My favorite hotels
Customers like this hotel for:
    Nearest transport:
  • Mount Lavinia Bus Station (0.4 Km / 5 min walk)
    Area recommended for:
  • restaurants
  • beaches
  • romance
    Distance to airport:
  • Ratmalana Airport (3.4 Km)
  • Bandaranaike International Airport (37.6 Km)
    Top nearby attractions:
  • Loon Tao Restaurant (0.3 Km / 4 min walk)
  • Mount Lavinia beach (0.6 Km / 8 min walk)
  • National Zoological Gardens (2.3 Km / 28 min walk)
  • Odel Colombo (3.4 Km)

Note: Distances are measured as a straight line.

Haus Chandra Hotel

No:37, Beach Road, Mount Lavinia,, Mount Lavinia Beach, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

You can see all your saved hotels in the 'My favorite hotels' list.

"close to the beach at Mt Lavinia; clean room and bathroom;..."

John, Australia June 25, 2015

Features of Haus Chandra Hotel

Hotel Facilities

  • 24-hour room service
  • airport transfer
  • babysitting
  • bar
  • business center
  • coffee shop
  • concierge
  • elevator
  • facilities for disabled guests
  • family room
  • laundry service
  • meeting facilities
  • pets allowed
  • restaurant
  • room service
  • safety deposit boxes
  • tours

Sports and Recreation

  • garden
  • massage
  • outdoor pool
  • pool (kids)
  • private beach


  • free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Wi-Fi in public areas


  • car park

Book now!

Sale ends soon!
Hotel Description
Haus Chandra Hotel, located in Mount Lavinia Beach, Colombo, is a popular choice for travelers. From...see more Haus Chandra Hotel, located in Mount Lavinia Beach, Colombo, is a popular choice for travelers. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Mount Lavinia beach, Concord Cinema, National Zoological Gardens.

At Haus Chandra Hotel, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour room service, facilities for disabled guests, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park.

Step into one of 30 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as internet access – wireless, internet access – wireless (complimentary), non smoking rooms, air conditioning, wake-up service which can be found in some rooms. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the private beach, outdoor pool, massage, pool (kids), garden. Haus Chandra Hotel is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort and convenience in Colombo.
Hotel Policies
Useful Info
Food, drink and entertainment

Recent customer comments

Filter by Traveler Type
All reviews (22)

Business travelers (2)

Couples (10)

Solo travelers (8)

Families with young children (1)

Groups (1)

Above average
Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (22)
Sort by:
John W. Couples
Australia, June 27, 2015
Good location and good room

close to the beach at Mt Lavinia; clean room and bathroom; comfortable bed
Good place to stay but let down by the dining room. Location is good - right on the beach but presentation is below average. Service was OK but furnishings were old and dilapidated. Restaurant was not up to the standard of the room.
Samath W. Solo travelers
Australia, July 10, 2015
You get what you pay for

Very close to the beach. As it is located within the Colombo city, other facilities can be accessed easily. There is a large number of beach restaurants for dinner very close to this hotel.
The hotel is very old. Room facilities such as taps, showers and toilets do not function properly. The mini fridge was out of order.
MICHAEL S. Solo travelers
Canada, May 09, 2015
Quality accom, excellent value

Great location, comfortable room, nice price
Location is great between two train stations on the coastal line toward Galle. Main buildings maybe 100m in from beach; you cross the tracks to their beachside restaurant for the quite excellent breakfast. Room had fan and a/c, fridge, balcony space, altogether amenities you don't normally find in the price range. Nice pool too!
Peter H. Solo travelers
United Kingdom, March 16, 2015
Awful hotel

The location
It may well have been a 3 star hotel some time ago, but there has been little to no maintenance to the building and guest rooms for some time, I was here for 3 weeks and during this time had 3 different rooms, the fist room was small and dirty the sink was in the bedroom whilst the toilet and shower were "ensuite" I asked to move to another room this took a week and the standard was no better than the first or the third room, you actually had to request each day that your room to be cleaned, the linen on the bed was very tired one occasion the bed sheet was 3 pieces sewn together, and the linen was not changed regularly. The description on the hotel and facilities of the hotel are very misleading, for example listed is the room has a hair dryer and minibar, this is not the case, it took them almost a week to supply a minibar for my room and each time I moved rooms the minibar came too as all the other rooms were without a minibar, I did not bother about the hair dryer! On a positive note the staff where friendly and helpful and the food in the beach restaurant was excellent but on occasions let down by poor service.
Rajpal J. Couples
Sri Lanka, September 19, 2013
Air con barely works. Needs a lot of work

Seafood rest was excellent
Very average - would NOT recommend. Rooms in need of refurb and repair ... Trades on locality with nothing else to add
Pradeepkumar C. Couples
United Kingdom, August 16, 2013
The hotel is near the Mount Lavinia Beach.

Friendly staff, clean room and good value for money
We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel which is near the beach, although you have to walk over the railway tracks to get to the beach and the hotel restaurant (not as scary as it feels). We found it to be comfortable and clean, although there is not much to do in the surrounding area besides sitting on the beach etc.We found the staff friendly and were happy to help us in areas like ringing for a metered taxi, suggested shopping malls etc.
Amir A. Solo travelers
India, August 14, 2013
Nice peaceful stay. Clean room with AC. Small tv

AC, Beach and food
excellent. Had a very good time. Nice beach but its always high tide. So swimming is bit dangerous. But the hotel has nice pool as well. Food in their restaurant is nice wurh good sea food as well. U can reach the city with 5mins walk.
David H. Couples
United Kingdom, August 03, 2013

Covienence for access to Ratmalana airport
Disappointing. What could have been a great stay in a funkily furnished hotel left us somewhat underwhelmed. We had booked a standard room as we were only using the hotel overnight for early departures, I from Katunayake and my wife from Ratmalana. The room was dark, dinghy and very dirty. The duty manager responded promptly and upgraded us to a huge superior suite which whilst extremely well appointed with some great pieces of furniture, was still a little tawdry and not entirely spotless. The bathroom had some 'interesting' lattice works and ventilation, all very dirty, dusty, and spider-webbed. (This was also the case in the room we had booked. The shower in the suite bathroom leaked under the shower screen and flooded the floor. When I left at some ungodly hour in the morning, the night staff was asleep in the arm chairs in the lobby and did not wake up! He was also asleep when my wife left at around 6.00 a.m. The night before, we had requested a tuk-tuk to take my wife to Ratmalana. Whilst this had been overlooked, the night manager did organise a tuk-tuk at short notice. A great shame as this could be a great little place because of the artifacts and curios in the rooms and public areas.
Suranga B. Business travelers
Sri Lanka, June 03, 2013
there was no room services at all to clean room

location is good
Tarmo R. Families with young children
Estonia, June 19, 2013
Very friendly staff

Staff, great food: prawns, great location

Book now!

Sale ends soon!