Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hanoi Ciao Hotel

No 8 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu street, Hoan Kiem district, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Splendid Star Classic Hotel
Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Reception Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Exterior Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room
Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room
Area: Hoan Kiem District Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.1

from 154 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (154)
Sort by:
Kevin H. Couples Canada, July 8, 2010
Nice staff, things work intermitently

Great location, helpful and friendly staff, free wifi and computer in the room, free breakfast and welcome drink.
8
Good location in the old quarter. Facilities were great, but unreliable. They say they would be a 3 star hotel if it wasnt so small, but I would say 2 stars. They were very helpful with planning our whole trip.
Report this review
Christine W. Groups Australia, July 6, 2010
splendid star 11

Position and helpfull staff
9
We enjoyed our stay here,at times we could see a similarity to Faulty Towers!!The staff tried to be extremely helpful.We made our booking through the hotel for our trip to Holog Bay and Sapa, it would have been a benefit to us if we had been given a written itinerary
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: water puppets
Report this review
Geoff B. Couples Australia, April 19, 2010
Splendid Star - small but friendly

Helpful staff and those at the main desk were good English speakers. Location is a short walk from night market and lake - it is also in the heart of the old city. Free internet access on a computer located in our room - what a bonus!
7.3
We were a little alarmed when our taxi dropped us on the main road and pointed up the narrow alley as we protested that we were supposed to be at our hotel. We walked about 80 metres with our luggage and found the hotel - much smaller than we expected! Our room was on the street side and was quite noisy every evening until quite late (even on the fifth floor). This noise was not due to traffic (which couldn't possibly travel up the narrow alley) but rather due to the gathering of many younger people to eat and socialise in the narrow 'alley' that the Hotel is on. This was not a serious problem and we slept well anyway. We were quite surprised that the 'dining room' was about two steps from the reception desk but our breakfast each day was enjoyed while chatting to the desk staff - it is a small famiky hotel !! They also organised tours for guests and while I'm sure they take a 'cut' the deals were still good value. Overall it was a good spot to stay - if you want standard big hotel atmosphere don't stay here. If you want a basic small clean room and central location with a certain amount of charm this is for you.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Lots of interesting local features to see by foot. For anything else a taxi is the only real option but are quite cheap and reliable. The traffic is frightening to negotiate when crossing roads - just stand and watch the locals first to see how its done!
Report this review
Nina J. Couples Australia, March 20, 2010
What a welcome!

Exceptional staff, good location, nice rooms!
9.7
Yes, the hotel is hidden down an alley way, along with the Splendid Star 2 and other hotels, but that's actually a relief in Hanoi. It's clean and comfy and the staff sit you down as soon as you arrive with a welcoming drink and conversation. They really do appreciate how weary travellers feel and I can't commend them enough. Free internet and computer in our room. Satelite TV. Also, the exchange rate they were giving us was better than anywhere else we found in Hanoi. *Be aware - although the hotel is situated in a quiet alley way, by night it turns into an outdoor restaurant which stays open until about 11.00 pm. So may ask for a room away from the street, as we have found street noise to be a problem everywhere in Vietnam. Also, the cathederal near by chimes at about 5.00 am for a ridiculous amount of time...not the hotel's fault. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to Hoan Kiem lake. If you are awake early in the morning, go and have a look...it's very interesting and I dare you to walk anti clockwise :) But don't stop for a cup of coffee at the lakeside cafe, they charged us VND130.000 for two cappuccinos, usually a VN cup of coffee is around VN15.000 each. Eating: Not far is Ly Quoc Su street, good for something to eat. Try Cafe 12. Great food and prices and a good spot to sit and watch the sights go by - see the photo. Or, turn left out of the hotel entrance, then left at the corner and on the next corner is Panini's. They do a great toasted baguette with meat and salad for a great price - see photo. Near Kangaroo Cafe (the real one) and to the left we ate at Huyen Huong. It was really nice and clean and the food was great. But, it's not the cheapest, they even charged us for the use of the packaged wet towelettes. Steamed rice, chicken curry, water spinach in garlic butter, fired prawns and 3 Heinikins = VND348.000 Souvenirs - one street back and parallel to Ly Quoc street you can find heaps of souvenir shops.
Report this review
Engin S. Couples Australia, February 21, 2010
Great Staff

