Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 36 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Bertrand F. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Nice room but inconsistent service
Clean and comfortable room, great location, friendly female staff
Good: Great location near the lake. Clean and comfortable room. Quick check-in and check-out. Friendly female staff who speak excellent English. Pho offered for breakfast. Received a free upgrade to a better room. Airport pick-up service arranged speedily. Bad: Male staff with constant dour faces, weren't too keen on acknowledging your presence. Hotel padlocks it's entrance after midnight. Western breakfast option mediocre. Birthday went unnoticed by staff. Overall: Enjoyed my stay (to a point) but will not return.
Reviewed April 13, 2015

Wong L. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2015
Stay at the Hanoi Merci Hotel
Location and staff service
Good location with excellent staff service. Helpful and will answer your queries to the best of their knowledge
Reviewed March 29, 2015

JUNG-PAO C. from Taiwan
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Not recommendation for this hotel
1. room fill with mosquito. 2. few choice for breakfast. 3. we stay 3 night, they did not change towel one day, and only provided free mineral water on first day
Not good memory for this staying
Reviewed March 22, 2015

cong P. from Vietnam
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
nothing
location
Reviewed March 06, 2015

R H. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Delighted With This Discovery
Location, staff, ambiance
I happened upon this gem of a hotel while returning to my original one after a long walk in Hanoi. I subsequently decided to try the Merci and then extended my stay there. It was a very good decision. From the time I entered the small lobby, my experience was grand. The two young ladies managing the check-in process could not have been more personable----then and throughout my time there. Kudos to them! They also provided useful information aboutbHanoi and tours. The room was not large but ample for me; the pillows and bedding were comfortable; WIFI was reliable and its speed was fine. The bathroom was acceptable but desperately needed a new shower head. Promo keys instead of access cards were used. I did not eat breakfast component there but did notice that one orders from a menu and dines in a small area that is part of the lobby. The general vicinity is very safe and on a lovely street. Walking in either direction after stepping out of the hotel entry, one will quickly encounter many nearby attractions that make Hanoi the charming & elegant city it is. I give high marks to the Hanoi Merci and would return without hesitation.
Reviewed March 05, 2015

Dovile M. from Lithuania
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
average
Location was acceptable
My room had no window and one of their receptionists, older guy, tried to rip me off at every opportunity. Didn't really enjoy my stay as a result.
Reviewed February 28, 2015

Christian T. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed one night in January 2015
5-star in service!
Staff, location, price
This hotel is along Ly Thai To Street, about a couple of minutes away from Hoan Kiem Lake and within walking distance to the tourist spots in the old quarter. We cannot recommend this hotel enough. Our rooms were spotless, breakfast was more than adequate (we even tried requesting for more bacon and to our surprise, the hotel manager served us more!), and the staff -- oh were they the real asset of this hotel! Mr. Peter was probably the most helpful staff in all of the hotels I've stayed at. He helped us book our HaLong overnight cruise without being too pushy. Ms. Lai, the hotel manager was just as helpful and friendly -- always making sure that the guests were given everything they need. We will definitely book this hotel when we go back to Hanoi!
Reviewed January 21, 2015

Thomas C. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
Great staff
Staff performance ....location......room facilities
Hotel was just great....the day manger..Lai.....just went overboard to help and accommodate us with anything we needed,etc...
Reviewed November 23, 2014

Marilyn A. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Good
Good Location, Staff speak English, Near supermarket
Good Location, Staff speak English, Near supermarket... The staff are great! The manager is knowledgeable and very hospitable. She really made our stay in Hanoi good. Will definitely recommend this hotel and come back to stay here if we come back to Hanoi.
Reviewed November 15, 2014

Jimmy W. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
Not bad
Quiet, location, affordable
Reviewed October 23, 2014