Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 202 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.3

Kevin P. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
Simple hotel with great location
big beds, clean rooms
Although the hotel lacks many luxury features found at other 5 star hotels- the Hengshan is a nice property that is good for a traveler who doesn't plan to spend much time at the hotel. It is great for a nice place to sleep, and then go out and walk about Shanghai all day. The internet is not wifi and can be sluggish at time, so it is not ideal for doing business.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Yip W. from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Overall is a nice hotel
Good location, good service, nice room
Location is good, close to metro and shopping area. Overall the hotel room is comfortable except the washroom is a bit small. Ni wifi service in room but the access to wifi in lobby is fine. The bell service is good but the reception desk is average only. Fair price and has great chance to visit again.
Reviewed March 06, 2012

Rudy H. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Classic 5-Star Hotel
Very well maintained building and with superb breakfast
I have been staying in this hotel for 4 times. Each time i travel to Shanghai, this hotel is definitely my choice. The location is great, 5 mins walk to Hengshan Subway Station, 5 mins walk to a very nice park, 5 mins walk to bars and restaurants and also very near to Huaihai Rd (about 5 mins by taxi or 20 mins by walk) where many shops and shopping centers are located. the breakfast in this hotel is a must. they serve varieties of mouth watering food and taste really nice. we stayed 2 nites in this hotel and never miss the breakfast.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Mark N. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in January 2012
Great location, large room
Good breakfast
Great location for the metro system, not too much English spoken. Room was huge and fairly clean. Good buffet breakfast.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Alexander S. from Austria
Groups
Stayed one night in January 2012
Great value!
Location and room heating!
i have been to this hotel a couple of times and i really enjoy my stay there. it is well located in the middle of hengshan road, where one can easily find a lot of bars and restaurants! rooms aren't very big but clean and comfortable and warm in winter - very important in shanghai! breakfast is basic but still okay. check in and check out could be improved but it is not a big deal. overall i am very satisfied and will be back soon!
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Alexander S. from Austria
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Prestigious Hotel with some history
Great location!
this is my second stay at this hotel and again i really enjoy my stay there. it is well located in the famous of hengshan road, with lots of bars and restaurants. if you need a new business suit you can also find a few tailors! however rooms aren't very big but they are clean and comfortable and warm in winter which is very important in shanghai! breakfast is basic but still okay. check in and check out could be improved but anyway it is not a big deal. overall i am very satisfied and will be back soon!
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nick L. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011
well run
good location
would definitely stay there again. they are professional and good on service in keeping up the facility and rooms. the bedding is good and internet is very good. nice amenities throughout. breakfast was ok but lacked good western accomodations except fresh eggs. location was fairly convenient to some bars and restaurants and subway. surprisingly affordable for a shanghai 4 star hotel
Reviewed January 06, 2012

Nick L. from United States
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011
nice hotel with charm
good service
this is a hotel that was surprisingly good for the price. it offered free breakfast and was conveniently located. the internet was free and easily accessible. we did not try the coffee shop but did order room service which was good. the breakfast could have offered more selection of western options. the gym was a bit limited but the spa was nice and the amenities very good as well. i would recommend this to couples or even families.
Reviewed January 06, 2012

Ricardo S. from Brazil
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in November 2011
Great hotel!
Comfort, breakfast, people
it was really good hotel. recommend to other, traveling for business or with the family. the only thing they could improve is the lobby. it could have more places to sit, they could also have wireless on the rooms. the rest was pretty good, no complains at all.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Kao F. from Taiwan
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Service is good but room is a bit small. The soap
Clean
Although we stayed in one of the two non-smoking floors, we were still able to smell smoke and the soundproof quality is pretty bad because all night we could hear our next door neighbor talking or making noises. The smoke is particularly bad since we asked for non-smoking.
Reviewed December 10, 2011


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: