Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Harbin Modern Hotel

No.89 Central Street, Daoli, Harbin, China 150010 (Show on map)

Book now!

Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Interior Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Exterior Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Pub/Lounge Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Bathroom Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Interior Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Lobby Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Interior Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Lobby Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Exterior Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Restaurant Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Lobby
Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Restaurant Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Lobby Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Spa Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Restaurant Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Lobby Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Interior Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Interior
Area: Daoli Number of Rooms: 141
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

from 37 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
9.5
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (37)
Sort by:
Faye G. Solo travelers United States of America, July 14, 2015
The Delightful Modern

Location elegance comfort
8.7
English communication was difficult. I had booked a standard room which was grim with no view. I couldn't really understand the price difference but the upgraded room was 1000% better and made my stay. Was surprised that breakfast was not included. I am really glad I stayed there and in the better room.
Report this review
Michael F. Couples United Kingdom, December 29, 2014
Great Location

Location, Historical, Friendly staff
9
Most of the staff spoke decent enough English "enough to get by", they were helpful to our requests. The Hotel was clean and had some very interesting antiques on display. The room was clean and above all warm, maybe too warm. The breakfast was a little to be desired. It was...well...very Chinese but we are China after all. There are plenty over spots to eat nearby. The location was the biggest seller for us. It is slap bang in the middle of the main street and we pretty much walked everywhere we would be go Sofia, Zhaolin Park, and Songhau river are all within 15mins if not closer. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to others. A great experience and certainly more unique than the big chains you might usually stay at.
Report this review
Helen M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 4, 2014
The "Moderne" in the 21st Century

A great location, a terrific sense of history and pleasant and attentive service.
8.3
I had read about this hotel, (and the famous kidnapping/murder of its owner's son), as a result of some research I had been undertaking, and wanted to experience it for myself, so when a research trip to Harbin was called for, it was inevitable that I would stay here. The hotel is well-placed for anyone who wants to see the few remaining bleached white bones of Imperial Russia's influence in Harbin. It has more historical artifacts on display in the lobby than all the museums that I visited, and the staff are pleasant and helpful. I would stay there again if I went back.
Report this review
Hendrik J. Couples South Africa, February 16, 2014
Convenient

Localtion, staff, cost
8.3
Report this review
Bruce C. Couples Australia, January 14, 2013
Great location

Historic pleasant hotel, very close to main pedestrian street
7.7
Very little English, not necessarily catering for international tourists. Pleasant stay, location and room.
Report this review
Rhonda J. Families with older children Australia, January 13, 2013
Average Hotel could do with a makeover.

Location
6.3
This is an old hotel that could really do with a bit of a renovation in the rooms. It was very clean & the lobby area was nice. The coffee in the cafe was horrible & very expensive. No Wifi in the rooms so you had to resort to sitting in the lobby. The staff were very nice though had limited English. Even though we had paid in full we still had to provide another cash deposit on check in. I had trouble locating my receipt & the girl didn't want to return my deposit without it even though they had records that I paid, luckily it was found in our room by the cleaning staff. Also the windows in our room were covered with ugly plastic sheeting which I felt was unacceptable for a hotel of this standard. Beds were also very hard but I realise this is very typical for a lot of Asian countries. My sons have previously stayed at the Ibis which is a lot cheaper & thought the Modern Hotel was not worth the extra money.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Snow & Ice World is brilliant.
Report this review
Emilio D. Groups United States of America, January 12, 2013
Where else would you stay

location, staff, services
8.7
while the room was not renovated (which we didn't mind, being China buffs), the staff at the hotel more than made up for it, and the location was great for everything we wanted to do. Staff helped organize trips to the ice festival, let us check in super early (9am), and also booked a car to the tiger park. perhaps would have been made a little harder if you don't speak chinese,
Travel tip: see the tigers-- they are amazing! it's about 30-40 minutes out of town, can nicely fill up an afternoon or morning.
Report this review
Sammy M. Families with older children United States of America, December 25, 2012
old hotel

odl hotel
8.3
this is a historic hotel with new sections. Location and service are both good. We arrive late and no lights on. The old one is good looking and the new one is 'old'. Bathroom water slow and the toilet is slow too. They need to upgrade that. If you go to Harbin, be prepare for the transportation problem because it is difficult to call a taxi and the hotel do not have and car available.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walking distance to the street and river side. Lots of shops and restuarents. Winter is good time to be there.
Report this review
Lijun M. Couples United States of America, August 27, 2012
Lovely hotel and great location.

in a hot historical site, near the Madieer cafe where the yogort is my favorite. And the Song-Hua River bank has been always my favouite place to spend my leasure time. More amazingly, the room even has a small refrigeritor, very convienient. The room was sound proof, pretty quirte. Even more lovely, there is beautiful live piano performance in the lobby that would make you forget all of the stress.
8.3
the major issue that 'killed' me was the smoking and smoke. the smoke is all over the hotel, even in my room. i had to cover my face/nose with a towel. the second problem was the air conditioner was not working at the gear "3". the highest (coldest) it worked was gear "2". the inconvenient part was that the hotel does not have an atm cash machine and does not have foreign currency exchange service. regardless, i would stay again at the madieer/morden hotel next time i visit harbin.
Report this review
Carolyn G. Couples Australia, June 30, 2012
Lovely hotel and service was very pleasant.

Great location
9
Great location although it did take 1.5 hours in peak traffic from the airport in a taxi, early morning it on took 30 mins. We walked to most attractions that we wanted to see in our short time there and we're very happy.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Harbin Modern Hotel HarbinHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - InteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - ExteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Pub/LoungeHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - BathroomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - InteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - LobbyHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - InteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - LobbyHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - ExteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - RestaurantHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - LobbyHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - RestaurantHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - LobbyHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - SpaHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - RestaurantHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - LobbyHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - InteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - InteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - ExteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - RestaurantHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - FacilitiesHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Swimming PoolHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - RestaurantHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - ExteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - ExteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - FacilitiesHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07