Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Highbury Colombo

14/1, Skelton Road, Off Dickman's Road, Havelock Town., Bambalapitiya, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Highbury Colombo Colombo - Standard Room Highbury Colombo Colombo - Standard Room Highbury Colombo Colombo - Standard Room Highbury Colombo Colombo - Hotel Interior Highbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby Area Highbury Colombo Colombo - Breakfast Corner Highbury Colombo Colombo - Exterior View Highbury Colombo Colombo - Exterior View Highbury Colombo Colombo - Hotel Entrance Highbury Colombo Colombo -  The Garden Highbury Colombo Colombo - The Garden Highbury Colombo Colombo - Garden Highbury Colombo Colombo - Pets In The Garden Highbury Colombo Colombo - Standard Room Highbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby Highbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby
Highbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby Highbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby Highbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby Highbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby Highbury Colombo Colombo - Suite Room Highbury Colombo Colombo - Deluxe Suite Highbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby Highbury Colombo Colombo - Guest Room Highbury Colombo Colombo - Suite Room
Area: Bambalapitiya Number of Rooms: 5

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
164 reviews

112 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (164)
Sort by:
Elizabeth H. Couples Australia, January 18, 2016
Basic

Garden, quiet location.
4.3
I was under the impression that this was a 3 star hotel and apparently it is only 2. We initially booked for one night and then booked another as I read in a couple of reviews that they weren't happy about late check outs. As we booked the second night later we understood that we had to change rooms. However, when we returned to the hotel at 3 pm our room wasn't ready and we were told we would only have to wait 10 minutes. In actual fact we waited nearly an hour. Considering the wait it might have been nice if we had been offered a glass of water!!!! As this is a family run hotel I would have thought we might have been greeted more warmly.
Report this review
Jessica F. Couples France, November 25, 2015
Stay at the Highbury

The place is quiet, green, well designed and nearby to the city center.
3.3
When we first arrived we were charmed by the lovely place. We booked a room by agoda website, for a particular room in the main building. The room was not available for the first night, so we had to take another one, obviously not cleaned and hosted by mosquitos. For the second night, we get a room, lovely but who is supposed to clean the room when new guests arrive?? Not the staff for sure ! Anyway, I try to be blind to the dust on the floor and behind the frame, a nice batik by the way and enjoy my stay there... But the next morning, I am awakened from my sleep at six am by a private and loud conversation, that the owner has with her mother. As she ignores how thin the wall is for the room they gave us outside of the main building. That evening, we came back around ten pm, and we're surprised to find the lobby already closed. I am even not talking about the lack of service, no blanket, no key to access the lobby, etc... And finally, when we are about to pay for the airport pick up (which is more expensive than taking a taxi from the airport, by the way), we are asked for an extra 100 rp because the currency rate they use is actually higher than the exchange rate at the airport. Fair enough only if we felt for the 4 days stay that the main concern of the owner is to be sure that her guests are actually having a pleasant stay. Money money money...
Report this review
Rajasekaran P. Families with older children India, November 11, 2015
Poor lighting. No dining option

Good location. low cost.
7
It was average and I will not recommend. I have booked a family suite. this room should be avoided as this an old room on the back of a villa with poor lighting and a narrow passage. There are other rooms which are in the main building that looked OK. We were not offered the food options and can not comment on them.
Report this review
Dhun S. Couples India, October 30, 2015
Dark, Stuffy Smell, Small Display

Staff was good
4.7
The place is dark, the rooms were stuffy smell, Internet was not working. The display board is very very small, difficult to locate
Report this review
Alma G. Families with older children Colombia, October 18, 2015
Oasis

Quiet, family run, cool garden setting
9
Excellent! Lovely family and beautiful hotel
Report this review
Ahmed K. Couples Maldives, June 10, 2015
Best stay in Colombo so far

the room, the gardens & common areas, the staff
10
Highbury Colombo is very beautiful & relaxing. Loved our room & the hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive & would recommend hotel. We're definitely going to stay at Highbury (if available) for our next visit.
Report this review
Ian I. Solo travelers United States of America, April 30, 2015
Great little hideaway

Quiet location, very friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms
9.7
I ended up in Sri Lanka by accident, and made a last minute booking with Highbury. Could not have been happier. The rate was extremely reasonable. the facilities are lush and comfortable, and the area is very quiet but also a quick ride to downtown. The staff was very helpful and even gave me a ride to the airport very early in the morning to catch my flight. It was a great part of my trip to Sri Lanka!
Report this review
Lene L. Couples Denmark, April 2, 2015
Best place - don't miss it!

Breakfast architecture peacefulness
9.3
Perfect and peacefull
Report this review
Oi L. Business travelers Singapore, February 20, 2015
Home Stay Feeling

Location , surroundings and Owner is friendly
6.7
This is the first time I stayed in the House in Sri Lanka. Owner was friendly though there was hiccups on the first night I've arrive the place after 11pm casue there is misunderstanding of my booking didn't reach them. Am planning to have some ex-coleaue and friends to meet me , am expecting to have the suite - sitting room to have a nice chat , but end up we need to meet up in the garden and I got more than 50+ insects bite.. haha .. A very good experience. My flight is in the late midnight flight , Though I've check out on noon , still am staying till very late and I got to leave a luggage for my friends, Owner is very very helpful .. Got to visit them in my next trip, too. Overall, it's a very good place to stay.
Report this review
Carlos S. Couples Spain, January 16, 2015
Minimal hosting

Main building is nicely designed it check were the room you are getting is located
4.7
This is a b&b. The guy didn't speak any English, so we couldn't communicate. We understand someone else does but they were not in that day. I'm not sure we were given the right room that we had paid for but there was no way to check. Ground floor rooms feel damp and there are plenty of insects in the rooms. Poor wifi. Peaceful location but far from most places you want to see in Colombo. In hindsight we would pay slightly more and go to a hotel, not a guesthouse.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 112 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Highbury Colombo ColomboHighbury Colombo Colombo - Standard RoomHighbury Colombo Colombo - Standard RoomHighbury Colombo Colombo - Standard RoomHighbury Colombo Colombo - Hotel InteriorHighbury Colombo Colombo - Lobby AreaHighbury Colombo Colombo - Breakfast CornerHighbury Colombo Colombo - Exterior ViewHighbury Colombo Colombo - Exterior ViewHighbury Colombo Colombo - Hotel EntranceHighbury Colombo Colombo -  The GardenHighbury Colombo Colombo - The GardenHighbury Colombo Colombo - GardenHighbury Colombo Colombo - Pets In The GardenHighbury Colombo Colombo - Standard RoomHighbury Colombo Colombo - LobbyHighbury Colombo Colombo - LobbyHighbury Colombo Colombo - LobbyHighbury Colombo Colombo - LobbyHighbury Colombo Colombo - LobbyHighbury Colombo Colombo - LobbyHighbury Colombo Colombo - Suite RoomHighbury Colombo Colombo - Deluxe SuiteHighbury Colombo Colombo - LobbyHighbury Colombo Colombo - Guest RoomHighbury Colombo Colombo - Suite Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05