Back to hotel info

Very good 7.6
Based on 314 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 314 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Malissa W. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
beware
this was a terrible experience. hotel mgr tries to convince you of how bad the pick picketers are on the street.
Reviewed January 06, 2016

Jennifer R. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2015
Could use a real deep clean
Nice staff, location OK, elevator
Unfortunately this hotel (or my room at least) is very dirty. Yes, they have people come every day to make your bed, but the grime on the walls of the bathroom and bedroom is simply not acceptable for a hotel with a 3-star rating. Noticing brown spots on the bathroom wall, I wet a piece of toilet paper and they came off - these are stains that could easily be removed with a bit of elbow grease and some soap & water, which makes you wish the hotel would just get in there and really clean the darn place! Soap scum on the shower walls, dust on the door moldings... Anyway, my other grievance was the bed was simply sitting on the floor- no bed frame, nothing. I get that in certain Asian cultures a bed on the floor was normal, but with a Western-style box spring and mattress, you want the bed elevated off the floor to allow for ventilation, which is hugely important in humid conditions to avoid mould. (Never mind aesthetically you want it off the floor to avoid looking like you're in a frathouse...or a flophouse!) I peeled back the sheets and noticed a lot of stains around the edges of the mattress, not sure if it was mould or something worse (evidence of bed bugs?). Needless to say, I slept in my sleep sack for 3 nights. Nice staff at the front desk, really a shame the hotel is not being well maintained because with a real cleaning and investment in furniture (like a bedframe!) it would be a good choice - it's near the Old Quarter and right on Hanoi's famous "coffee street."
Reviewed June 15, 2015

casey T. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
The girl who needed a charger and gave a bracelet.
Staff,air con,bed sheets
Great
Reviewed May 29, 2015

sheila S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2015
disgraceful
Despite pre booking room they did not have a room available. No appology offered. we were given a poor quality dismal room at another hotel. Would not advise booking this hotel
Reviewed May 25, 2015

Chinh Q. from Vietnam
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2015
Best staff ever in Vietnam - a pleasant stay
staff, location, service
All staff are friendly, polite. I booked a good tour with them to Halong bay. It is wonderful time. Room is large with good view.
Reviewed May 24, 2015

Chiew C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
very old hotel
location, less crowd/noise and friendly/helpful staff
Value for money, considering the facility, location and customer service. It was non peak season, rate was very low and got upgraded to suite rooms, overall stays were pleasant despite of the old hotel condition, rundown furniture/fittings and decorations. Very strategic location, just walking distance to major attractions and average $3 taxi ride to other attractions out of old quarter area. Easy to find food, hangout places are just next door and quiet/safe neighbourhood. Hotels are competitive, can easily find hotel of the same ratings that has better facilities, but smaller rooms.
Reviewed May 15, 2015

Kent H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
The staff, the staff, the staff
We stayed in the Kings suite it was large but needed a good clean and paint, doesn't need modernising as this may ruin the room, just a good clean, paint and more lighting. There was plenty of lighting but still left the room very dark. The bathroom is in desperate need of renovation. All the staff were brilliant and our thanks goes to them for making the stay more enjoyable.
Reviewed May 13, 2015

Edwin H. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2015
Comfortable bed
Bed and location
Reviewed March 27, 2015

Edwin H. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Quirky style
Big room, comfy bed
The executive suite was spacoius with unique quirky furnishings. In need of some updates in the bathroom. The windows were large but view non existant due to huge sign in front. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was basic. We consider it to be a little over priced and possblely the cheaper rooms were better.
Reviewed March 27, 2015

Robert G. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
OK
Location
Hotel was ok, but it's a bit outdated. The staff was nice and the location was perfect. Did not have working in room safe as avertised
Reviewed March 27, 2015