Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 160 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.6
  • Value for Money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 5.7

Arvind B. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
great location, but rooms not worth the price
location only
the room tariff was exorbitant as compared to the room size, cleanliness and over all service. I checked in for 5 nights, but checked out the next day and moved to a different hotel. The location is great, but only if they can improve the rooms and service. The kettle placed in my room had some leftover fruit in it.....so you can imagine!!!
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Benson P. from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
near mtr station
transportation, size ok, relatively cheap
transportation, size ok, relatively cheap. It is OK for a few days business trip.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Arthit C. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
not ok
near subway
comment not good because no wifi and low network ,not hot water ,good near subway you can travel in shanghai easy
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Abraham R. from Netherlands
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
My stay always fine, good value for money.
Central location, great connection to metro, middle of entertainment and nightlife
Stay was good, depending where i need to be in Shanghai I will stay again here.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Anton J. from Netherlands
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
Perfect location, But staff does not speak engish,
Big room, location
Was ok hotel, But could be beter. Hotel is nearly on top of Hangshanroad station, so connection to THE rest of THE city is perfect.
Reviewed October 08, 2013

Benson P. from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
the room is ok
place ok, size ok, price ok
place ok, size ok, price ok I will go to visit this hotel again.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tiffany L. from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
poor service misleading photos
location, metro and nightlife
yes, i expected a no window room, but it's not like the photo shown. i literally asked the reception for the same room as shown, the hotel refused giving me the same room without an upgrade fee. rooms are small, worn out, watermarks from leaks in ceiling and walls. rooms are not clean: black sock found behind the door, hair found in fresh sheets management is poor: we arrived near midnight, lobby was dark, hotel staff was sleeping on sofa in the lobby reception is poor: can't speak english at all. i would not suggest this hotel, even if you're looking for a budget hotel you can find better.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Bob R. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
Practical choice in French Concession
Built on top of a subway station, reasonable price,
"Gaotique Hotel" is nothing fancy or tique-y but the price is right, it is close to some of the nicest parts of the French Concession, and it is practical, not least because it is built on top of a subway station. A less favorable feature of the location is that there is noisy clubs and disgusting "lady bars" in the immediately vicinity, with people pimping all up and down this block of Hengshan Road. Also a small squad of career beggars. But there are also very nice restaurants and bars within two or three blocks, and even a church. (No outside noise reached me in my windowless room.) The standard for furnishings and cleanliness is not bad but not tip-top. I thought my room was cleaned adequately every day, but there were some cobwebs in corners here and there that never got swept away. When I tried to open closets, brass knobs kept pulling out of the wood. There should have been more electrical plugs. There was no refrigerator or minibar, just a tray of necessities and conveniences including instant noodles, beer and condoms. I was disappointed to learn on a Tuesday that no laundry could be done until Thursday because of a housekeeper's day off. (Laundry was a little pricey.) It may be worth mentioning that the name "Gaotique Hotel" is unknown to the desk staff here. They know the place by its plainer name of Gaoan Hotel, after the name of the cross street to the south. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again if none of my preferred places in the French Concession are available or if they are priced too high.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Edward C. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Old world Shanghai, conveniently located
Casual Atmosphere, Location, great balcony
Just absolutely delightful to stay there. I'd read reviews that it was a very friendly, comfortable place, but didn't realize the ambience was so cool. Great room, wonderful balcony (really big) and very well located on Henshen Lu -walk or taxi to everything... As mentioned elsewhere on off hours, staff is either missing or asleep at front desk, but otherwise adequate. Never did get my wifi to work in the room...
Reviewed September 03, 2013

Emily N. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2013
Decent hotel, extended my stay
Steps away from subway, nice neighborhood, congenial staff
The location of the hotel was perfect for what I was looking for. The former French concession neighborhood was quiet and lovely in the daytime, though this hotel is right by the bar street, so if you're extremely sensitive to noise, perhaps not the best choice, though I personally did not hear any as I opted for the lowest priced (windowless) room. Room was small, but I didn't need much more for my purposes. Carpet and walls a bit worn, but shower nicely renovated. Hot water was at times perfect, at times lukewarm, though never terrible.
Reviewed August 06, 2013