Back to hotel info

Very good 7.6
Based on 314 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 314 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 6.8
Sort by

Malissa W.
United States
January 06, 2016
beware
this was a terrible experience. hotel mgr tries to convince you of how bad the pick picketers are on the street.

Jennifer R.
United States
June 15, 2015
Could use a real deep clean
Nice staff, location OK, elevator
Unfortunately this hotel (or my room at least) is very dirty. Yes, they have people come every day to make your bed, but the grime on the walls of the bathroom and bedroom is simply not acceptable for a hotel with a 3-star rating. Noticing brown spots on the bathroom wall, I wet a piece of toilet paper and they came off - these are stains that could easily be removed with a bit of elbow grease and some soap & water, which makes you wish the hotel would just get in there and really clean the darn place! Soap scum on the shower walls, dust on the door moldings... Anyway, my other grievance was the bed was simply sitting on the floor- no bed frame, nothing. I get that in certain Asian cultures a bed on the floor was normal, but with a Western-style box spring and mattress, you want the bed elevated off the floor to allow for ventilation, which is hugely important in humid conditions to avoid mould. (Never mind aesthetically you want it off the floor to avoid looking like you're in a frathouse...or a flophouse!) I peeled back the sheets and noticed a lot of stains around the edges of the mattress, not sure if it was mould or something worse (evidence of bed bugs?). Needless to say, I slept in my sleep sack for 3 nights. Nice staff at the front desk, really a shame the hotel is not being well maintained because with a real cleaning and investment in furniture (like a bedframe!) it would be a good choice - it's near the Old Quarter and right on Hanoi's famous "coffee street."

casey T.
Canada
May 29, 2015
The girl who needed a charger and gave a bracelet.
Staff,air con,bed sheets
Great

sheila S.
United Kingdom
May 25, 2015
disgraceful
Despite pre booking room they did not have a room available. No appology offered. we were given a poor quality dismal room at another hotel. Would not advise booking this hotel

Chinh Q.
Vietnam
May 24, 2015
Best staff ever in Vietnam - a pleasant stay
staff, location, service
All staff are friendly, polite. I booked a good tour with them to Halong bay. It is wonderful time. Room is large with good view.

Chiew C.
Malaysia
May 15, 2015
very old hotel
location, less crowd/noise and friendly/helpful staff
Value for money, considering the facility, location and customer service. It was non peak season, rate was very low and got upgraded to suite rooms, overall stays were pleasant despite of the old hotel condition, rundown furniture/fittings and decorations. Very strategic location, just walking distance to major attractions and average $3 taxi ride to other attractions out of old quarter area. Easy to find food, hangout places are just next door and quiet/safe neighbourhood. Hotels are competitive, can easily find hotel of the same ratings that has better facilities, but smaller rooms.

Kent H.
Australia
May 13, 2015
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
The staff, the staff, the staff
We stayed in the Kings suite it was large but needed a good clean and paint, doesn't need modernising as this may ruin the room, just a good clean, paint and more lighting. There was plenty of lighting but still left the room very dark. The bathroom is in desperate need of renovation. All the staff were brilliant and our thanks goes to them for making the stay more enjoyable.

Edwin H.
Canada
March 27, 2015
Comfortable bed
Bed and location

Edwin H.
Canada
March 27, 2015
Quirky style
Big room, comfy bed
The executive suite was spacoius with unique quirky furnishings. In need of some updates in the bathroom. The windows were large but view non existant due to huge sign in front. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was basic. We consider it to be a little over priced and possblely the cheaper rooms were better.

Robert G.
United States
March 27, 2015
OK
Location
Hotel was ok, but it's a bit outdated. The staff was nice and the location was perfect. Did not have working in room safe as avertised