Close to everywhere, wireless internet (free of charge). Quiet. Wonderful staff.
8
Especially the staff looking after reception were very helpful, always with great smile. They answered our questions patiently, fulfilled our requests professionally. If something went wrong they were there to resolve it immediately. The junior staff had language difficulties but their enthusiasm more than compensated for it. Some rooms have computers with internet connection. The rooms without a computer have free wireless. Overall very good value.
Restaurant Tip: The spanish restaurant on the corner near the church has delicious and very affordable tapas and main dishes. The red house wine they serve by the glass (US$ 3.50) is good
Report this review
Ildiko C. Couples Hungary, January 5, 2010
Average hotel on west side of the lake

It is in downtown. It is clean and people try to be helpful.Internet in the room.
7.7
This is the only hotel where we were in Hanoi during our 1 month visit to Asia so I can't compare with other Vietnamese hotels but compared with Thai or Cambodian hotels, it gives very limited services and is not value for the money. The location is good and bad. Good because it is in downtown, so there are great butiques, art shops, the Hoem Kiem Lake, restaurants, cheap street food nearby. But the hotel is in a back street so when we went to three different trips and minibus driver wanted to pick up us at the hotel, it was very difficult to find us. The whole hotel is clean, the same is true with the room and bathroom. But room is very small, 2 people hardly have any place. Breakfast place is at the reception area, there are only 2 tables so it is sometimes very crowded. It is also true, they kindly offer to take your breakfast to your room. Breakfast is the same every day with limited choice and since staff has a very limited English they never understood what kind of eggs I wanted except one day. The noise and pollution on the streets around the hotel is really hard to endure. But of course, it is not the hotel's fault. It is like that everywhere in downtown.
Shopping Tip: I was amazed with the designer products Hanoi can offer.
Report this review
John K. Couples Canada, January 4, 2010
Splendid Star is a good choice

Close to everything. Quiet despite the street being a zoo. Computer in the room. No need for wifi but that is downstairs too. Very friendly and helpful staff.
8.3
We reserved 3 nights and stayed an additional 3. It was very good and they stored our luggage while we took the train on a trip. We especially liked the convenience to fairly cheap eating and drinking. Computer in the room saved some of the frustrations of wifi on the little netbook.
Restaurant Tip: Hang Hanh is a street just around the corner. It has several inexpensive restaurants and a laid back atmosphere.
Report this review
Kendra H. Families with older children United States of America, January 2, 2010
Splendid Star

great location
7.7
I was under the impression I made a reservation at Splendid Star 2, but when arrived they said we were at Splendid Star 1 due to all the rooms were full. So we ended up staying at Splendid Star 2 and then they moved us the next day.
Report this review
Yuthana T. Business travelers Thailand, December 26, 2009
Good locations but make sure you get what you paid

Good locations. a little off center but quiet.
7
Good locations. a little off center but quiet. Staffs are friendly but some seem insincere. Be sure to ask& check the price around first for their services (e.g. tour,laundry) might be too expensive. Make sure to check if you get the room as described & booked. However, the manager (Ms.Rose) is ready to help sort out problems. I guess that Splendid star II which is 2 buildings next might worth checking out than this one.
Travel tip: Good locations
Report this review
Marilyn S. Groups United States of America, November 30, 2009
Hotel was Splendid

The staff is outstanding; very helpful, warm and welcoming. Solved problems quickly; maintained the room with fresh sheets and towels daily. Computer in every room with free internet! I enjoyed the location - within walking distance of the Hoam Kieu Lake district where there are so many shops and restaurants.
7.7
Splendid Star is a happy place to be while in Hanoi! The staff makes every effort to meet your needs. Purchased a VietnamOpenTour package through the hotel for 2 nights-3 days to Ha Long Bay at a very reasonable price ($105 per person). It was a real winner. When we returned to this hotel after the tour, they didn't have a twin bed room for us, as reserved, so they placed us in the Splendid Star 2 Hotel next door. It was clearly an upgrade and could also be a good choice if you have the budget for it.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Perfume Pagoda tour was a very long trip (3 hours each way) just to see the pagoda inside a cave, which was very modest. I do not recommend this tour, especially if you have any problems with walking up lots of stairs.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe DoubleHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ReceptionHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AM-AGWEB-4D02