Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Hanoi Ciao Hotel

No 8 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu street, Hoan Kiem district, Hoan Kiem District - Ha Noi Cathedral, Hanoi, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Splendid Star Classic Hotel
Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Exterior Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Reception Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - View Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Bathroom Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room
Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Exterior Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Restaurant Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest Room Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Hoan Kiem District - Ha Noi Cathedral Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
144 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (144)
Sort by:
Engin S. Couples Australia, February 21, 2010
Great Staff

Close to everywhere, wireless internet (free of charge). Quiet. Wonderful staff.
8
Especially the staff looking after reception were very helpful, always with great smile. They answered our questions patiently, fulfilled our requests professionally. If something went wrong they were there to resolve it immediately. The junior staff had language difficulties but their enthusiasm more than compensated for it. Some rooms have computers with internet connection. The rooms without a computer have free wireless. Overall very good value.
Restaurant Tip: The spanish restaurant on the corner near the church has delicious and very affordable tapas and main dishes. The red house wine they serve by the glass (US$ 3.50) is good
Ildiko C. Couples Hungary, January 5, 2010
Average hotel on west side of the lake

It is in downtown. It is clean and people try to be helpful.Internet in the room.
7.7
This is the only hotel where we were in Hanoi during our 1 month visit to Asia so I can't compare with other Vietnamese hotels but compared with Thai or Cambodian hotels, it gives very limited services and is not value for the money. The location is good and bad. Good because it is in downtown, so there are great butiques, art shops, the Hoem Kiem Lake, restaurants, cheap street food nearby. But the hotel is in a back street so when we went to three different trips and minibus driver wanted to pick up us at the hotel, it was very difficult to find us. The whole hotel is clean, the same is true with the room and bathroom. But room is very small, 2 people hardly have any place. Breakfast place is at the reception area, there are only 2 tables so it is sometimes very crowded. It is also true, they kindly offer to take your breakfast to your room. Breakfast is the same every day with limited choice and since staff has a very limited English they never understood what kind of eggs I wanted except one day. The noise and pollution on the streets around the hotel is really hard to endure. But of course, it is not the hotel's fault. It is like that everywhere in downtown.
Shopping Tip: I was amazed with the designer products Hanoi can offer.
John K. Couples Canada, January 4, 2010
Splendid Star is a good choice

Close to everything. Quiet despite the street being a zoo. Computer in the room. No need for wifi but that is downstairs too. Very friendly and helpful staff.
8.3
We reserved 3 nights and stayed an additional 3. It was very good and they stored our luggage while we took the train on a trip. We especially liked the convenience to fairly cheap eating and drinking. Computer in the room saved some of the frustrations of wifi on the little netbook.
Restaurant Tip: Hang Hanh is a street just around the corner. It has several inexpensive restaurants and a laid back atmosphere.
Kendra H. Families with older children United States of America, January 2, 2010
Splendid Star

great location
7.7
I was under the impression I made a reservation at Splendid Star 2, but when arrived they said we were at Splendid Star 1 due to all the rooms were full. So we ended up staying at Splendid Star 2 and then they moved us the next day.
Yuthana T. Business travelers Thailand, December 26, 2009
Good locations but make sure you get what you paid

Good locations. a little off center but quiet.
7
Good locations. a little off center but quiet. Staffs are friendly but some seem insincere. Be sure to ask& check the price around first for their services (e.g. tour,laundry) might be too expensive. Make sure to check if you get the room as described & booked. However, the manager (Ms.Rose) is ready to help sort out problems. I guess that Splendid star II which is 2 buildings next might worth checking out than this one.
Travel tip: Good locations
Marilyn S. Groups United States of America, November 30, 2009
Hotel was Splendid

The staff is outstanding; very helpful, warm and welcoming. Solved problems quickly; maintained the room with fresh sheets and towels daily. Computer in every room with free internet! I enjoyed the location - within walking distance of the Hoam Kieu Lake district where there are so many shops and restaurants.
7.7
Splendid Star is a happy place to be while in Hanoi! The staff makes every effort to meet your needs. Purchased a VietnamOpenTour package through the hotel for 2 nights-3 days to Ha Long Bay at a very reasonable price ($105 per person). It was a real winner. When we returned to this hotel after the tour, they didn't have a twin bed room for us, as reserved, so they placed us in the Splendid Star 2 Hotel next door. It was clearly an upgrade and could also be a good choice if you have the budget for it.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Perfume Pagoda tour was a very long trip (3 hours each way) just to see the pagoda inside a cave, which was very modest. I do not recommend this tour, especially if you have any problems with walking up lots of stairs.
Soo Y. Couples Malaysia, October 16, 2009
Splendid star hotel, hanoi

friendly stuff
7
We were disappointed when we requested airport pickup and no one from the hotel tured up and neither the was any reminder throughemail well before our arrival. We were charged more then w supposed to pay even by the official taxi vender at the airport. When arrived at the hotel we found out that there wasn't any window in our as advertised and we had to pa extra US$10 per night to up grade and their explaination was that their pictures of the room which we booked was the same picture used for any other rooms in their website. we feel that we were cheated and we want a compensation from you agent as this is misleading. The hotel stuf were excellent!
Hannah C. Couples United Kingdom, October 6, 2009
Hanoi

A really lovely family run hotel. The staff have a lot of passion for their business. They were really helpful and couldn't do more to help.
10
Splendid Star is in a perfect location in Hanoi. The staff are lovely and they even offer trip to Holong bay and Sapa. We rebooked the hotel on our 2nd stop in Hanoi we were that impressed....they have also opened Splendid Star 2 a few doors down offering the same high service but in a newer building
Hannah C. Couples United Kingdom, September 30, 2009
great hotel

A great family run hotel with amazing service. Also a good location...can't ask for anything else
8.7
Highly recommended...the photos don't do it justice and they've even opened a 2nd hotel 2 doors down.
Le D. Solo travelers Vietnam, September 19, 2009
Bad experience

central located.
3.3
First impression was that could not believe i had booked a superior room (too small, no window, feel like in a prison, poor quality toilet amenities). No hot water at night time when need to take a shower. Telephone line was broken and no one really tried to fix it. The breakfast was terrible, spoiled milk and unfresh fruits (as if they want to save the energy bill by not keeping food in a fridge). Had to skip it the next morning. Staff and service competency are poor. Terrible experience, felt being cheated with the money spent.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Hanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe DoubleHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ReceptionHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ViewHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - BathroomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomHanoi Ciao Hotel Hanoi - Balcony/Terrace


AS-AGWEB-3A01