, April 19, 2010
Splendid Star - small but friendly

Helpful staff and those at the main desk were good English speakers. Location is a short walk from night market and lake - it is also in the heart of the old city. Free internet access on a computer located in our room - what a bonus!
7.3
We were a little alarmed when our taxi dropped us on the main road and pointed up the narrow alley as we protested that we were supposed to be at our hotel. We walked about 80 metres with our luggage and found the hotel - much smaller than we expected! Our room was on the street side and was quite noisy every evening until quite late (even on the fifth floor). This noise was not due to traffic (which couldn't possibly travel up the narrow alley) but rather due to the gathering of many younger people to eat and socialise in the narrow 'alley' that the Hotel is on. This was not a serious problem and we slept well anyway. We were quite surprised that the 'dining room' was about two steps from the reception desk but our breakfast each day was enjoyed while chatting to the desk staff - it is a small famiky hotel !! They also organised tours for guests and while I'm sure they take a 'cut' the deals were still good value. Overall it was a good spot to stay - if you want standard big hotel atmosphere don't stay here. If you want a basic small clean room and central location with a certain amount of charm this is for you.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Lots of interesting local features to see by foot. For anything else a taxi is the only real option but are quite cheap and reliable. The traffic is frightening to negotiate when crossing roads - just stand and watch the locals first to see how its done!
Nina J. Couples Australia, March 20, 2010
What a welcome!

Exceptional staff, good location, nice rooms!
9.7
Yes, the hotel is hidden down an alley way, along with the Splendid Star 2 and other hotels, but that's actually a relief in Hanoi. It's clean and comfy and the staff sit you down as soon as you arrive with a welcoming drink and conversation. They really do appreciate how weary travellers feel and I can't commend them enough. Free internet and computer in our room. Satelite TV. Also, the exchange rate they were giving us was better than anywhere else we found in Hanoi. *Be aware - although the hotel is situated in a quiet alley way, by night it turns into an outdoor restaurant which stays open until about 11.00 pm. So may ask for a room away from the street, as we have found street noise to be a problem everywhere in Vietnam. Also, the cathederal near by chimes at about 5.00 am for a ridiculous amount of time...not the hotel's fault. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to Hoan Kiem lake. If you are awake early in the morning, go and have a look...it's very interesting and I dare you to walk anti clockwise :) But don't stop for a cup of coffee at the lakeside cafe, they charged us VND130.000 for two cappuccinos, usually a VN cup of coffee is around VN15.000 each. Eating: Not far is Ly Quoc Su street, good for something to eat. Try Cafe 12. Great food and prices and a good spot to sit and watch the sights go by - see the photo. Or, turn left out of the hotel entrance, then left at the corner and on the next corner is Panini's. They do a great toasted baguette with meat and salad for a great price - see photo. Near Kangaroo Cafe (the real one) and to the left we ate at Huyen Huong. It was really nice and clean and the food was great. But, it's not the cheapest, they even charged us for the use of the packaged wet towelettes. Steamed rice, chicken curry, water spinach in garlic butter, fired prawns and 3 Heinikins = VND348.000 Souvenirs - one street back and parallel to Ly Quoc street you can find heaps of souvenir shops.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe DoubleHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ReceptionHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ViewHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Balcony/Terrace


AS-AGWEB-3A05