My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Harbin Modern Hotel

No.89 Central Street, Daoli, Harbin, China 150010 (Show on map)

Book now!

Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Bathroom Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Restaurant Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness Center Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting Room Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Chapel Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Lobby Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Hall Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Hotel Exterior Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Surroundings Harbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Hotel Exterior
Hotel Area: Daoli Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
29 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (29)
Sort by:
Hendrik J. Couples South Africa, February 16, 2014
Convenient

Localtion, staff, cost
8.3
Bruce C. Couples Australia, January 14, 2013
Great location

Historic pleasant hotel, very close to main pedestrian street
7.7
Very little English, not necessarily catering for international tourists. Pleasant stay, location and room.
Rhonda J. Families with older children Australia, January 13, 2013
Average Hotel could do with a makeover.

Location
6.3
This is an old hotel that could really do with a bit of a renovation in the rooms. It was very clean & the lobby area was nice. The coffee in the cafe was horrible & very expensive. No Wifi in the rooms so you had to resort to sitting in the lobby. The staff were very nice though had limited English. Even though we had paid in full we still had to provide another cash deposit on check in. I had trouble locating my receipt & the girl didn't want to return my deposit without it even though they had records that I paid, luckily it was found in our room by the cleaning staff. Also the windows in our room were covered with ugly plastic sheeting which I felt was unacceptable for a hotel of this standard. Beds were also very hard but I realise this is very typical for a lot of Asian countries. My sons have previously stayed at the Ibis which is a lot cheaper & thought the Modern Hotel was not worth the extra money.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Snow & Ice World is brilliant.
Emilio D. Groups United States of America, January 12, 2013
Where else would you stay

location, staff, services
8.7
while the room was not renovated (which we didn't mind, being China buffs), the staff at the hotel more than made up for it, and the location was great for everything we wanted to do. Staff helped organize trips to the ice festival, let us check in super early (9am), and also booked a car to the tiger park. perhaps would have been made a little harder if you don't speak chinese,
Travel tip: see the tigers-- they are amazing! it's about 30-40 minutes out of town, can nicely fill up an afternoon or morning.
Sammy M. Families with older children United States of America, December 25, 2012
old hotel

odl hotel
8.3
this is a historic hotel with new sections. Location and service are both good. We arrive late and no lights on. The old one is good looking and the new one is 'old'. Bathroom water slow and the toilet is slow too. They need to upgrade that. If you go to Harbin, be prepare for the transportation problem because it is difficult to call a taxi and the hotel do not have and car available.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walking distance to the street and river side. Lots of shops and restuarents. Winter is good time to be there.
Lijun M. Couples United States of America, August 27, 2012
Lovely hotel and great location.

in a hot historical site, near the Madieer cafe where the yogort is my favorite. And the Song-Hua River bank has been always my favouite place to spend my leasure time. More amazingly, the room even has a small refrigeritor, very convienient. The room was sound proof, pretty quirte. Even more lovely, there is beautiful live piano performance in the lobby that would make you forget all of the stress.
8.3
the major issue that 'killed' me was the smoking and smoke. the smoke is all over the hotel, even in my room. i had to cover my face/nose with a towel. the second problem was the air conditioner was not working at the gear "3". the highest (coldest) it worked was gear "2". the inconvenient part was that the hotel does not have an atm cash machine and does not have foreign currency exchange service. regardless, i would stay again at the madieer/morden hotel next time i visit harbin.
Carolyn G. Couples Australia, June 30, 2012
Lovely hotel and service was very pleasant.

Great location
9
Great location although it did take 1.5 hours in peak traffic from the airport in a taxi, early morning it on took 30 mins. We walked to most attractions that we wanted to see in our short time there and we're very happy.
Atsuhiko N. Solo travelers Japan, January 27, 2012
ロケーションは一等地

有名な歴史的なホテル
3.7
 レストランに昼食をしに行った。ウェイトレスがEnglishと言う言葉を知らない。どう話をしても通じない。私は椅子で待ったが20分しても誰もやってこない。メニューすら来ない。さっき話の通じなかったウェイトレスは頻繁に私の前を通るのだが、知らん振り。結局20分して席を立ってレストランを出るしかなかった。  ロビーのカフェ、メニューからアイスカフェラッテをそして友達はカフェマキアートを頼む。ウェイターはホットコーヒーを持ってくる。相手の中国人はウェイターにアイスカフェラッテて言ったでしょうと詰め寄るが、彼らはカフェラッテがどう言うコーヒーか知らない。そして70元のところを95元請求する。それは2日連続で続いた。さすがに2日目は連れの中国人が怒った。するととりすぎた25元を戻しに来た。悪びれもせず、誤りの一言もない。  相当腕の悪いピアニストが、調律の出来ていないピアノで下手なピアノを弾く。私が曲を注文した。当然彼は知らない。と言うより英語で書かれた英語の曲を彼が読めない。この本の中から選んでくれと言うので、仕方なしに選んだ。  勘定の時にやけに高いので何故かと聞いたら、ピアノの曲を注文したから100元だと言う。世界中30ヶ国を旅行してきて、ピアノ曲を注文し、金を取られた(1曲100元1250円)のは、後にも先にもこのホテルのピアノ弾きだけだ。  ここのホテルの従業員もまた、英語に関心がない。
Scott F. Families with young children United Kingdom, January 2, 2012
Great location, friendly service

Location, friendly and helpful staff, in house travel center
7.3
This historic hotel has pleasant and clean rooms. It is conveniently located in walking distance to sites, shops and restaurants. We used their English speaking travel service on level 2 which made our trip more enjoyable being able to easily organise tansport and guides as need by our large group of friends. The breakfast is average by western standards and when the food ran out they weren't quick to restock the buffet. But we didn't go hungry.
Hotel Feature Tip: Take advantage of the travel center on level 2.
Geoffrey E. Solo travelers United States of America, September 9, 2011
I'd stay here again.

Location, ambience, historical charm.
8
I arrived about midnight and the hotel was dark, looking closed, but there were two people of duty under a dim light. I was taken to a room on the second floor, which was small and stank of tobacco smoke. When I said that I could not stay there, I was taken to the top, 4th floor, and given a very nice small suite with skylights. An excellent room. Although the hotel is called The Modern, it was built in 1923 (well, it was modern then) and has great historical charm, having been modernized. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The location could not have been better as well. I'd stay here again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Harbin Modern Hotel HarbinHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - BathroomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Guest RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - RestaurantHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness CenterHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Fitness RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Meeting RoomHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - ChapelHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - LobbyHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - HallHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Hotel ExteriorHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - SurroundingsHarbin Modern Hotel Harbin - Hotel Exterior

Customer Reviews - Harbin Modern Hotel, Harbin

AS-AGWEB-3B07